We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cap Roig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cap Roig to your Saves list
Hotel Cap Roig
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Andorra, 18, 17251 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Bristol
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“In need of some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here only one night. Lovely outlook and pool. Fair walk to town. Parking was difficult. Room smalll with tiny balcony, not a panoramic view as some rooms have! Had a fridge but this only worked when key card in the slot in the door so if out of room all day ...... Warm fridge! No kettle. Huge jacuzzi bath which was nice but limited toiletries. Towels can be borrowed for a deposit. Access to beach very easy but would not be easy for anyone with mobility problems. Lovely beach but course shingle so wear water shoes. Lunch buffet good. Pool lovely lots of seats Bur a ridiculous number of old tired plant pots. Dangerous at times as impede movement around pool. Fewer plant pots Itg no dead plants would be nicer also the huge confer trees directly outside many rooms were in need of felling!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    62
    31
    22
    25
See reviews for
37
82
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is my second stay after 7 yrs..Now under new ownership, The views are amazing, the gardens are lovely...the evening meal is very good. The staff are friendly and work hard.Not all the rooms have air conditioning, and ventilation in the bathrooms that I saw do not work, which means that there is a dampness about and a musty smell.. The breakfast is standard and and desserts are the same each evening and dull. There are some health and safety issues....a step going down from the main hallway has a piece broken of which could cause a fall, a stone seat is loose out by the pool, and much work is need outside of the buliding.
\it is like stepping back in time which, I liked.There is a special spiritual energy around the original building, which was a monastary, and it impels me to sing.It has a magical atmosphere if you are aware.
You can step down into the nearby coves by lift or stair and then walk along the coast path,,,It is very dangerous in parts where the rock face and fence has fallen.Hopefully will be repaired...Go rt out of the hotel and over the bridge along a lovely coast path to different coves....and can keep going for a few miles,,,enjoyed the naked swimming in one of these coves,
Life is always what you make it!! Have fun...It is special, but a little overpriced...
The cleaners work very hard.

Room Tip: ask for a superior room with air con if you want it...Not happy with your room? You can ask to chang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Well... my first reaction was that I had time-warped into some other era. The entry way was lush and full of plants only to enter the lobby and be transported back a few years (think 1970's?). We checked in, went to our first room -- an incredibly tiny room, two twin beds and a balcony sea view blocked by a pine tree. Not good. Went for a second room, asked for a double bed. Went to look...same view, same tiny room, just a double bed instead of twins. Not good. Went for a third. Room was much bigger, balcony overlooked the pool, bathroom had a huge whirlpool and still, two twin beds. We kept this room. After four nights, here are my reactions...
Pros: Fantastic pool area. Lots of seating and a wonderful view over the sea. Path down to beach was easy to reach. Beds were very comfortable. Rooms were clean -- just interesting decorating scheme. Refrigerator, aircon, safe and toiletries were provided. Free parking at the hotel was easy but filled up on some nights. Wifi access was available in the common lounge area and worked very well.
Cons: About a 15 minute walk into town. Not bad, but kind of a hassle everytime you wanted to walk into Platja D'Aro.
Other notes: This hotel catered to large groups of German students while we were there. Since we were on half-board, this made for some interesting problems at meal time. The students would all come at the same time, eat everything in site, take almost all of the tables and run the staff ragged. On the nights when there weren't large groups, the setting was relaxed and peaceful with a wonderful view over the sea. The food was fine - some dishes were excellent, some mediocre, but you could always find something to please.
We commend the staff for working with us to find an appropriate room and for the waitstaff who were kind, funny and always aiming to please.
In the end, I probably would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
564 reviews 564 reviews
331 hotel reviews
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

A very old sagging dame. The rooms were recently refurbished in a French country style, however the old TV sat on a black Ikea counter and totally destroyed the ambiance. The rooms are small with no air conditioning and you need it in August! The amenities were a bit better than the envelopes they some times give you, but just the basic. The common areas could be nice since there are a lot of nice pieces just very badly arranged. There are also too many plants full of dust. If they had only a few in good condition and in good shape it will be a lot nicer. There is so much potential but it is an old hotel and they always seem to be pretty full so I guess they have no incentive to clean their act or to be friendly. But I think is just the Catalan temperament, short bordering on rude. The friendly people were always from somewhere else in Spain. There is no refrigerator or coffee maker. The breakfast was ok, lots of cold cuts, good bread, cereal, yugurt and pastries. The coffee was from one of those machines with powdered milk it was terrible! This is a very expensive hotel for what you get. The pool area could be nice again if it was taken care of. It does have a great view. The access to the beach is in the opposite side and you have a long walk with stairs. This is not a good hotel for people with disabilities for sure. Free wi-fi in the lobby. Again this was a last minute decision to go back to say good by to my family in Playa de Aro and there was only one other choice, just as bad as this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

my self and 13year old son had a 11 night stay in the hotel.

we only had the breakfast in the hotel for the first three days thought it was basic food and nothing hot was offered for the breakfast.

we did have one meal in the night time and it was not too bad. but saying that we both prefered to travel a bit and try different restuarants. we had a car for our stay which was very handy since we travelled to palamos and playa de aro every night to eat out. playa de aro has a good night life while palamos offered a more scenic flavour. The local water park is only one kilometre away which we did visit twice on the holiday.

the pool at the hotel was nice and food was available if we wanted but we just used the hotel as a port for our return of a night before going out again. the pool tables and table tennis were both used extensively by our selves at the hotel and the internet was used a couple of times.

we did not meet any other english at the hotel, which we didn't mind. overall the accomodation was fine and the weather was great. i would visit again and would recommend the hotel. it is more suited to honeymooners though and couples. not much entertaiment for the kids.

thanks

stephen

  • Liked — clean and ample size for me and mr 13year old son
  • Disliked — building work being carried out in adjacent room
  • Tips/Secrets — car is handy. visit palamos and playa de aro for resuarants
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Cap Roig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap Roig

Address: Avenida de Andorra, 18, 17251 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cap Roig 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Cap Roig Hotel you will find:The hospitality, professionalism, a personalized treatment and comfort,Careful attention to details within a friendly atmosphere The privileged situation around a natural landscapeEfficient comunications (At 30Km from Girona, 100Km from Barcelona and 100Km from France too)All requirements to have an unforgettable holiday you will find in the Hotel CAP ROIG, surrounded by old trees and with itsown beach.The Hotel is placed in a marvellous and silent part of the Costa Brava directly facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cap Roig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Roig Hotel
Hotel Cap Roig Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cap Roig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.