We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely golf course....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club De Golf D Aro

Club De Golf D Aro
Urb. Mas Nou, s/n, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
+34 972 81 67 27
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Club Golf D'Aro - Mas Nou lies between the towns of Platja d’Aro and Santa Cristina d'Aro up in the Les Gavarres mountains at 300 m above sea level. It is one of the oldest golf courses on the Costa Brava, featuring more than a thousand olive trees together with pines and cork trees and two large artificial lakes covering 2,600 m3. Enjoy some spectacular panoramic views of the Costa Brava and have a great day’s golf right in the heart of the countryside!
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely golf course....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having played here earlier in the year brought five friends with me and they all loved the golf course, the true greens, facilities and clubhouse. Everyone we met were all very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“stunning - simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wonderful location with excellent views, but also a challenging course layout. 18 unique holes. Mostly narrow, often thrilling, sometimes up & down, but absolutely worth any effort.
Yes, this course may cost you some golf balls.
Yes, it might be quite a drive up the mountain on a narrow street.
Yes, it is constructed around a holiday resort, what might look a bit unpleasant on google maps.
Still - this is exactly what an adventurous golf cource should look like.

Normally, we use to play as many different courses as possible, but played this one three times in a week and no other course at all. Not because we stayed just around the corner (which we did), but because we already hungered for the next round when leaving the 18th green. So I can't compare this to ather golf courses of the region, but can only compare it to what I played before in about ten years of golf travveling. And this one is in my TOP 10, easily.

For an own impression, watch my images (and my comments) on
http://www.panoramio.com/user/1292224/tags/aro

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“tough but rewarding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Amazing views from all around the coarse, narrow fairways meant I found it difficult. The reward afterwards was great tapas, costillitas de corderoand (lamb chops) & wine......perfect!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great course and great staff. Welcomed from start to finish in this fantastic course. Great views and even better playing conditions. Maintained to a very high standard

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Golfing Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Splendid course, great views and nice welcoming club house. I also found arguably the best food I have had in 10 years in a place called De fabula just a stones through away. If in platja D Aro it's a must after a great morning on the course

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club De Golf D Aro also viewed

Platja d'Aro, Costa Brava
Platja d'Aro, Costa Brava
 
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Platja d'Aro, Costa Brava
 

Been to Club De Golf D Aro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club De Golf D Aro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.