We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - good location, close to the airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Martitim 294, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Castelldefels
Pecetto Torinese, Italy
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good hotel - good location, close to the airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is located very close to the seaside, rooms are spacious enough and well furnished. Lower level for the restroom, clean but old, in particular the tub. Buffet breakfast appreciable in term of quantity, less in term of variety.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    56
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
57
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at the hotel Mediterraneo twice during September - once before a cruise (1 night), and again after (2 nights). All in all, we found the hotel to be a nice, quiet, small place located away from the business of the city.

We found the front desk staff to be quite friendly, but only after a few minutes of initial gruffness. On our second stay, they seemed to remember us, and were more relaxed. We checked in early both times, and were allowed full use of the facilities (they even provided us with beach towels so we could go relax on the beautiful beach for a few hours).

We had two different rooms that were very similar to each other. Two twin beds moved together to create a king-size (but each made with separate bedding). The rooms were small, but nicely laid out, and clean. The one issue we found was the bathroom floor - always seemed to be sandy and sticky. Be careful with the ventilation system - when using the a/c, it blasts the air so hard that it bounces off the opposite wall and back on to the bed - can be very cold at night. We tried turning it off, but the room became very stuffy. Our room didn't have a balcony (we were in the Plaza), but the views of the surrounding neighbourhood and vegetation are nice. They offer free WiFi, which we found to be fast and reliable anywhere in the hotel.

The breakfast each morning is surprisingly well-stocked with a large variety of fruits, meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, eggs, bacon, juices, etc etc. Eating outdoors beside the pool and courtyard area was delightful.

The pool is well-maintained, but cold! Each time we were there, a wedding was taking place in the courtyard area, so the pool was unusable from late afternoon on.

We picked up some things at the supermarket, which is right across the street. As well, the beach is 1/2 block from the hotel entrance, and is breathtaking (soft sand, and goes on for miles). We did take the bus into Barcelona and found it to be quite convenient - one bus takes you right downtown for about 1.45 Euros.

Would we go back? Probably, but we like to try different areas, so would likely stay closer to Las Ramblas next timr. All in all, a good, small hotel. Pictures to come.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, request another building other than the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent a week here in early September, trying to avoid the city centre chaos of Barcelona or the hustle and bustle of Sitges, and could not have found a nicer place. Ok, it's not luxurious or design, but it offers modern, comfortable and more than adaequate accommodation at a reasonable price, and the location is perfect. It appeared that it is mainly a 'stop-over' hotel, helped by its proximity of Bacelona El Prat Airport - without the noise fortunately, and it is also close to the autovia to Tarragona and the Costa Daurada.

We were given a large double room with a King Size bed, there was a modern bathroom, ample wardrobe space and the room had all it needed to make ita comfotable space. The pool, albeit small-ish, was clean and well maintained, the restaurant and pool-side space doubled up as breakfast area, and the food was great. The breakfast buffet was richly stocked for everybody's taste, the choice of cereal, fresh fruit, cut meats and cheese was bigger than expected or even hoped for, and in the evening the rice and fish dishes (arroces = paella) were not to be sniffed at.

Big compliments to the staff, we felt well looked after at any time, everybody was superbly friendly and helpful in all aspects.

For a small-ish hotel like the BW Mediterraneo, located in the middle of a residential area, there was sufficient and safe parking space around and under the hotel, something one will struggle to find elsewhere. Would we go back = definitely, and we're happy to recommend the BW Mediterraneo to everybody looking for a clean and well appointed hotel along the cost south of Barcelone.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the side buidling
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This Hotel is so nice we have been back three times. It is clean, welcoming and literally two minutes walk from the beach. The rooms are nice although we have had (by choice) the same room for all our visits and a plug on the right hand side of the bed and a bedside light have never worked. Wi fi is random in rooms, but okay in the resturaunt. Try to avoid the back of the hotel if you want to read on the balcony, as the lights go off about 10 oclock. breakfast is lovely with a wide selection of food and very lovely staff. The pool is never too busy, which is good as ther are only about ten sunbeds, it is hard to get most of the sunbeds in the sun for muchof the afternoon and we had several annoying days where people placed towels on the beds for hours even though they weren't there, Overall I would recommend (and have) this hotel to anyone wanting a lovely none touristy family holiday.

