We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, good food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hostalillo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hostalillo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hostalillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellavista 22, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Tamariu
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, good food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We love this hotel situated in Tamariu on the Costa Brava coast. Spending four days here on our travels in Catalunya. Tamariu is one of our favourite tiny resorts, with good little water side restaurants, great swimming and diving and feels very intimate.

Room Tip: The top floor sea facing (where I am writing this) is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Tamariu is a an absolutely gorgeous place and so is hostalillo. The hotel is very boutique like, with great decor taste and good relaxing vibes. I feel like the price was very high for what is offered even though it is in a lovely place. Breakfast is ok, nothing too fancy about it but it will fill your belly till lunch time. the rooms are basic and could be paid a bit more attention (the wall next to the bathroom had a large black shadow). Regardless of all of this, I am very likely to return to tamariu and to hostalillo!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel rooms are distributed over the hill. You should choose the floors above, it has an incredible view.
The view of the beach is very beautiful, because Tamariu is a small beach and this restaurant has a prime location. We were unlucky with the cleanliness of our room, it did not give proper attention and left to be desired in cleanliness. The breakfast is very good, despite the headwaiter be kind of boring. To park the car in Tamariu isn't an easy task.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the front of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are just back from a couple of great nights at the Hotel Hostalillo. Ideal location overlooking a very picturesque bay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was well appointed and had a small balcony which was great for taking in the view with a cold cerveza in hand. The breakfast buffet was very good, and the dining terrace and bar have a great outlook. We dined at the restaurant one evening and were very pleased with both the service and the food - hard to understand why there were so few restaurant patrons at such a busy time of year.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Best rooms are those with a beach view terrace, preferably at the front or close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

an absolutely gorgeous place if you're looking for a rare serene place oran ancient village with tourism not having taken over completely yet. Very nice and friendly personal who will make your stay as comfortable as possible. feels like a home away from home, just perfect for a relaxing vacation with your kids or a romatic one with your loved one. Cant say enough about this place. room was not too small at all; even put another bed in for our 4 year old. Quiet and super nice breakfast buffet. Nice bar and snacks on terrace overlooking bay, perfect! This is a five star hotel if it had a pool I guess:) I rarely go back to the same place but this one I will revisit:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Sitting on the flower bedecked breakfast terrace, overlooking the harbour I was trying to work out how to stay forever.

The best laid plans would have come to nought after a couple of days though, when I ran out of clean clothes : the room is too tiny to fit in a medium sized suitcase, let alone a huge one! Comfortable and clean, with super friendly staff on reception (receptionist even took the time to chat and correct my execrable Spanish) they let us check in early so we could go on the beach. We had a room on the top floor and the terrace was almost as big as the room.

Tamariu itself is a delight, a picture perfect village around a small harbour with safe swimming from a sandy beach, spoiled when we were there by many jellyfish. Predictably, the place was overrun with Yummy Mummies and their Boden-clad offspring; many from the Uk as well as Spanish and French. This popularity and the restricted development potential of the village's location in a small, craggy cove has driven up prices and the Hotel Hostalillo is no exception. That and the size of the room is the reason for a four star rating, not five.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great location. Fantastic staff on the whole in particular a very friendly barman. We were offered secure reasonably priced parking in the hotel garage very close by, for our motorbikes. I don't understand complaints about lack of parking at the hotel given the actual location and age of the hotel! We had a comfortable room with a view of the bay. Not huge but big enough. Cocktails are fab. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but the menu prices were v reasonable and the restaurant looked lovely but a bit too formal for us. Breakfast was excellent. Only disappointed by the surly unsmiling man at reception who dealt with us at check out. No thanks or enquiry as to whether or not we had enjoyed our stay.... Which after a 2 night stay was a shame.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hostalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostalillo

Address: Bellavista 22, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hostalillo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostalillo has been completely renovated in April 2011 and it islocated in a beautiful and tranquil cove along the Costa Brava, this charming modern hotel is surrounded by pine trees and is adjacent to the beach. The Hostalillo has a bar and restaurant with panoramic views of the sea, function rooms for conferences and business meetings. Sit out on the terrace and admire views over the charming cove with its typical white houses, golden sands and the Mediterranean beyond.Make a daytrip to the fine city of Girona, just 45km from the Hostalillo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hostalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostalillo Hotel Tamariu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hostalillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.