We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Planamar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Planamar to your Saves list
Hotel Planamar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig del Mar 82, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five days in one of the renovated rooms with sea view. The room was very nice and clean.
The persons at the helpdesk and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful (there was one exception at the restaurant). The meals, even à la carte are average.
The swimming pool on the top of the building is small, but clean. Additionally on the top of the building is the exercise room. It’s is neglected and devices out of order.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
88panama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Planamar, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for giving us the time of this comment and have found our welcome warm, polite and clean. The small room used as a gym, next to the solarium for the massages is available to the guest and is one of open access and self-managed spaces such as the living room and the library located on the ground floor next to the reception, and as the small playground for the children next to the pool on the terrace.
For our little "gymnasium" is scheduled technical maintenance once a month.
We hope you could still enjoy a beautiful view offered from that side of the terrace.
We will be happy to accommodate you in the future and with all the renovated spaces.
Best regards,
Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    52
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week and I cannot fault it in any way. It is in a great position on the beach with a lovely restaurant on the pavement in the front of it. It is very close to the centre and is convenient for the bus station if you wish to travel during your stay.
It is very clean and well equipped and the reception staff could not be more pleasant and helpful. They are really great. The food is very good and the swimming pool on the roof is lovely and so nicely set out. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
88panama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Planamar, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Skymaid,
we really appreciate a lot your comment and we are glad to know that your stay has been enjoyable.
During the last three years we are working constantly to renew and upgrade our facilities to ensure a flawless experience, know that it is a recognizable it's a very important source of motivation
Wating to you soon.
Kind regards,
Hotel Planamar,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nunaeton
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The selection of food available was very poor and cold , same food every day , didnt matter what time you arrived for meals it was cold or luke warm . very dissapointed ,all though the staff were very nice and friendly.entertainment very poor and seating uncomfortable ..no snack bar just sandwiches behind the bar . east midlands

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

There seems to be some confusion in the reviews for this hotel. There is no train station in Platj d'Aro and no train tracks. From Barcelona you need to take the SARFA bus, and the SARFA bus station is very close to the hotel, about a five minute walk.

The hotel is right on the main beach. The only thing between the hotel and the main beach is the Passeig Maritim, which is basically an esplanade -- excellent for morning walks. I discovered that I actually prefer the smaller Cala Rovira beach which you can walk to along the esplanade, about 10 mins.

The room was fine, and well cleaned each day. The bathroom was a bit too small for my tastes, but other than that, no problem. Also, there was a lot of storage for your bags. To use the safe in your room you need to rent a lock and key from the front desk. This is common in one- and two-star hotels in Spain and drives me crazy. The last thing I want, when going to the beach, is a key to worry about. I wish they would install the keypad operated safes and charge an extra two Euros a day! I took a side balcony room, judging the premium you had to pay for a sea-facing room to be too much. I got a north side room and was very pleased with the view (you can see the sea, but only with a side view).

I took the B&B option, although they offer half and full board. Breakfast was okay -- about normal for Spain, except for the coffee which was a bit below average. Coffee in Spanish hotels is usually very good and the coffee here was okay, but not up to Spanish standards. They had bacon and eggs which is not always the case in Spain, plus the usual sliced meats and cheese, croissants and other baked goods.

The front desk people were friendly and helpful, in Spanish. I heard no English spoken in the hotel, either at the front desk or in the breakfast room. The hotel is mostly Spanish and Catalan speaking guests, with some French. I don't know how many front desk people speak English, as I speak passable Spanish, but I'm guessing not everyone on the desk speaks English. One night I was talking to my wife in English and about to get a bottle of water from the machine when the man on the desk very helpfully told me it would be a lot cheaper to pop down to the bar and buy it there -- in Spanish. Usually in major Spanish tourist areas hotel people speak English to me the minute they hear my accent. By the way, this is not a criticism -- I prefer to speak Spanish. It's a warning for people for whom English speaking front desk people is an important consideration.

The roof pool is very small -- just for children, really. The beds and chaises longues on the roof were very nice and fairly plentiful. I didn't try the exercise room.

The wi-fi connection in the room worked pretty well. TV was limited.

The only other comment is that this hotel is very serious about providing wheelchair access. Lots of hotels pay lip service, but here they really did a good job. I don't need wheelchair access but if you do, I think you will be impressed.

If I'm ever in Platja d'Aro again I'll look at hotels on the Cala Rovira beach first, strictly for locational preference. If none look appealing I'll definitely stay at the Planmar again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

It was simply an amazing vacation. The hotel was in an amazing location, right infront of the sea, the stuff were extremely friendly, the room was spottless clean and the roof with its view were oustanding. I would stay in the same hotel for sure. The hotel was in the middle of the beach with a 2 mins walking distance to the center and the bars/shopping area and 20 seconds to the beach. I was very surprised that its a 2 star hotel and that cheap

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

Traveled with wife and two kids . Check in was fast and location was great but then it whent down hill food was the same all the time and only warm , snacks just left in the sun all day ( sandwich & chips ) beer and wine watered down . Entertainment was a disco every night with the exception of dancers one night . You have no problem getting a sunbed as everyone goes the beach or other h top hotels ( free bus )

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnworth, Widnes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife and I have just spent 8 days in this lovely hotel on a bed and breakfast basis. We had a room on the front with a sea view and it was superb. We were the only english in the hotel for the duration of our stay (isn't that a bonus sometimes). The staff, without exception, were friendly and helpful and if they could not speak english they always found a collegue who could. I have read the other reviews and can only say that we had no complaints whatsoever. The location is absolutely excellent, right on the beach but very close to the shops, bars and restaurants. The facilities were everything they had been portrayed on the website. The roof sun terrace was amazing, complete with roof top pool which was not large but adequate and gym alongside for those fitter of you. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Planamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planamar

Address: Passeig del Mar 82, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Planamar 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This welcoming hotel is located in a central area of Playa de Aro, in the Paseo de Mar has been carefully renovated over the years and now has a facilities modern and functional.The great shops, restaurants and cafes located within walking distance of the Hotel make this hotel perfect for a great getaway or vacation.The pool at 28 °, the Solarium and Gym room located on the top floor of the Hotel is the best place of rest and tranquility.Bar chill-out with live musicParking spaces available for rent and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Planamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Planamar Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Planamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.