Room Tip: corner rooms over looking sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in September, it was a great choice, nice quiet area of Castelldefells, 5-10 mins walk from the 'livelier' area with a good choice of bars & restaurants.
Staff helpful, room large with everything you could need,very comfy bed, good breakfast...couldn't fault it.....
Good supermarket just over the road & best of all, the amazing beach where we spent most of our time..........it was a very relaxing few days, just as we had hoped.
Would stay here anytime & will do so again.....!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

If I won the lottery would I stay here?
Yes, probably, whilst I planned where I intended to stay whilst exploring the rest of the world. In any other circumstance, absolutely 100%. The point is the Mediteranneo isn’t a dream hotel, it’s technically 3 star. But, it does what it does extremely well. It’s pleasant, clean, and provides pretty much the right balance of facilities needed to enjoy any hotel.
We stayed here for the third time this summer. The first time we stayed, we then moved on to another hotel but checked out and returned to the Mediteranneo. The second time, I enquired about a room, and they replied referring to our previous visit, and offering us the same room. This year they offered us the same room as last year if we wanted it. There’s a friendliness to the hotel that is a great attraction, whether in terms of booking and enquiries, or the pleasant attitude of staff on a daily basis. For instance at breakfast the staff are not intrusive but are friendly and jovial enough to get a laugh out of our three year old on a regular basis. To some extent that’s just Spain, as is the way the cleaning staff offer you toys that have been left in rooms by departed guests. However this sort of pleasantness is accompanied by efficient and comprehensive levels of service.
I don’t want this to sound like a back-handed compliment, but the Mediteranneo has the advantage of all the reliability and facilities of a good standard chain hotel, but the genuine pleasant and helpful service and attitude of an independent hotel.
In terms of location and facilities it’s ideal. Near the station for quick travel to Barcelona. Across the road from the beach. Large balconies for relaxing as the sun goes down (very minor criticism when they turn the balcony lights off randomly later in the evening, although that seemed to be more consistently at an appropriate time this year). Pool that is usually quiet and with plenty of sun loungers and tables and chairs. This is a relatively small hotel so the pool feels nice and private, although ideally there would be just a little bit more room around it to easily walk around and get in and out of the pool.
The restaurants in Castelldefels are close by but far enough away to keep any noise at bay. The hotel bar/cafe facilities are reasonably priced and always available, and are a quiet and tasteful environment. Across the board all the staff seem pleasant, friendly and helpful. They all seem to have been there all of the three years that we have stayed. I assume that the fact they stay working there, means they are appreciated by the management but I certainly hope so as all the staff, the cleaners, waiters, and so on are an asset to the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly, but it is only honest to point out the very few minor negatives. The shower head in our room has been attached to the wall at a slightly odd angle for the last three years without being repositioned correctly. Similarly one of the bedside spotlights has not worked for the same time. There are other bedside lights and it isn’t an inconvenience, but you would have expected it to be fixed in the space of three years. Sound insulation could be better, running water is clearly audible from rooms above for instance. It has never been a problem, but I could imagine if you did have a noisy inhabitant in a nearby room it could be an irritation. However these are criticisms that stand out because on the whole the general experience of staying at the hotel is superb.

Room Tip: just ask. very helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

After deciding on a trip to Barcelona to treat our daughter following her A levels, we thought a few days relaxing away from the city would be a good idea. We were looking for somewhere away from the rush and push of the Costas and cities and we found it. The hotel was just what we were looking for, just what we asked for. We got interconnecting rooms, both with good sized balcony. The rooms were a good size, comfortable, well equipped and kept clean and serviced. The rest of the hotel was run in the same standard, the staff were friendly and very helpful especially the head waiter and the young lady on reception. The food was good, more regional and not 'full English breakfast' with chips. The pool area was very relaxed and quiet. The location could not have been better, walk across the road to a fantastic sweep of beach which was quiet, clean and had a number of beach bars along its length. The nearby train station took us to Sitges and Tarragona. Both excellent in their own way. This was nothing like the over the top costas and was a real gem. Certainly going to go back.

Room Tip: Just ask the helpful staff what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo

Address: Passeig Martitim 294, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo Hotel Castelldefels
Best Western Castelldefels
Castelldefels Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo Castelldefels, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.