We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the Costa Brava, a very relaxing stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Park Hotel San Jorge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Silken Park Hotel San Jorge to your Saves list
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Palamos C253- Av. Andorra 28 | Calonge, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great spot in the Costa Brava, a very relaxing stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great local food, friendly and efficient staff, stunning views! The hotel has its own private beach, and the buffet breakfast is actually surprisingly good. Many thanks for your hospitality, we will be staying here again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks to you for your visit and kind review, we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    201
    59
    23
    12
See reviews for
96
281
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 7 nights at this hotel, and found it a very enjoyable beachside break. The location is wonderful, with glorious sea views and two delightful sandy bays. These can only accessed via a fairly steep pathway, and may be difficult for those with mobility issues to access. There is a lovely little open restaurant on the beach (not a part of the hotel)which offers very fresh fish and seafood, and has a good menu, and is a very enjoyable location for a relaxed lunch. We enjoyed spending time around the pool, although you have to be quick if you want a sun lounger - the vast majority had been reserved with towels by 10am, which was a bit annoying, especially when the owners of the towels didn't appear until several hours later. Beach towels are available from the spa for the pool. We booked bed and breakfast only, although ate dinner in the hotel restaurant several times. A three course meal is €25, and has a reasonable variety of fish and meat dishes. Local wines were reasonably priced. We found the staff friendly and attentive, and very hard working considering how many people they were serving. Front office were friendly and helpful. Staff also have some working knowledge of French, German and English as well as Castilian and Catalan Spanish, to assist the many guests from those countries. Breakfast offered a good range of hot and cold foods, although I was disappointed that coffee was only available from machines, and was petty mediocre in my opinion - I would have preferred fresh coffee/tea to be served at the table. The terraces are kept very clean and are spacious with lovely ocean views. We were pleased with our room (146) which had such a beautiful view, as well as being clean and comfortable. The full bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and the only suggestion I would make would be to add a shelf in the shower for shampoo/gel etc. The room's air conditioning is efficient and keeps the room at a comfortably cool temperature through the night, which is our preference. We requested an extra blanket which was immediately delivered and placed on the bed. The bed mattress and bedding were high quality and the room was fully cleaned every morning by 11am. I would advise asking for a sea view room, as the road on the other side of the hotel is busy and quite noisy. We had fast and consistent wifi coverage in the room and could even use our laptops by the pool, so no problems there. We didn't try out any of the spa treatments or the gym, but both appeared popular with other guests. Parking is €6 per night but is secure, or you can take your chance on the street. Overall this is a very enjoyable place to enjoy a beach side break.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate your kind words and hope to have your visit soon again, hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajiji
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We arrived to be greeted by friendly staff. Our room overlooked the patio and azure ocean below. Breathtaking views both during the day and at night with a full moon. I was unaware that breakfast was included, but it is something not to be forgotten, Lox, eggs, fruits, cheeses, hams and sausages were only thew beginning of a meal that expanded over 5 large tables.
We will return here. It is the best of Costa Brava.

Room Tip: All oceanfront rooms seem excellent. However, there was no staff available to assist with our luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Your nice comments encourage us to continue working in the line of excellence in service. We appreciate your visit and hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A very pleasant hotel overlooking a lovely bay .Crystal clear water which is perfect for snorkelling.Our room in the annexe was of a reasonable size with a comfortable bed and lovely pillows.Only negative was the minimal supply ( two tea bags ) of in room refreshments.Not much use for a coffee drinker.This was supplied on request however.

Room Tip: Annexe rooms on level-1 are very quiet with a view of the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Many thanks for your visit and kind review, we noted your apreciation about our tea service in room, however this is only a welcome gift and customers can order all sort of drinks in room-service, with cost. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villeseque Des Corbieres
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

