We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and good amenities, but a little isolated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hapimag Resort Mas Nou

Save Saved
You added Hapimag Resort Mas Nou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hapimag Resort Mas Nou
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zona Residencial Mas Nou s/n | Apartado Correos 83, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Platja d'Aro
Stockport
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great staff and good amenities, but a little isolated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is primarily a time share resort but it is clear from various sites that it can be booked independently when they have availability.
It is located high on a plateau above the beach resort of Platja D'Daro which was a bit too brash for my liking - try the next bay to the South for a more laid back family feel.
Being high up on a plateau a car is essential in my view, although the resort runs a mini bus up and down a couple of times a day. The height also makes the weather a bit unpredictable - one morning we woke to a thick mist (soon burnt off). There is a constant breeze, although this was often welcome, particularly at night.
The resort is made up of 16 attractively constructed apartment blocks, each 4 storeys high and arranged in two circles, one inside the other, on a mound so that the inner apartments were higher and therefore most also had views. Most apartments look over the golf course that surrounds the property, and to the hills and fields in the distance - truly a panoramic location. In the very centre they have gone to some effort to recreate the feel of a Spanish village square, with the apartments opening on to seating areas with a fountain etc. A nice touch.
My wife and I stayed in a one bedroomed self catering apartment on the outer ring (block 3), with extensive views from the large balcony area.
The resort was celebrating its 20th anniversary, and to some extent I feel that this is reflected a little in the internal decor and facilities of the apartments (assuming that ours was typical) which looked like they were possibly original. Although nominally a self catering unit there was neither an oven or (almost unheard of these days) a microwave. We didn't really need these for our 7 day stay, but ohers might. There is a good electric hob - but only one socket on the worktop to variously accomodate the kettle, toaster and Nespresso machine. This needs improving, although in reality was an occasional inconvenience rather than a real problem. The kitchen units and table/chairs were typical dark wood, but felt a bit dated. However everything was spotlessly clean and there was plenty of crockery and cutlery etc.
The fairly spacious lounge area was pleasant, with double doors that could be opened to catch the evening breeze and admire the views. The two large sofas wew fairly new I thnk and comfortable to sit, loung, fall asleep on. My only gripe was that the tv predominantly showed German language programs (Hapimag is an Austrian company) with BBC World News and CNN being the only things in English. Take a good book!
The bedroom was adequate, but functional rather than pretty. The bedding was nice and clean, and the mattress on the firm side - but I like that. Additional pillows and blankets were available if required (I suspect it could get chilly up here in winter). It is very quiet and peaceful at night, and we had no difficulty sleeping despite leaving our windows wide open.
There was a large bathroom, although only with shower. Hot water was always available, and lots of it.
Overall we thought the apartment was perfectly acceptable and loved the large balcony with extensive views.
There is ample parking for all, away from the main residential blocks so that for most areas this is a traffic free resort. There is a fairly well stocked on site shop (fresh bread every morning) with prices that did not appear too exorbitant. The large reception area (very helpful English speaking staff) also houses a library, free internet access, a cash point, and a nice seating area. There is also a bar here, although I suspect it only opens when the weather is too poor to use the poolside bar. Stairs lead down to an area that houses an indoor pool and various therapy treatment rooms etc. Stairs also lead up to the resort restaurant which I thought was a little overpriced, although the food was nice enough. Book early to get a window table.
Outside there is a swimming pool that definitely felt unheated to me! There is also a bar where snacks can be ordered throughout the day and evening. Table tennis, pool, and a few other games are also available.
The resort runs a fairly comprehensive range of activities to suit all tastes, from spa treatments to cultural trips to yacht cruises to cycling. My wife and I did the latter and it proved an enjoyable way of seeing some of the local countryside - especally as it is downhill almost all the way! We also did the sea kayaking which again was a nice way to explore a bit of the rugged coastline.
There is a kids club for those who need it; and some evening entertainment (although the fire show was largely disappointing).
Overall I think this is a pretty good resort. If you are a golfer I suspect that you will be delighted to have a good course on your doorstep. I think the owners recognise the slight limitations of other on-site actvities and have taken steps to provide the off site packages (but you could just sunbathe!).

Room Tip: Choose blocks 1 - 3 for panoramic views across the countryside to distant hills. But those with chld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mablethorpe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I thought that this type of accommodation had ceased to exist, at least I hoped so. The beds were lumpy the bedding was so thin that you need a jumper on at night. The usual niceties such as complimentary tea and coffee are not provided but then neither is a kettle, nor a bath or a non slip mat for the shower. The only extra that we got was a puddle in the sitting area when it rained. The exterior of the resort is tatty with broken paving slabs and uneven paths, The shop seems to run out of supplies regularly. The restaurant is expensive and the food no better than average.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hapimag_AG, Manager at Hapimag Resort Mas Nou, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear David W,

We are sorry, that the resort was not able to fulfil your expectations. In addition, we would especially like to apologise for the water which ran into the apartment due to the strong and continuous rainfall during your stay.

Regrettably, you did not mention the various points to us during your stay and did, therefore, not give us the chance to correct the situation. At the reception our guests can, if for example the bedding is insufficient, request additional blankets and also pick up capsules for the Nespresso machines.

We would be grateful if you would give us a second chance and we could again welcome you despite your disappointment. We would also like to inform you, that we this week started with the renovation work on the resort.

