We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice appartements!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol

Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Avda. Cavall Bernat 201, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Årjäng, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice appartements!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September. As this was in the low season, actually just a week or so before they closet for the winter, we got a very good price.

The hotel is located in a park-like area about 300 meters from nice beaches and half a kilometer from the town center.

Fortunately we had a rental car, because if one wanted to buy food and water, it was quite a walk fram town center to carry the groceries. There was a small shop close to the hotel, but it went bancrupt and closed just a couple of days aftes we arrived. With a car that was no problem however, especially as one parked the car in an underground garage just below your apartment and took the elevator directly from the carpark to your floor.

We had breakfast included and it was quite OK, served in the restaurant-building just a short walk from our room.

The grounds also had a large swimmingpool and playground for children. I can imagine it can be quite a lot of people and children around in the high season, but now it was nice and quiet.

The apartment was light and nice, with one bedroom, a combined kitchen/livingroom and a bathroom that also had a washingmachine/tumbledryer. Even though it is quite close to the sea, the view from most rooms wil be limited to the nearest pinetree. We asked for, and got, one of the few rooms that a a limited view to the sea.

All in all a nice stay It was quiet but I do however imagine that it is a somewhat different experience in the high season with more guests, both the hotel, and also the town and beaches.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The positives:
- nice playgrounds (shaded) and pools for the little ones. Immaculate lawns.
- our apartment on the top floor was fairly quiet.
- very clean apartment.
- washing machine in bathroom.
- 5 min walk from a nice beach.
- not in the center of platja d'aro

The negatives:
- we had a mojito at the bar with dried mint floating on top of our glasses. It was gross and we paid a lot for it. The barman was incredibly rude.
- there was not enough utensils in the kitchen and the cooktop only had 2 burners.
- the apartment was a bit cramp but it was OK for us (2 adults, 1 child).
- the town of platja d'aro is (in my opinion) a bit tacky. Luckily there are a lot of beautiful towns only 30 min away.

I definitely recommend this place for families with children as there is a lot for them to do but I agree with the reviews stating that it is not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Platja D'Aro with a nice beach 5-minute walk away. There are several swimming pools and playgrounds in the hotel's territory. My kids loved everything about this place. You feel like being in nature with many trees, grass and various birds around. Nothing special to say about rooms - modern family friendly one-bedroom apartment with either a terrace on ground floor or a balcony.

There are not many restaurant besides the hotel's one around, so you'd have to walk around 10 minutes to the town center.

There is free internet, but iit is pretty slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardouch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is very well placed, 300 mt. from a nice beach and 500 mt. from town main avenue (both reachable by short walk). 1 very wide swimming pool, 1 wide Jacuzzi and a baby swimming pool (sometimes too small compared to babies number), all rounded by tiles and shady lawns, are a very pleasant playground for a family with babies or children (that can also profit of slipways, seesaws and so on). Personnel are very kind and helpful. Late checkout (18h00) is possible and not expensive (30 EUR). The whole complex is very clean and well maintained, parking places can accept without problem very large cars too. Overall good value for money.


There are tens of bothersome flies around pools and over the restaurant terrace (august). Lunch is mediocre, mainly pre-cooked or just warmed meals (never tried dinner buffet as not so attractive). 4 persons rooms (bedroom, bathroom and living room with kitchen, roughly 35 square meters) are definitely too small for 4 adults, soundproofing is roughly absent (we heard cars circulating on the road, housemaids moving chairs, people walking and talking in the corridor, lawnmowers and so on). The Wi-Fi is free but in the rooms is roughly useless due to very low data transfer speed/signal strength (we were at block D, 3rd floor): moreover is an open connection that needs to log in via web form every time connection has timed out.

In summary, even if there is some positive aspect, I would not recommend this hotel to those people that need/want a 4 star service.

Room Tip: Blocks B and C are the farest from the road: due to insufficient soundproofing it could be a good id...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Bright,airy appartments, some with sea views.Well equipped kitchenette including a washing machine for clothes.Appartments have either a balcony or small garden for sitting and enjoying a glass of wine in the evening You can either make your own breakfast or take it for €10 p.person in the restaurant. Underground parking for your car.The nearest beach is only 200-300 metres away across the road and in 10 minutes walk you are in the centre of Platja D`Aro. Altogether a very pleasant experience here and in a 7 day stay in May we found all the staff to be extremely friendly, so much so that we are planning to return for a week in September

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with sea view or one with a garden if you prefer this (We did)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bad liebenzell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

we were there with our two children, the staff at the respeption were unfriendly and unflexibel.
Cleaning women did a good job and were friendly, the same with gardeners.
appartment was small and the furniture was okay. we won't go back, didn't really like it there. it was our sixth time in platja d'aro and we liked it there the least.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a nice and quit place even though it was 'high season' when we were there. Location is good with a lot of shops and the beach in walking distance. Our room had everything you need and there was a seperate bedroom. The animation was almost every evening and fun. I really liked the traditional spanish dancing. Parking under the building was nice but pretty expensive, but I really didn't like the idea of leaving my car down the road.

Swimming pool was nice, the 'guard' at the pool wasn't really friendly though. Playing with a ball in the pool wasn't allowed which I think is ok. But it also wasn't allowed for childeren to jump in the pool...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol

Address: Avda. Cavall Bernat 201, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#5 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by a beautiful beach and surrounded by delightful little coves.Luxury residence with swimming pool. 350 m from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Pierre & Vacances, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Ciutat De Palol Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.