this was our second stay and a most pleasurable stay ce again. However! We both hoped breakfast trays were available to avoid going back and forth to buffet. It obviously annoys other people too. This wouldnt put us off the hotel though and plan on returning in september.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We appreciate your visit and your loyalty, we note your comments about the trays but for now we discarded because maybe is not the image that we want for our breakfast room since the amounts of food fit on a plate, and normally customers are handled well. Hope to see you in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is a lovely little secret and we were surprised by the quality of the facilities for the price. I travel to Italy annually and a hotel of this quality would cost twice if not three times as much in Italy. We shall be heading back again for another trip.
We flew into Barcelona and stayed there overnight before catching the Sarfa bus from Barcelona to Platja D'Aro. The journey cost €15 one way. It took about two and a half hours. There were no toilets on board or toilet stops so be prepared. The bus took us into Platja D'Aro and we walked to the hotel which took about 20 minutes on a flat pavement so it was easy for fit people. A taxi is available in town and costs about €13.50 from the bus station to the hotel. The return bus took us to Barcelona airport and cost €17. Book tickets early during peak summer season to guarantee a seat. You can fly into Girona but we wanted a stop in Barcelona as we love the city.
We had a room on the first floor with a fantastic sea view and balcony with a table and chairs overlooking the terrace. What a lovely position. We were upgraded on arrival without charge which was a lovely gesture.
The room was very large with the bathroom and wardrobe area in a separate room. The room was exceptionally clean and housekeeping excellent. We had slippers, robes and some lovely L'Occitane toiletries provided.
The room had a mini bar with drinks at a reasonable price ie water at 2.30€. There was a safe with a shelf inside so plenty of room for valuables and our MacBook Air (not sure of dimensions). There was free wifi available in all rooms and most areas outside the hotel without the need for a log in code. That's exactly what travellers expect from a modern hotel. Well done Silken.
We used the gym which is air conditioned and has two running machines, a few bikes, a workout bench and two dumbells with weights up to 20kg and two cross trainers. The fitness room has a lovely view out to sea and provides lockers, showers and a bathroom with towels. Your room key opens the fitness room and we were often the only people in there so we would open up the large sliding doors and workout to the sound of the sea.
I didn't use the pool but sat in the area which has a toddler pool, spa facilities, and loungers.
There are two pathways down to the beach via steps. These are quite steep which could be challenging if you have mobility problems.
The beach is lovely. Yes it's gritty sand, but also spotlessly clean and there is a snack bar/restaurant on the beach which sells a huge range of food with menus in many languages. The sandwiches were from €4.50, beer €2.50, Espresso €2.50, still water €1.20.
The hotel gave us a towel each to use at the beach for a week without charge. What a great idea. When we arrived on the beach the main summer season was starting and loungers and umbrellas were delivered. These cost €6 for an umbrella and €6 for a lounger for the day and is payable to the beach attendant. There are no toilets on the beach or changing huts so you need to walk back up to the hotel.
The breakfast in the hotel was good with a huge range of hot and cold food and this was on offer until 10.30am. The bar food (also room service) was very good value and quality as were the drinks. We ate hamburger with chips, a Campari and soda, a Cava and razor clams in their own juice and baby squids and this came to €28. Good for a hotel bar. The bar food was available until 10pm. The hotel restaurant menu looked good and was also busy most evenings with table booking recommended. There was a three course meal offer for €25. We didn't use the restaurant as we preferred to walk into town in the evening. The staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly and spoke excellent English and other languages. After one workout in the gym I walked into the hotel where a lady called Fatima stopped us and poured us two glasses of water without us even asking. Very kind.
The town itself is about a 15 minute walk on the flat and good pavements. Every day we would stop and look at the peacocks at the gates of a property along the route.
The town itself is a mix of cheap tourist meal deal venues and higher end restaurants so you have a choice depending on your budget. The range of food is vast, Spanish, Italian, Indian, Chinese, English pies and chips etc. There are lots of shops, including Benetton and other chain stores, Burger King and Macdonalds. It's not a romantic or beautiful town, but one which serves a clear purpose which is to provide entertainment for tourists and families enjoying the beaches.

Room Tip: One with a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review which encourages us to continue working on this line. Looking forward to your visit soon again, "hasta pronto"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed here for a quiet weekend with my friends and we got just that. The staff are friendly and very helpful. On our 2nd night me and my heavily pregnant friend got ill (a bug we brought from home nothing we caught out there) the staff called the doctor and when it was decided my friend needed to go hospital they called the ambulance and provided us with everyrhing we needed.

Even the next day when we were feeling a little better the manager spoke with us and replenished our minibar with coca cola and water all free of charge (not that the prices were expensive anyway) and told us to call if there was anything we needed food wise too. But this meant that we could relax and get better without worrying about getting to the supermarket or moving from our rooms.

The rooms were very clean and spacious with very nice balconies. And town is about 15 minute walk or 2 minute car journey.

I would most definitely stay again and recommend to whomever is staying in the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We are glad to read such a nice review, it was our pleasure to help you and to make your stay as relaxing and nice as expected. We wish all the best to your pregnant friend, and we look forward to see you all next time with a new born member!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silken Park Hotel San Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Park Hotel San Jorge

Address: Carretera Palamos C253- Av. Andorra 28 | Calonge, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silken Park Hotel San Jorge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a stunning spot in the Costa Brava, rising over two cristal-clear water coves surrounded by pine trees overlooking the blue immensity of the Mediterranean Sea, Silken Park Hotel San Jorge offers updated facilities featuring an outdoor area, swimming pool by the sea, meeting rooms, Spa, restaurants, lounge bar... The ideal place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Silken Park Hotel San Jorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Park Platja d Aro
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.