We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lift would be great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aromar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aromar to your Saves list
Hotel Aromar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emporda 28, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a lift would be great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

stayed here 1 week sept 2012, delfin apts part of hotel aromar on side. apts were very good inside (2 bedrooms) fully equipped.just been completely refurbished INSIDE,but not outside,ours was with balcony and seaview.no seaview as such balcony looked as going to collapse, and 5 flights of stairs (outside) to climb. NO LIFT. nice pool, hotel on the beach. lovely large resort very busy with french,german and dutch, but never spoke to or met any irish or english people in the week at all. no english or irish bars and restaurants at all. weather was lovely 30s every day.great shops, this would be the marbella of costa bravo but twice the size, great shopping if you was loaded.

Room Tip: book a low floor of the apts the stairs are a pain, or the hotel itself it has a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
33
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

we got a very nice triple with side sea view. family with 6 years old kid.
wifi at the lobby and in the room, but some devices do not connect to wifi like my HP laptop.
the food was really tasty, not very wide range but it made our lunch even better (didn't have to taste too many)
the beach just a min walk away. great beach for adults but not perfect for little kids.
the umbrella and the sunbed 5 euro each.
no issues at all. everything was fine...
enjoyed the hotel paintings everywhere on the walls...
i do recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Booked an appartment (me, wife & two 14 year olds), upon arrival my reservation was nowhere to be found. I could prove my payments through the use of printouts, and we were assigned to an appartment ... luckely there was one free. Booked lateral sea view from the balcony, what I got was street view, on level 1, nothing more. Entered the appartment, it was nothing like the pictures as shown on the hotel's website. Maybe the pictures were taken 20 years ago? Feel free to compare my pics enclosed to the ones shown on their website, go to Google and search for hotel Aromar, Platja d'Aro. "Delfin Appartments" There were clean sheets and towels, and that's all the positive I can say. Spider in the corner stayed there for 6 days, dust clod above my head (ceiling) in the bedroom stayed there for 6 days, microwave was dirty, oven was dirty, freezer was not clean/defrosted, walls were dirty, windows were dirty, etc. But staff cleaned the room every day!? What did they clean??? The website mentiones fresh towels & sheets every 3rd day ... we received clean towels every day, except for the 5th day ... no towels at all anymore! AC unit did a good job, nice &cool however no climate control ... whether you set the AC to 20°C or to 30°C, made no difference ... meaning that temp during the day was OK, during the night it was freezing. Our room was next to the hotel kitchen! Noisy : plates, cups, etc banging all morning during breakfast hours. Next, the food : why they got their 4th star for the food, God knows. Nothing special, every day similar to identical buffet. Sometimes the hot food was cold, and the cold food was hot. Drinks needed to be paid separately at time of check-out. Dinner : all tables were assigned, which was great. Breakfast : no management what so ever, sit down where there is room ... as a result, noisy & all tables (cloth) were dirty, not inviting to have breakfast. Terrace : drinks were very reasonably priced compared to the home country however ... when there was live music the minimum consumption was 3.50€ each. Meaning that a glass of water 10 minutes prior to the live music was sold against 1.80€ , during the "show" the price suddenly increased to 3.50€ ! Even for the attendants, having a room or appartment at the hotel. When you took a seat on the terrace next to the hotel, you could still see and hear the singing (she was trying her best), and the cost of a normal drink remained unchanged. The secured parking against 10€ per 24 hours ... pls check the pictures! They should have paid me 10€ a day to park my car there ... and to make matters worse, the parking lot was closed between midnight and 5AM ... no security, no access to our car. And for that we needed to pay! as the title reveals : once, but never again. The only good thing worth mentioning is their location ... 5 meters to cross a boulevard and you are on the beach. To make a long story short ... I could tell you more, but I believe it's clear that this hotel has had its glory days. Maybe nobody bothers anymore because of economical recession, that hit Spain bad? I could understand, but why take more money in a hidden sneeky way, and not use it to revive the hotel?

Room Tip: Simply book a room @ another hotel ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived at the hotel late on Thursday evening and from the moment we arrived the service was excellent.
I will admit I have stayed here before but it is always a pleasure.
Location is great ....however the beach is a bit far away - 20 meters
I will use the hotel again and have recommended it to many friends.

Room Tip: Fly into Girona airport transfer is only 30 mins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

First of all, we arrived here and the reception was reasonably friendly and helpful, once told were our rooms were we waited at the lift for at least 5 minutes before nothing happened and we had to carry our suitcases up the stairs (we did not use the lift once because it wasn't worth the wait). We got to our room to find that we had to pay extra money for the key to the fridge that we needed to keep medication cold.. What kind of hotel charges to use the fridge ? ? ? The location is the only really good thing about this hotel, we literally walked out the door and were on the beach. Although being on the 1st floor and looking on to the roof of the restaurant wasn't a pretty sight as it was covered in rubbish. The air-conditioning didn't work in our room as the air-conditioning doesn't work when the door to the balcony is open (our door was broken and didn't close) they told us at reception someone would fix it while we were out which didn't happen until about the 3rd time we asked. We had been in Spain for 6 days and we had stayed in two other hotels during this time which were the exact same price and to compare them is just unreal... who cares about location location location its wasn't worth it in this case. . After all of this we arrived back to our hotel at about 8p.m and decide to go down to the restaurant/bar for a drink as they had a band playing which was good... until they didn't stop playing until 1.00a.m. . when you are on the 1st floor.... and your door doesn't close properly it was so loud there was no chance in sleeping until it was finished.... this happened everynight we stayed there.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL ...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oporto
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

To start with the receptionist made a complete mess of telling me where to park (I had reserved a place). Twice sent me to occupied spots and another that was impossible to enter.
Room would have been about OK as a single but it was a double. More like a cupboard. Chrome bath fittings cruddy, tiles loose and generally tatty.
And only one lift - this in a hotel with eight floors i.e. P, 0 and 1 to 6.
If you want TV they want 30 euro deposit for the remote control. This sums up their approach to customers - life would be a lot easier if there were none I suspect.
Seems OK for pensioners with low expectations. I certainly did not want to eat there.
Needs investment and decent management.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — See my review. Oh and the glass in the room never got cleaned until I complained.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts,U.K.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Hotel Aromar is well situated towards the southern end of the pleasant long beach at Platja d"aro. We stayed for 2 weeks and really enjoyed it. We paid extra for a front facing "club room" on the 6th (top) floor. It had remote control air conditioning , a jacuzzi bath and a great sea view - so close to the sea that the noise of the waves might bother some people but not my wife and I! We stayed on half board (breakfast and dinner) and would rate the food as average. Plenty of choice and buffet ,so you could eat as much as you liked. Bar area was a bit dull and could have done with brightening up. Main downside of the hotel is that it had only 1 lift which meant long waits at busy times. Hired a car for the 2nd week and managed to park in the surrounding streets, but would be a problem at peak holiday times as the hotel has very little parking and charges about 10 euros a night to do so.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aromar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aromar

Address: Emporda 28, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aromar 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aromar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aromar Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aromar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.