We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Columbus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Columbus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Maritim 100 | Calle Lleida, 10, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 hotels in Platja d'Aro
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We chose this hotel due to its close proximity to the beach. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome by the receptionist, she was very helpful. We arrived at 11am and we were told we could not check in until 2pm. We were shown to the luggage room. The receptionist then caught up with us to tell us that we could have our room in 30 mins. Fantastic room with a sea view balcony. The rooms are very clean, but they are in need of redecorating. They are quite tired. We then headed out to explore. The resort is lovely, the beach is amazing and the seafront is clean.

The first night we decided to go down early and get a drink at the bar, only it was closed. Dinner was a lovely spread of buffet - if you eat meat. I am vegetarian and I struggled to find something I could eat. I ate salad virtually every night. We were not able to get a hot drink. The reception team told us that we could get one at the bar. We asked when it would open and were told once the restaurant closed - which was over an hour away. We walked off and were met half way down the corridor by one of the waiters who made us a cup of tea. This is another example of how good the reception team are - they had called the restaurant and asked them to assist us.

Breakfast was really good. Most enjoyable meal of the day. The pool area is very clean - however 11 loungers is not enough. There is nowhere to get a drink during the day. We popped to the supermarket- which is about 5 mins away. There are plenty of bars along the seafront.

The final night we had a menu instead of buffet. There was nothing vegetarian apart from fish of which I am not a fan. The waiter was very kind and tried to understand what I was saying. I was given a nice salad with cheese and some chips - which was pretty much what I had been getting from the buffet every night. The waiter was very good and even got me some brown bread - they tend to serve white rolls in the evening.

This is not a 4* resort - it might of been years ago, but it is not now. If that kind of thing bothers you then dont go. It is a good 2*. But it is very clean and the staff are very helpful, it is just a tired hotel that needs a lick of paint. It is also not the best resort to go to out of season - which is why I think most things were closed. We struggled to find another Brit, it was mainly Spanish, French and German - this is not a bad thing if you want to get away from it all like we did!

Just to finish - take earplugs, the walls are paper thin. We were woken up at 3am by our neighbours every day of our stay.

Room Tip: Request a balcony view when booking. The seaviews are incredible, but the rooms that look out to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    11
    16
    11
See reviews for
16
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 day holiday here. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The room was clean and the bed v comfortable and the blackout curtains ensured a good nights sleep We were on a breakfast included deal which was good value. The buffet choice was excellent and constantly replenished. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were a bit disappointed not to have a sea view. We could have upgraded to a sea view but at 24euros per night it seemed too expensive and as the hotel was situated right on the beach we spent very little time in the room We did have a view of the mountains though and a brilliant sunset. Other extras was the secure parking at 10euros per day. We opted to use street parking for free, which was no problem and we always managed to find a space close by. Did not bother us in the least that the exterior paintwork would have improved the appearance of the hotel. It has a charming Spanish appeal and we would def recommend it for a relaxing holiday. The town of Platja D'Aro is a very bustling and lively with great choice of shops and restaurants, bars. The whole place was very "Spanish" - no "English Breakfast" boards displayed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Fantastic beach front location. However, our room was dark and depressing, with a view of an overgrown building plot. No balcony/terrace, despite prior confirmation that we would have a balcony or terrace. Reception staff were quite dismissive and refused to change our room. After 3 nights I'd had enough and complained again. This time successfully and and were given a room with balcony. Room was clean, but beds were uncomfortable and fittings quite basic. Definately not 4 star. Needs painting outside...quite shabby looking. Food was good and dining room staff were very obliging. The pool was lovely...very clean and plenty of sunbeds. However, to get a drink during the day, you had to leave the hotel and go to the Columbus snack bar (if it was open) on the seafront. Annoying keycards for the bedroom doors, which more often than not, didn't work and had to be 'reset' at reception. Lovely town, very pretty and fab shops but definately wouldn't stay at Hotel Columbus again.

Room Tip: Double check prior to booking that you will have a room with a view/balcony/terrace. Ask them to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Comfortable and quiet with an excellent location by the beach and shops, bars and restaurants.
Friendly hotel staff who aim to please. If looking for relaxation, a high standard of cleanliness, attentive service and hospitality this is for you.
Good choice of buffet for breakfast and dinner, waiter service at lunch from set menu.
As the original hotel in the resort it has classic features which may not suit all tastes.
Jose the manager, and his team excel at going the extra mile for each guest, always courteous and smiling.

Room Tip: All top floor rooms give a good view, and each balcony affords some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We really liked the hotel. The beach is very close. Swimming pool is clean and warm. The menu was good. The hotel has a very convenient location. Very close Amusement Park (for adults and children). There is table tennis, billiards and mini playground. The friendly hotel staff.

Room Tip: Extra bed for a child does not restrict the movement of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very Helpful staff in the hotel and the breakfast was very good. The situation can not be faulted with a skip to the beach and a short hop to the restuarants in the high street. The views from the balcony was lovely. So yes its scruffy and you can see how once it was 4 star probably when Abba were number one but it is a good choice despite the aging decor and multi purpose bath soap.

Room Tip: be sure to choose a balcony with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a great hotel in a top location , it is not luxurious or fancy but comfortable . The air conditioning was not good enough for the middle of summer but the staff and location was excellent . We loved the beach nearby it is within a 2 minute walk and just beautiful , the hotel has a lovely pool area and a great family atmosphere . The rooms need refurbishing but all in all we enjoyed our time there . This is a great place if you have children with beaches , pools attached to the hotel , the shopping and restaurants are only 2 minutes away and a great night life is there to be had .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Hotel

Address: Passeig Maritim 100 | Calle Lleida, 10, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Columbus Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the sea, on the boardwalk of Playa de Aro, one of the top tourist hubs on the Costa Brava, the Hotel Columbus offers you everything you could want for a vacation with your partner or loved ones: beach, swimming pool, sunlight, balcony over the blue Costa Brava, shopping, daytime fun for the kids, nightspots nearby, full-service restaurant in the hotel and the peace and quiet that you deserve on your vacation.The Hotel Columbus has a spectacular garden measuring almost 3,000 square metres, the home to the swimming pool, sunroom, terraces and snack bar. The hotel also has other facilities like tennis courts, ping-pong tables, billiards, a kids’ pool, monitors for kids, private parking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Columbus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Platja d Aro
Columbus Hotel Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.