We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family appartment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol

Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Avda. Cavall Bernat 201, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Platja d'Aro
bad liebenzell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“family appartment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

we were there with our two children, the staff at the respeption were unfriendly and unflexibel.
Cleaning women did a good job and were friendly, the same with gardeners.
appartment was small and the furniture was okay. we won't go back, didn't really like it there. it was our sixth time in platja d'aro and we liked it there the least.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a nice and quit place even though it was 'high season' when we were there. Location is good with a lot of shops and the beach in walking distance. Our room had everything you need and there was a seperate bedroom. The animation was almost every evening and fun. I really liked the traditional spanish dancing. Parking under the building was nice but pretty expensive, but I really didn't like the idea of leaving my car down the road.

Swimming pool was nice, the 'guard' at the pool wasn't really friendly though. Playing with a ball in the pool wasn't allowed which I think is ok. But it also wasn't allowed for childeren to jump in the pool...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naaldwijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

It was very quiet when we stayed here, there where only a few other guests but I think even in the high-season this is a good choice.

We, a family of four shared a three room appartment on the left site from the entrance with full morning sun on the balcony.
From there It overlooks both the swimming pool, the restaurant and the entrance.
The beds are good, sanitary equipment very good and the kitchen rather moderate.
But we didn't care because week had dinner in Patja itself every night.
Ciutat de Palol is roughly ten minutes by foot from the center

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We are a family of 5, parents and 3 kids aged 10, 7 and 1 and definitely recommend the hotel.

There are lovely large grounds the kids can run around in, a great pool (that could get quite full at times but the life guards ensured that everyone was well behaved), accomodating staff. We had a family room and found it clean and neat, if no frills. The breakfast had a good variety of foods and the take away restaurant was quite decent. There is a kids club, but my kids didnt use it, it seemed geared at the under 5s. We walked into town, and to the beach and found the location a good one to explore the Costa Brava and Girona..

There also appeared to be quite a few regulars and locals here, which I feel says something good about a place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here in June 2010. It is a bit out of town. Reception is slow. Apartments are nice enough, but have no real 'wow' factor to make them 4*. The pool area is very nice, but the lifeguards are prompt in closing the place up in the evening. Bring your own beach towels - this 4* hotel doesn't supply them! If you wand a spa, masssage or other therapy, delay your trip til July - no service appears to be available before that time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed here for a week during July with two young children (aged three and five). This was our second visit - we also came during June last year (when the place was far less busy). The aparthotel was originally recommended to us by some Spanish friends who live in the region. The complex was full but did not feel crowded.

The facilities are great - the kids _loved_ the pools and would have stayed in them all day if they could. Childrens' activities were run most evenings and these went down well too. There is a small but good kids' playground. There is free wireless access in one of the public areas (the bar terrace) - this area is small and the signal wasn't always great. Wireless access is available in the rooms but is charged at exorbitant rates.

We took a two-bedroom apartment which had a double bedroom and a twin room for the kids in addition to a smallish living area with a kitchenette. You could probably fit a family of four in a single-bedroom configuration by having the kids sleep on the sofa beds in the living room, but I'd say it would be a bit tight. Bedrooms were comfortable, cleaned on a daily basis and had great blackout curtains for those daytime siestas. The kitchen was fine - we were able to cook in a couple of nights. Living room was nice too, with flatscreen TV showing regular Spanish channels. We brought a portable DVD player to keep the kids happy and were able to connect this to the TV (after buying the appropriate connector in the town). Air conditioning was great to come home to in the hot days. Grounds were really well kept and tended on a daily basis.

We had very little problem with noise from apartment above (as per other posts) - yes, they were audible occasionally but no big deal. Staff were professional and courteous - no issues with rude staff as per other posts. Having said that, the man we took to be the owner/manager did not seem particularly customer focussed (always looked grumpy, never said hello to customers).

We went for the breakfast-included option (10 EUR for adults, 5 EUR for kids). Although this was convenient and the buffet was pretty good (good selection of cold and hot food), it would save you a fair bit of money to just eat breakfast in your apartment. Also, it seemed like you could get the breakfast for the same price on an ad hoc basis, so maybe just go there a couple of times on days when you feel like it.

The location is great. The beach at Platja D'Aro is beautiful. Plenty of busy restaurants throughout the town, most of which are suitable for families. PP's fairground was brilliant - the kids absolutely loved it. Plenty of day trips are also do-able from this base.

Minor quibbles: the rooms are already expensive so charging for so-called "extras" (such as car-parking, use of in-room safe, expensive wireless access) that could be considered standard is a little bit annoying.

All considered though, this is a top spot for a family holiday: great location, accommodation and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

Have recently returned from a one week trip to Cuitat de Palol in Platja d'Aro - best hotel/aparthotel in the resort as far as we could see. Beautifully maintained spacious grounds, spotless apartments serviced daily and the buffet breakfasts/dinners could not be faulted. Mainly French and Spanish families when we were there and although we were one of the few English speaking guests, the staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay. If you want 4 star accommadation and a stay well away from what you find in neighbouring resorts like Lloret de Mar - i highly reccommend this place!

  • Liked — Ver clean, well managed hotel
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol

Address: Avda. Cavall Bernat 201, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#5 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by a beautiful beach and surrounded by delightful little coves.Luxury residence with swimming pool. 350 m from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Pierre & Vacances, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Ciutat De Palol Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Ciutat de Palol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.