We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice view/location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Park Hotel San Jorge

Save Saved
You added Silken Park Hotel San Jorge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Palamos C253- Av. Andorra 28 | Calonge, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Platja d'Aro
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice view/location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Dinner (half board) was really good. Hotel has stunning view and two beaches just 100 m away and a pool area. We got a family room that is ok, but outdated. Definaltely good value for money. I would visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are currently renewing all our hotel rooms so hopefully you will see it in your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    178
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
82
251
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived from Girona airport. You can either get a taxi for about 60€ or the bus like we did. You get the bus from the airport (turn right as you exit) which costs 2.75€ to the bus station. They run on the half hour and back on the hour. From there the bus will stop outside the hotel for about 6€.
The location was beautiful with the advantage of being 15 mins walk from the town. Very pretty beach and surroundings. Basic room was very clean and tasteful. Air con worked well and was quiet.
Good selection at breakfast with a take away breakfast for our early departure.
The spa was good with 3 types of showers, (really liked the aroma shower!) sauna, steam room and large jacuzzi. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
Car parking is 10€ a day, although you can park opposite. Sunbeds and umbrellas are 5€ each on the beach which can add to your budget for longer stays.
Altogether a really enjoyable stay and would return if going back to the area.

Room Tip: Sea view would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We thank very much your kind contribution and we look forward to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I had first visited some 50 years ago with my parents and it has always had a special memory for me. We unfortunately forgot to take our passports, fortunately we are only in Sant Feliu so my husband returned to collect them. I was made to wait in the reception whilst he did so. I did feel that we could have been booked into our room since upon his return it only took 30 seconds to copy the passports. We had a pleasant drink in the bar overlooking the sea where the service was excellent. Unfortunately the hotel had been overtaken by a large and very noisy wedding reception. When we arrived for dinner we were accommodated in the smaller dining room due to the reception and what should have been a leisurely meal became somewhat hurried as the demand for tables outstripped availability. I was also amazed by the number of people who arrived for dinner wearing jeans and trainers! The food however was excellent as was the service. Breakfast the next morning was overrun by wedding guests so once again it was not the leisurely experience it should have been. However the hotel is still beautiful if somewhat tired in parts and we will certainly visit there next year but will check first whether they have any wedding bookings that might clash with our dates.

Room Tip: Always book a sea view, it's really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are glad to read your kind comments and sorry for the troubles caused for the other guests, we made all the possible to avoid them but it was difficult. Nevertheless it was an exceptional event so we hope that your next visit will be relaxing and peaceful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice rooms, lovely location, very pleasant staff. Breakfast buffet good but officially not open until 0800 although each morning large numbers of clients in earlier grabbing items whilst still being set up. As golfers with morning tee times and travel of up to 40 mins, and if wishing to have a full day out, surely it must be obvious that breakfast needs to start at say 0730 at least. Rather slow clearing of used items from tables, and for some reason only teaspoons out for cereal and fruit etc!
We (8 of us) ate in once but very slow service in a very full dining room. Would return but unlikely to eat in on basis of comparison with some local restaurants - especially in Palamos.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Although the breakfast buffet starts at 8am usually, it is possible to open before when a group ask for it, and also it is possible to prepare picnic bags for people who leaves during night or early morning, the only requirement is to mention it previously (the night before, for ex.).
Looking forward to welcome you again in a next golf trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Decided to return to this hotel, having had a pleasant response from the deputy manager following our previous stay at New Year, where there had been some power cut issues.
Warm welcome from the staff at Reception who helped us with luggage.
Checked in to a sea view room as booked. Delighted with the shore views and sound of the waves, especially at night with the balcont door open.
Surprised to find a hospitality tray with selection of tea provided.
Fantastic breakfast buffet as before. Odd mismatched cutlery provision!
Used the useful, free internet provided in the lounge.
Too cool weather to use the pool but enjoyed the terrace, beach and restaurant views.
Thought overall the return visit was very worthwhile.

Room Tip: Stayed in a "100" room which had a good balcony, stayed in a "300" last time whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are glad that your returned to visit the Silken San Jorge and that you have had a nice stay with us. Next time we will try to fix warmer temperatures ;-) Looking forward to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. My husband and I stayed here for a few nights, and we wished we could have stayed longer. We had a room with a view overlooking the water, which was beautiful. The rooms were decently spacious, and kept very clean. The staff was very friendly, and their breakfast was by far one of the best breakfasts we have had from a hotel. Great selection and quality of food. It has it's own private beach, which is very well kept up, and a very inviting swimming pool. I would definitely go back to this hotel for another vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Your kind comments allow us to continue working in this quality way, hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We highly recommend this hotel. It is set in an amazingly beautiful location, on a cliff above two stunning and magical beaches. between Platja D'Aro and Palamos, on the Costa Brava. The hotel staff was charming, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very good and the food at the hotel's restaurant was excellent! The room we were given was very spacious and facing the sea. The SPA was absolutely fabulous. Pity the pool wasn't heated, or we would have dived in, as did the more courageous Russians and Germans there. We most certainly would love to revisit this hotel, if we find a similar special rate (115 euros per night).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we look forward to your next visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silken Park Hotel San Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Park Hotel San Jorge

Address: Carretera Palamos C253- Av. Andorra 28 | Calonge, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#4 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silken Park Hotel San Jorge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a stunning spot in the Costa Brava, rising over two cristal-clear water coves surrounded by pine trees overlooking the blue immensity of the Mediterranean Sea, Silken Park Hotel San Jorge offers updated facilities featuring an outdoor area, swimming pool by the sea, meeting rooms, Spa, restaurants, lounge bar... The ideal place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Silken Park Hotel San Jorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Park Platja d Aro
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Park Hotel San Jorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.