Best regards from Hapimag Mas Nou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Mas Nou is a large, primarily golf, resort which offers much for the non-golfer. We went on our first family holiday with a two-month old and found it to be very suitable for our needs. The flat is certainly a bit dated but very clean and well-equipped. We were lucky enough to have a ground floor unit with terrasse and view of the sea which allowed us to enjoy late dinners outside after the baby went to sleep. The pool is large and the pool restaurant good for lunch. The main restaurant was also very good with reasonable food and wine prices and excellent service. There is a store on site which has the necessities and also fresh bread and croissants (still warm) in the morning - mmmm! Massages and other beauty treatments are also offered which was just what this new mother needed! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

A bit isolated up a very long, steep hill out of town but when you get there, well worth the journey. Excellent accommodation and facilities overseen by a very helpful staff. Restaurant was OK at the price - good food but a bit expensive. Eating out could be a drama with its isolation. Platja like Benidorm. Go to San Feliu to eat - easier parking and better restaurants or the Cal Padri at the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnet
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed here as part of CLC timeshare swap. We had an apartment - two bedrooms with terrace - overlooking the golf course and had sun on the terrace until the sun set over the mountains in front of us. The accommodation was basic in that the kitchen comprised hobs, microwave and fridge/freezer only - but there was plenty of crockery and equipment - such as coffee machines, kettle, toaster etc.

Beds were comfortable and there was a full bathroom (no bath) plus a separate loo/sink. English TV is advertised but the only channel available is 24hour news.

There is a good swimming pool with plenty of sunbeds/umbrellas and bar/snack bar which provides good lunches and snacks throughout the day. The lounge area is comfortable and there are two PCs available for use (free of charge). There is a small supermarket on site which is pretty well stocked although prices are fairly high. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Whilst we were there there was flamenco dancing/paella one evening which was very entertaining. There are lots of opportunities for hiking around the area and excursions are available too.

Platja D'Aro is a very good beach resort - a winding drive down but parking is quite easy by the bach. We didn't find it at all crowded and there is a very good beach restaurant with lunchtime menus of €10 and €15 - three courses including wine. There is also a good market on Fridays in the town.

We drove to Tossa del Mar along the coast road (about 45 minutes) - fantastic scenery and a visit to the Lighthouse Museum there is a must.

So much to see in this region without having to travel far - Pals, Romanya, and lots of small beach resorts. Barcelona is easly accessible for a day trip - get information on how to go by train rather than drive in.

We were lucky with a week of unbroken sunshine - this time of the year is very pretty - lots of wild flowers and everything is very green.

This is our 3rd visit (always in May) and we hope to go again next year.

Room Tip: Most of the apartments have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We booked this holiday,only ever having travelled to Barcelona on a day trip , so we were in the dark as to what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful area and the stunning views from Hapimag. Be warned the journey up to the resort is very steep with winding roads and sharp bends but definitely worth it ,once you reach the resort. On the evening we arrived we were met by a very nice,pleasant and helpful receptionist called Dominique. She immediately made us feel welcome,and could not have done more to make us feel this was going to be a great holiday. We stayed in a very spacious 2 bed room apartment (11-106) on the Plaza Major and it was perfect. The kitchen was suitable for our needs ,although there is no oven or dishwasher ,there is a launderette on site ,so at least I knew the whole family could take their turn in the kitchen!. The restaurant has a nice ambience and offers fantastic views over the countryside looking down towards Platja d'Aro. The food was very well cooked and offered very good value for money ,service could be a little bit slow when busy, but that was to be expected. There is an indoor and an outdoor pool at the resort,both were very clean,towels could be taken from the room if required. There are also beauty treatments available ,which could be booked at reception.Both my children made use of the Mini Club, and were extremely happy there. Auxi (Mini Club ) ,is a lovely lady with a good sense of fun,it was obvious that she enjoyed her job enormously. During our stay, the resort organised a very successful mini market (local people set up their stalls in the square and sold their wares),this was followed by a delicious Paella meal ,followed by a Flamenco display. This was a very well organised event and something that we as a family will remember for a long time. There were other entertainment evenings including a live band (DexsBand),Karoke all of which we really enjoyed.
Hapimag is a Swiss company with resorts throughout Europe. The majority of the guests at Mas Nou were German, French or Spanish,however at no point did we feel unwelcome or left out ,on the contrary,we felt very comfortable.
In conclusion, we hope to return to Mas Nou soon ,and think if you decide to go here ,you will have made an excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Comfortable rooms. Rent a car or scooter to go down town. Nice pool and golf course.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hapimag Resort Mas Nou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapimag Resort Mas Nou

Address: Zona Residencial Mas Nou s/n | Apartado Correos 83, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hapimag Resort Mas Nou 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort lies in the middle of the "Club de Golf d'Aro" golf course on a 325 m high plateau. Tee off right after breakfast, improve your technique at golf school or visit Barcelona to see the amazing works of Gaudi and Picasso. Walk in the Empordan nature reserve, discover the volcanic landscape of La Garrotxa of enjoy the beach and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hapimag Resort Mas Nou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hapimag Resort - Mas Nou / Costa Brava Hotel Platja d`Aro
Hapimag Resort Mas Nou Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hapimag Resort Mas Nou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.