We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN FOOD WAS BAD BAD!!!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of H TOP Platja Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added H TOP Platja Park to your Saves list
H TOP Platja Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Estrasburg 10, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Wales United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN FOOD WAS BAD BAD!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We should of stay in Platja D'Aro. But when we arrive we were taken to Caleta Palace we were not told of this until the driver drop us of at this hotel. We ask for pool view and got one, room was OK shower you at to hold it in your hands to use it. People staying on the car park side had red ants ever were in their rooms. But other then that every thing seen fine. Went to the beach weather was lovely for the first 2 days, then went to get ready to go down for FOOD FOOD the smell was so bad it makes you feel sick. Yes some people were eating the food but good on them i couldn't....... but to top it all it started to rain on the Wednesday night and we were on floor 5 no 528 we had rain coming though our ceiling and it went all in my case and now my Iphone is now no good. The toilet down stair don't use them they are BAD they do not get cleaned....... The best thing about this hotel was the beach, but i would never ever go back there........It is not a 4* it is more like a 2/3*

Room Tip: See if you can have room 444 it is facing the pool and beach it is on the corner....Don't stay o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    98
    88
    59
    64
See reviews for
129
102
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel late september early october, Lovely hotel and was great value for money (booked last minute and got a cheap all inclusive deal), good drinks selection, really nice food, nice variety, great if you like to try traditional regional dishes, salads, paella, (never go all inclusive if you are a fussy eater who will only eat british food, may sound like common sense, but you would be surprised at the idiots who thought the food was poop at ever meal!, but everything i tried was lovely, and i tried everything!!!), rooms a bit dated but clean, balcony overlooking the swimming pool, (pool was only thing i did not use as it was absolutely freezing, kids when they jumped in, despite having good weather, never had to fight for a lounger, plenty for everyone.
If you go at the beggining of october you will catch the oktoberfest beer festival two blocks away.
Super market and weekly market only a short walk away, each only a five minute walk, however if you walk a little further along the beach you will find some fab little coves and beaches, where you can get a massage in the sun!! (reccommended).
Great little shops, nice and flat if your not one for hills and mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. Do not fly from barcelona as you may find yourself being dropped off in the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Good if you like your home comforts, beer, and typical all inclusive lifestyle. I'm big in the exploration of towns and their culture so it may have been a mistake. I recommend hiring the bikes from across the road and goingon a coastal cycle. It was the best fun there.we went to ?Palma? Westward facing the sea and that was an experience

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A bit late with review as we went late oct.We soon found out we were the only english couple in the hotel (lovely) the rest being mainly french coach tourists who were out on day trips most of the time.Rooms although being a bit dated were adequate and spotless with new towels daily.All the staff work tirelessly especially the restaurant which we found was excellent with plenty of choice and plenty of wine as we were ai.Very cosmopolitan hotel with good entertainment for all nationalities and ideal for couples.Would definitely return

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went here with my husband in September for a week. The hotel is quite far from the beach, a good ten minute walk. Our hotel was full of French and Spanish pensioners on holiday plus a few Brits and Eastern Europeans. Room overlooked the pool and was a good size and cleaned every day. Food was ok, always found something to eat, although we did eat out a few times. Not much to do in Platja d'aro. We got the bus to Gerona for the day which took about an hour but was worth the trip. Went to St Feliu to the market one day. Staff were ok. Because we were with Htop we went to Caletta Beach hotel which was very nice for lunch and in a great location being bang on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We (2 adults age 45 and our daughter 17) stayed here in September and was the first time we had stayed 'All Inclusive'. We where greeted at the airport for our transfer and a swift load up into the minibus and we was away. On arrival we where greeted by a very polite and helpful young lady at the sevice desk, she got our All Inclusive cards activated and informed us that dinner is being served and explained that it does close at a certain time. After dumping our cases in our small but clean room we headed down for tea.
Initial thoughts of the display and choice of food was 'wow, surely we can't have this much to chose from everyday'. Although my wife and I are not picky eaters and we do enjoy eating different foods from different countries we were both impressed with the choice of hot meats, cold meats and fish dishes available. The food was from l Our daughter who is a lot more selective than us, had ample to choose from and was also well satisfied with the things she had eaten, also trying other foods which she would not eat at home. The presentation and freshness of the food was excellent, although occasionally food could have been a little more hotter, and yes there was a big selection everyday at every meal time. We never heard of any upset stomachs while we was there.
The bar at times was busy, but there wasn't no more wait than 5 minutes to be served and on 1 occasion a young spanish bar tender was serving other spanish ahead of my daughter who had been waiting longer, but on my approach and intervention, he did apologise and serve her first. Drinks were as you would expect if paying for them, and we never had a problem with 1 person going up with 3 cards for 3 drinks. Some of the more younger guests did seam to be abusing this, taking it in turns to get 1 person 6 card and 6 drinks drinks, pass the cards back in the queue and get another person getting 6 even when their table was full of full drinks. The bar staff did tell them 1 person 1 card 1 drink in future. Pool was small but deep (12' in deep end), bit cool at first as well.
Entertainment was just acceptable most days, but did have 1 or 2 better nights. Animation team could do more though, getting people up to play water volleyball, then 20 minutes thats the end of it, despite many people requesting it to go on longer.
The beach was 5-10 minutes away (sand is as rough as cat litter) and the town centre is even less. Mostly consisting of boutiques, cafes and bars. We did enjoy a few drinks away from the hotel, slumped in cane furniture over looking the beach on an evening, watching the world go bye, and these was reasonably priced.
We met some great people of various nationalities, friendly and polite. We did encounter the spanish version of 'The Dingles', who where rude and ignorant, but I know we can get that wherever we go. But watching 'CHUNK' getting excited was fun to watch.
Overall we had a great time, room, location, food, drink and mostly the people what made it, meeting folks from Bristol, Nottingham, Wales, Grimsby and a delightful older couple of well travelled sisters Rose and Dorothy.
We are looking at going back again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Look at the gym on the first day and not like me on my last. It's well equipped and hardly ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay! After reading all the reviews i was a little wary of what i would find when we got here but it was brill, great if you just want a relaxing holiday. Didnt think there was much to do nearby but everybody likes different things, food isnt bad but does get a bit repetative, staff are very friendly except the odd one, we had a bit of trouble on the first night and had to move to a different hotel but we returned the next day and we were compensated for this, met some lovely people and i will definately return again next year for that price :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to H TOP Platja Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H TOP Platja Park

Address: Avda Estrasburg 10, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H TOP Platja Park 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your H TOP Platja Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Platja Park
H TOP Platja Park Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H TOP Platja Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.