We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - not good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Park Hotel San Jorge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Silken Park Hotel San Jorge to your Saves list
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Palamos C253- Av. Andorra 28 | Calonge, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Elmwood Park, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel - not good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel is in a great location, 10-15 minute walk to town (Platja d'Aro), has great access to the beaches, nice terrasse to eat outside for breakfast / lunch / dinner. Nice everything except the food at the restaurant. We had breakfasts/dinners included with the hotel and we regret taking this plan when we should have tried all the nice / inexpensive restaurants in town. Breakfasts are nice but after a week become a bit repetitive (a note also on the tiny "shot" glasses for the morning orange juice). Dinner selection are not the best really and we were often disappointed. Water is extra charge. Service became a bit slow in the middle of the week where most tourists had left, and it seems that the hotel was short staffed at the restaurant. Parking is 6-8 euro/day.
Our room (#284) was nice with the exception of the low water pressure at the shower head, and we had issues with the water sometimes turning cold or very hot. We did not report this though.
Price-wise, it's a bit on the expensive side, but the setting again is very nice. Next time maybe we will find an apartment to rent in town (closer to the city center, shops, restaurants and also beaches). On the last note, sangria pichers are great and plenty for 10 euros!

Room Tip: Higher floor is best for the sea view (preferably not over the lower roofs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We thank your visit and your comments about, of which we note to improve if possible, but perhaps the title of your review is a bit harsh considering that hundreds of customers eat every day in our restaurant and they love it, maybe it's a matter about preferences and not about quality, such as you prefer to stay in an apartment in the commercial center of the city while other clients prefer to be in this hotel just outside in a natural setting with two beautiful beaches, is a question of preferences, obviously. In any case we appreciate your visit and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    240
    69
    23
    12
See reviews for
104
346
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lecco, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The most wonderful hotel that I've seen in Spain, amazing private beach, perfect position, close to the center and surrounded by the sea. Room was clean and big, breakfast was perfect, looking forward to be there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Big Thank You for your kind review which encourages us to continue working in the line of quality and excellence at guest service. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great local food, friendly and efficient staff, stunning views! The hotel has its own private beach, and the buffet breakfast is actually surprisingly good. Many thanks for your hospitality, we will be staying here again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks to you for your visit and kind review, we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 7 nights at this hotel, and found it a very enjoyable beachside break. The location is wonderful, with glorious sea views and two delightful sandy bays. These can only accessed via a fairly steep pathway, and may be difficult for those with mobility issues to access. There is a lovely little open restaurant on the beach (not a part of the hotel)which offers very fresh fish and seafood, and has a good menu, and is a very enjoyable location for a relaxed lunch. We enjoyed spending time around the pool, although you have to be quick if you want a sun lounger - the vast majority had been reserved with towels by 10am, which was a bit annoying, especially when the owners of the towels didn't appear until several hours later. Beach towels are available from the spa for the pool. We booked bed and breakfast only, although ate dinner in the hotel restaurant several times. A three course meal is €25, and has a reasonable variety of fish and meat dishes. Local wines were reasonably priced. We found the staff friendly and attentive, and very hard working considering how many people they were serving. Front office were friendly and helpful. Staff also have some working knowledge of French, German and English as well as Castilian and Catalan Spanish, to assist the many guests from those countries. Breakfast offered a good range of hot and cold foods, although I was disappointed that coffee was only available from machines, and was petty mediocre in my opinion - I would have preferred fresh coffee/tea to be served at the table. The terraces are kept very clean and are spacious with lovely ocean views. We were pleased with our room (146) which had such a beautiful view, as well as being clean and comfortable. The full bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and the only suggestion I would make would be to add a shelf in the shower for shampoo/gel etc. The room's air conditioning is efficient and keeps the room at a comfortably cool temperature through the night, which is our preference. We requested an extra blanket which was immediately delivered and placed on the bed. The bed mattress and bedding were high quality and the room was fully cleaned every morning by 11am. I would advise asking for a sea view room, as the road on the other side of the hotel is busy and quite noisy. We had fast and consistent wifi coverage in the room and could even use our laptops by the pool, so no problems there. We didn't try out any of the spa treatments or the gym, but both appeared popular with other guests. Parking is €6 per night but is secure, or you can take your chance on the street. Overall this is a very enjoyable place to enjoy a beach side break.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate your kind words and hope to have your visit soon again, hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajiji
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We arrived to be greeted by friendly staff. Our room overlooked the patio and azure ocean below. Breathtaking views both during the day and at night with a full moon. I was unaware that breakfast was included, but it is something not to be forgotten, Lox, eggs, fruits, cheeses, hams and sausages were only thew beginning of a meal that expanded over 5 large tables.
We will return here. It is the best of Costa Brava.

Room Tip: All oceanfront rooms seem excellent. However, there was no staff available to assist with our luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Your nice comments encourage us to continue working in the line of excellence in service. We appreciate your visit and hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A very pleasant hotel overlooking a lovely bay .Crystal clear water which is perfect for snorkelling.Our room in the annexe was of a reasonable size with a comfortable bed and lovely pillows.Only negative was the minimal supply ( two tea bags ) of in room refreshments.Not much use for a coffee drinker.This was supplied on request however.

Room Tip: Annexe rooms on level-1 are very quiet with a view of the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Many thanks for your visit and kind review, we noted your apreciation about our tea service in room, however this is only a welcome gift and customers can order all sort of drinks in room-service, with cost. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villeseque Des Corbieres
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

this was our second stay and a most pleasurable stay ce again. However! We both hoped breakfast trays were available to avoid going back and forth to buffet. It obviously annoys other people too. This wouldnt put us off the hotel though and plan on returning in september.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We appreciate your visit and your loyalty, we note your comments about the trays but for now we discarded because maybe is not the image that we want for our breakfast room since the amounts of food fit on a plate, and normally customers are handled well. Hope to see you in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silken Park Hotel San Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Park Hotel San Jorge

Address: Carretera Palamos C253- Av. Andorra 28 | Calonge, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Best Value Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silken Park Hotel San Jorge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a stunning spot in the Costa Brava, rising over two cristal-clear water coves surrounded by pine trees overlooking the blue immensity of the Mediterranean Sea, Silken Park Hotel San Jorge offers updated facilities featuring an outdoor area, swimming pool by the sea, meeting rooms, Spa, restaurants, lounge bar... The ideal place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silken Park Hotel San Jorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Park Platja d Aro
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.