We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GHT Hotel Xaloc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added GHT Hotel Xaloc to your Saves list
GHT Hotel Xaloc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cala Rovira 9, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
GreenLeadersBronze level
berkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Hotel Xaloc is situated at the northern end of Playa D'aro on the smaller Rovira Beach. The hotel is about 500 metres from the start of the town centre, shops and restaurants. It is about 35km from Gerona Airport.

On arrival we were met by helpful staff who understood English but struggled occasionally, a change to simpler words always helped the situation. A few words of spanish from us also helped bring down barriers and we were quickly given our room.

This is where we hit a slight problem. I did not book a sea view with balcony. The room we were given was overlooking the car park with no balcony. A dark and dismal affair, So back to Reception flash the visa card and we were given a good room with balcony looking over the hotel terrace, small pool and onward towards the Beach and blue inviting sea. It was not an expensive upgrade.

The room was very well air conditioned, which in July was very welcome. The beds were a little hard on our backs. TV is available but only in Spanish and one two channels in French.

You pay a E10 returnable deposit for the TV handset and E27 for the safe key (inc a E10 returnable deposit.) The safe is a essential for any holiday. The hotel bedroom doors have only got poor locks with no dead lock or chain, something that I believe needs upgrading.

The whole hotel is extremely clean and well looked after. The staff are attentive and care for the hotel and its guests.

We went half board but only ate breakfast and 2 dinners during our stay as we prefer to eat out in local restaurants. The breakfast were full of the usual and a bit of the unusual fayre that will be familiar to Spaniards. The breads were fresh, varied and delicious.

Dinners buffet style with a nice but relatively limited selection. The Wednesday night Barbeque during the summer are worth attending. The food was better than some of the local restaurants again displaying the familar chicken and pork with things like Boudin Noir, Chirizo, Salt cod, octopus and other salads. A flamenco cabaret added a little spanish favour to the evening along with few glasses of Rioja on the hotel terrace. On a warm summer evening who could ask for more.

The hotel bar has internet access a big TV and a good stock of brandy. The coffee is good as well. There is also a pool table.

The Beach is just out the back of the hotel it couldnt be any closer. The pool is small but with the sea 50m away who cares. The Beach is blue flag status. 2 Sunloungers and a parasol E15.

This hotel is hidden gem. If the owners invested a few thousand euros they could turn this into a 5 star boutique hotel and charge the earth for its location and ambience.

Bravo Hotel Xaloc you deserve 5 stars not 3 stars

I would recommend this hotel to people who do not want some tour operators idea of fun - bad entertainers, unruly kids and a non stop selling of their excursions.

It is peaceful. You are left alone to make your own entertainment and enjoy the Costa Brava summer glories.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Xaloc, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. Your kind words fill us of joy and satisfaction. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

Please note that in the rooms TV you can choice the number of following channels: 2 in English, 2 in French, 2 in German, 1 in Italian and many others in Spanish. It is possible you did not found the way to get the English ones but you could always ask at the reception desk.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
25
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hailsham, east sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We arrived at the Xaloc Hotel and were greeted by friendly, English-speaking staff who couldn't have been more helpful if they tried. All week they were happy to offer advice and information on the local area, bus destinations and times,etc and really went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one. Our room had fantastic views over the bay - beautiful. It was spotlessly clean, if a little on the small side. Didn't notice a problem with noise from neighbouring rooms at all. Towels changed daily, sheets twice a week. Lovely 'singing' chambermaid! The hotel is very good for 3* - small and typically Spanish, really charming - much better than some of the nearby high-rise style. Food selection and quality was fine and we didn't feel we had to eat out in the evenings at all. Location-wise, the hotel is situated on a lovely sand/shingle beach - spacious, with a beach bar. The swimming pool is small but with all that sea on the doorstep it's not a problem! The hotel is in a quiet location, on the outskirts of Playa D'Aro which has a long promenade and lots of shopping facilities and restaurants. An upmarket feel with very few tacky souvenir shops etc. A mix of mostly French, Spanish and very few English in the resort. Buses to neighbouring resorts and Gerona. Recommend the coastal walk from S'Agaro to Playa D'Aro - stunning! No complaints about our holiday whatsoever..... (PS: Remote control for tv is a deposit of 10 euro's which you get back at the end of the week, and yes, you do pay to use the safe in the room, but this happens everywhere and was worth the small fee to us!)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Xaloc, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

The hotel was basic and generally clean. The location was at the far end of Platja D'Aro and right on a small beach. My main complaint about the hotel was that it is an older building and has no soundproofing and it meant the rooms are very noisy. I could hear everything from next door rooms, and presumably they could hear me. This is completely unacceptable in modern hotels which have very good soundproofing. Also, the hotel advertises English speaking reception but they only spoke English when they wanted to and sometimes thay claimed they didn't understand. Also, the room facilities that they list are charged extra and they should make this clear. The phone in my room did not work and it was never fixed properlt. Also, the aircon didn't work and they claimed it was because I wasn't operating it correctly but they couldn't get it to work either. Al together, it was a bit of a Fawly Towers kind of a place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_Hotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Xaloc, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
First of all, we are very sorry if the receptionist didn't understand you, but you need to understand that there are language barriers and it's normal that they didn't understand some things. And, also, machines breaks sometimes, and they need a time to be fixed, specially for the aircon machines in the hotels, because they're very big and complicated to fix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

we have just returned from a week at the impressive xaloc hotel in the exclusive resort of platja d'aro.
the hotel is located on the edge of a very busy (expensive) resort.
you access one of the many lovely beaches via a few steps and a few yards away you find yourself on a busy, but very nice small sand/shingle beach.
to the left of the beach there are some steps witch take you on a wonderful coastal walk through some of the best scenery you could hope to find.
the hotel itself was clean ,and the staff were very friendly.
there is a small pool and a sunbed area where you can just chill and top up your tan whilst admiring the view of the beach and sea.
the only thing we found disappointing was the food.
sometimes you felt that the quality of the meat was poor.
and the same ingredients seem to appear in another format the following day.
there are a lot of restaurants in the town which is not far away.
if you want a resort that is cosmopolitan, where you can walk around without hearing, or seeing lots of British holiday makers.
this is the place for you.
for a nice evening out, stroll along the prom ( they have beach party's some nights) head into town and if you do want to just have a drink, try the bar oasis( run by a manchurian indian lass & her french partner) footy & curry.
or try the Irish bar set back of the main road.
all in all we had a great time and would recommend this hotel and resort

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Xaloc, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Director of GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GHT Hotel Xaloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHT Hotel Xaloc

Address: Cala Rovira 9, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GHT Hotel Xaloc 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GHT Hotel Xaloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GHT Hotel Xaloc Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GHT Hotel Xaloc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.