We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, family type hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bell Repos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bell Repos to your Saves list
Hotel Bell Repos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Nostra Senyora del Carme, 18, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice, family type hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

It fits ideally for couples. The hotel is not far from town center but it is very quiet - you will not hear transpoort, discos and restaurant noise. 30 meters or 2 minutes from the beach. The personnel is very hospital and nice. Personal thanks to Sonia Joanals - the director - and Lidia Morera - nice girl from reception! They accept guests warmly - and you feel like staying at close close friends)

There was no swimming pool - so my mark equals to N/a

Room Tip: If you choose a room for double - be sure the bed does not consist of two smaller ones. We had the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    99
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
78
154
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I beg to disagree with the review of others as our experience in this hotel/hostel was extremely poor and really don't know how it got such a good rating. Our shower backed up during the night after a bath causing the water to poor into the tiny bedroom. My husband was down on his hands and knees soaking up the water. Too late to call the front desk.
The whole room smelled - I guess maybe this one hadn't been renovated ever.
The flushing mechanism of the toilet was by pulling a long chain, which I hadn't seen anywhere in the last 40 - 50 years. Extremely smelly and moldy.
On the positive side, breakfast was good and so was the staff. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. If it wasn't prepaid we would have turned away. Better places on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLREPOS, Gerente at Hotel Bell Repos, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Mrs Atkinson
We are sorry you were unhappy with some of the aspects of your stay with us and we feel saddened that you didn’t let us know immediately so that we might have corrected anything that was in our power to do so.
We would however like to highlight the fact that you booked a one night special offer in which you paid 23€ per person and that included in this price was a full buffet breakfast valued at 10€ along with free parking which is valued at 4€, so we consider that at only 9€ the offer was in fact a very good one.
We appreciate that you personally did not like our hotel but I would like to reiterate that if you had a problem with your shower, we have an excellent maintenance service available from 7am to midnight and they would have been able to attend to any kind of mishap in your bathroom or bedroom. We also have 24hr reception staff who would have been eager to assist you or change your room if necessary; we are immensely proud of our customer service and the fact that many of our guests repeat year after year.
Your room was one of our standard rooms with balcony and a view to our garden area and which, like all our rooms, was refurbished earlier this year.
The Bell Repos was one of the first hotels to open in Platja d’Aro in 1947… this is something that we are quite proud of and makes us stand out from the many, other modern tower block type hotels and our quaintness is precisely what our guests value about the hotel. When the bathrooms were refurbished in 2011, we expressly wanted to leave the hand basins and WCs from this period, working to perfection but originals.
To conclude, The Bell Repos is a recently refurbished 2 star hotel, with wifi, off road parking, an excellent buffet breakfast and a lovely, cosy garden area where guests can relax, read, enjoy their favourite drink by candlelight and yet only 50 metres from the beach or town centre.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and once again, we are very sorry you were unhappy with your room.
Yours sincerely,

Sonia Joanals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This 2* hotel is just two minutes from the beach and equal distance from the town centre. In spite of being almost caught in a 70's time warp, it does deserve our 4 star rating. The staff are helpful and friendly and it does seem that the bedrooms have been upgraded. Because we booked late, we did not get a very big double room. We were told that the hotel was full and that we could not change to one of the bigger rooms which had balcony's. However we soon adjusted and at least the bathroom was large. Unfortunately, a generator seems to go for most of the day and night, so you have been warned ( Room 220 ). There are only two floors but no lift. There is car parking, but it is first come first served. We always managed to find something close by. The breakfast is adequate, however as the dining room is in serious need of upgrading, it is better to use the facilities in the very pleasant garden. Guests seemed to come mainly from France, Netherlands and Belguim. Had we have had a balcony room, we would have enjoyed our stay even more. However it has to be said that the positives easily outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We've been there for one night.

Positive:
Staff and reception are very welcoming, smiling. and helpfull.
Rooms are big and clean. Beds are comfortable. The little court is cute.
Breakfast till 11 am at the peacefull terrace, where you can enjoy a large choise of magazines.
Restaurant, snack open till late
Negative:
A bit noisy, but it's ok.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend with a friend that lives in Madrid. The hotel is very cute and only a block from the beach (it used to be beachfront until new buildings were built in front of it). The staff is SO nice - especially the owner. She chatted with my friend, gave us great recommendations, and always asked how we were enjoying our stay. On the day we were checking out, she told us to stay past the check-out time and just enjoy ourselves on the beach until we had to drive to Barcelona. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The hotel itself historic building and has a lot of character. Our room was very clean and had a cute balcony overlooking the yard.

We had no problems parking in their lot, and the free wifi was great.

My only complaint is that the walls are very thin, so I could hear our neighbors having a conversation. Luckily it was pretty quiet at night (except the night Barcelona won the Champions League!), so it wasn't a real problem - just a slight lack of privacy.

Overall, I highty recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011 via mobile

On golf trip with friends. Delighted with off street parking so we could leave our gear in the car. Free wifi so we could ring home for free. Breakfast until 11 and in truth later so we could relax and staff we very friendly. 1 minute walk to main street. We intend going back to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tossa, Cataluna, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We began our month on Costa Brava at the Bell Repos Hotel, and enjoyed a fine welcome to the area. After enduring a very long journey from Los Angeles, California, we arrived tired and spent, but the proprietess took excellent care of us from the first moment. Sonia made certain we had everything we needed to make the most of our time in Platja D'Aro and, when the time came, she made travel arrangements for us so we could reach our next Costa Brava destination as effortlessly as possible. Our room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, the breakfast buffet was delicious with good variety, and the staff was courteous, efficient and friendly. When it was time for us to go, I wished I could stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bell Repos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bell Repos

Address: C/ Nostra Senyora del Carme, 18, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bell Repos 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Repos is located in the resort centre of Platja d’Aro, 1 minute's walk from the beach. A buffet breakfast, private parking and Wi-Fi are included for all rooms. Guests can use free sun shades and loungers for the beach. Towels can also be rented from the hotel. The snack bar at Hotel Bell Repos serves light meals and refreshments from 15:00 to 00:00. Guests can also use the vending machines 24 hours a day.The hotel has a terrace looking out over the gardens, which are lit up at night by candle-light. It is possible to dine out here or simply enjoy a drink. The hotel also offers discounts for local restaurants.The medieval centre of Castell d’Aro is just 2.5 km from the Bell Repos hotel. Barcelona is 1 hour away by car. The hotel offers bicycle hire and will be happy to suggest nearby cycle and hiking routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bell Repos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bell Repos Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bell Repos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.