We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A RURAL HOTEL IN BAIX EMPORDA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arcs De Monells

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arcs De Monells to your Saves list
Arcs De Monells
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vilanova, 1, 17121 Monells, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monells
Barcelona, spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A RURAL HOTEL IN BAIX EMPORDA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Arcs de Monells is a small rural hotel lost in the country located in Monells, Baix Emporda, Girona, Spain, close to La Bisbal d'Emporda and to Madremanya. I was there with my wife and two daughters for a weding close by. Too much design in the rooms make them slightly uncomfortable. The tolilet and the bidet are in a separated room (very convenient), but the wash basin and the bathtub are both in the same space as the main room which means that if you want to use any of them during the night you will need to turn on the lights while your partner is sleeping. The receptionists are kind and well informed but they seem to be a little bit overwhelmed when the hotel is full. The T.V. set was not functioning as in the rooms of other members of our party. The breakfast buffet (in our case included in the price of the room) was good both in quantity and in quality. There was plenty of fuits, catalan cold meats, cheesses, different breads and pastries but there were no eggs whatsoever. The service in the dining room was fast and efficient.The garden has a swimming pool and the hotel rents bicycles. There is an unantended parking outside the hotel. At a price of 102.- € per night per room (price negotiated directly with the hotel by the groom of the weding for a package of at least 12 rooms) when the low season had already started it was not precisely cheap. I will only recommend this hotel if you want to be in a very secluded place for a very quiet weekend.

Room Tip: The hotel offers a good value-for-money menu for 20 €
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
17
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viterbo, Italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a three nights stay on the occasion of friends' wedding and had a great time at this charming hotel. We arrived late at night and the owner had a tasty light dinner prepared for us after kitchen closing time, which was much appreciated.
Our spacious room, dedicated to Charlie Rivel, had a patio area verging on the serene and manicured garden at a corner of which a dark blue-tiled pool was harmoniously located. The bed was the widest we ever slept on.
Delicious pastries were available for breakfast, as well as different kinds of bread to eat with local tomatoes&oil or cheese&salami.
All staff members were extremely nice and helpful, housekeeping service quick and efficient. One evening, we found strawberries and chocolate waiting for us. Wifi available in the reception/bar area and in the restaurant.
Apart from all the rest, the hotel selling point is its superb location: a tiny romantic medieval village amidst Mediterranean countryside, perfect starting point for both relaxing and active holidays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Excellent family run hotel. Stayed here for 3 nights with work....the food was amazing....NIce and quite place to relax by the pool....Great large bed..huge bedroom which had patio doors leading out to the pool area...The only thing...i couldn't get the wi fi to work at all....but i think this was due to the hotel being in the middle of nowhere....Would defiantly stay at this hotel again.....Nice to stay at a family run hotel.....Great to see a part of Medieval Spain...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here one night during a less busy time of year (May). The hotel is gorgeous, with very large, new, modern rooms in an architecturally unique wing attached to a medieval building that houses the restaurant. Our room had a huge bed and lovely, glassed bathroom as well as a walk-out to a patio and lawn. The staff was so helpful and friendly, and the restaurant served wonderful meals at an affordable price. The village of Monells is a tiny hamlet of stone buildings and cobblestone streets in a gorgeous setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here as part of a cycle tour we did in Catalonia and absolutely loved the hotel and the village. The hotel is set in a medieval building which depicts the best thing about this region. The rooms were large and clean and service was excellent (it is run by a family who also live there). Our ground floor rooms had sliding rear windows which lead into the common garden area and pool – beautiful and romantic. The pool was clean (less than 5 feet at the deep end) and was good for relaxation after the ride. We also had dinner in the hotel – and these rooms were also set up well with a romantic and serene feel to the whole thing.

Maybe the only thing I didn’t like was that the beds were a bit old and were not too comfortable (especially as you move away from the centre). Because this is a medieval building with thick walls, wifi doesn’t work inside the rooms. But then you don’t need wifi in such a charming place :)

Don’t forget to take your camera and tripod out in the night to the village square – it is such a picturesque setting to watch and capture!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We travelled to Spain to take part in a ballooning trip provided by work , 18 of us stayed at the Arcs De Monells and we were very impressed indeed - even though the trip was paid for by our company I would have be more than willing to pay for the stay and service we received. From the off the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you - the food was very good (better than the restaurant in the village) - the beer was cold and the rooms were top class, my room had all the mod cons, mini bar etc and the biggest bed I have ever slept in. Overall this hotel is on that I would look to book for a personal trip with my family - if you want to take your time and chill out this hotel is for you as it is very quiet and tranquil. Top class stay and service A*

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

When presented with the opportunity to attend a special friend's birthday party in the other side of the Atlantic, we hesitated for about 3.5 seconds, and then quickly dove into the travel plans. It was literally a royal couple, our friend being the daughter of a Spanish Marquess (in fact his complete title was: and a Marquess of Tejada, Bailiff Grand Cross of Justice and Member of the Deputation of the Constantinian Order) was dating the Duke de Girona at the time, and for her 30th birthday, her boyfriend decided to celebrate a 4 day party at a medieval castle in the outskirts of Barcelona.

So in order to stay close to where the main festivities will be held, we booked a room along with many of the guests in the Hotel Arc de Monells.
This is place is nothing short of magical and spectacular, nestled in the medieval Catalonian town of Monells the building is a historical building made of stone but completely modernized inside with comfortable rooms and beautiful decor while maintaining its quaint and historical feel.

The service was always fantastic, as a matter of fact, on the night of the 18th Century ball, we were having trouble getting a cab to come out to pick us up and the concierge gracefully drove us to the castle not even accepting a tip.
Our room overlooked to roof of the new building which houses the dining area, pool and spa, a modern glass building with a lush green rooftop garden, it merges with the local scenery of green fields and beautiful forest perfectly well, without disturbing the feel of an idyllic place that you may find described in local folklore or tales.

Our life purpose is to return to Girona, an area where many professional bike riders call home because the terrain and the weather is perfect for training for the spring classics, we will come back with our bikes and definitely stay at the Arc de Monells.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcs De Monells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcs De Monells

Address: Vilanova, 1, 17121 Monells, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Monells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcs De Monells 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arcs De Monells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcs De Monells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.