We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hostalillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hostalillo to your Saves list
Hotel Hostalillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellavista 22, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are just back from a couple of great nights at the Hotel Hostalillo. Ideal location overlooking a very picturesque bay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was well appointed and had a small balcony which was great for taking in the view with a cold cerveza in hand. The breakfast buffet was very good, and the dining terrace and bar have a great outlook. We dined at the restaurant one evening and were very pleased with both the service and the food - hard to understand why there were so few restaurant patrons at such a busy time of year.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Best rooms are those with a beach view terrace, preferably at the front or close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    51
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

an absolutely gorgeous place if you're looking for a rare serene place oran ancient village with tourism not having taken over completely yet. Very nice and friendly personal who will make your stay as comfortable as possible. feels like a home away from home, just perfect for a relaxing vacation with your kids or a romatic one with your loved one. Cant say enough about this place. room was not too small at all; even put another bed in for our 4 year old. Quiet and super nice breakfast buffet. Nice bar and snacks on terrace overlooking bay, perfect! This is a five star hotel if it had a pool I guess:) I rarely go back to the same place but this one I will revisit:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Sitting on the flower bedecked breakfast terrace, overlooking the harbour I was trying to work out how to stay forever.

The best laid plans would have come to nought after a couple of days though, when I ran out of clean clothes : the room is too tiny to fit in a medium sized suitcase, let alone a huge one! Comfortable and clean, with super friendly staff on reception (receptionist even took the time to chat and correct my execrable Spanish) they let us check in early so we could go on the beach. We had a room on the top floor and the terrace was almost as big as the room.

Tamariu itself is a delight, a picture perfect village around a small harbour with safe swimming from a sandy beach, spoiled when we were there by many jellyfish. Predictably, the place was overrun with Yummy Mummies and their Boden-clad offspring; many from the Uk as well as Spanish and French. This popularity and the restricted development potential of the village's location in a small, craggy cove has driven up prices and the Hotel Hostalillo is no exception. That and the size of the room is the reason for a four star rating, not five.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great location. Fantastic staff on the whole in particular a very friendly barman. We were offered secure reasonably priced parking in the hotel garage very close by, for our motorbikes. I don't understand complaints about lack of parking at the hotel given the actual location and age of the hotel! We had a comfortable room with a view of the bay. Not huge but big enough. Cocktails are fab. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but the menu prices were v reasonable and the restaurant looked lovely but a bit too formal for us. Breakfast was excellent. Only disappointed by the surly unsmiling man at reception who dealt with us at check out. No thanks or enquiry as to whether or not we had enjoyed our stay.... Which after a 2 night stay was a shame.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hostalillo for three nights in May of 2013. We liked Hostalillo best comparing to other also very good hotels in which we stayed during the last trip to Catalonia. We are a well-traveled couple and we always appreciate how the staff of the hotel where we stay treats us, especially when the hosts take extra step and help us not only professionally but also personally, such as trying to accommodate our particular preferences. We had a clean and very comfortable room 605, with a beautiful and unobstructed view of the bay from the balcony. The hotel was very quiet at nights but for the sound of the Mediterranean. We made a right decision to book half-board with breakfasts and dinners. The food and service in the restaurant and in the hotel were simply wonderful. Since the weather was rather cold for what we expected at mid-May, we were not able to use the beach, which was our goal when we booked that hotel. But we got some extra time to see many beautiful places that Mr. Frigola kindly suggested. Many thanks, Mr. Frigola to you and your colleagues in the hotel and the restaurant for making our vacation so satisfying. We are already thinking of coming again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My friend and I plus wives stayed 5 nights at the beginning of the June. First impressions were not good with the Hotel entrance being down a narrow rather unkempt street with limited parking.
However once through the Hotel door things changed. Judith, the pleasant and helpful receptionist booked us in and allocated our rooms. The reception itself is spacious bright and clean, the lounge just offset from the check in desk offers a wonderful view of Tamariu bay.
Bart, the barman was attentive with a dry sense of humour and his selection of gin was excellent!
Our rooms were spacious and clean with a large and well laid out bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and we both slept well.
The balcony area was in the shadow of adjacent trees/bushes and could have done with some refurbishment. There where public steps up the side of the hotel next to our room and people walking past could see into the room as they walked up.
The brakfast was fine with a good selection of hot and cold food. We used the restaurant in the evening and found the food adequate. I had Fedua a local seafood dish and it was excellent.
The view from the terrace bar was great and there were some sunbeds available if you wanted to use them.
The hotel is not cheap but it is in quite a select resort and on that basis it is reasonable value for money. We would probably stay there again,

Room Tip: Our rooms 409/411 were down the side of the hotel and would not use them if we returned. Ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nicely appointed hotel in a beautiful situation. TV, (empty) fridge and free wifi in the room. The sea view is beautiful as is the balcony. We had a side view so weren't overlooking the town, but in many ways this is more romantic and discrete.
Breakfast is pretty standard fare for Spanish hotels, perfectly acceptable.

The only negatives are the lack of parking, though in May it was possible to find spaces in the nearby streets. Can't be sure that the same is the case in high summer.
Also for a 'romantic' weekend, the twin beds and mattresses tend to slip and slide around a bit which is sometimes funny but sometimes annoying. I had specifically asked for a double bed, but maybe the hotel doesn't have any, all the photos online are of twin rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hostalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostalillo

Address: Bellavista 22, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hostalillo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostalillo has been completely renovated in April 2011 and it islocated in a beautiful and tranquil cove along the Costa Brava, this charming modern hotel is surrounded by pine trees and is adjacent to the beach. The Hostalillo has a bar and restaurant with panoramic views of the sea, function rooms for conferences and business meetings. Sit out on the terrace and admire views over the charming cove with its typical white houses, golden sands and the Mediterranean beyond.Make a daytrip to the fine city of Girona, just 45km from the Hostalillo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hostalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostalillo Hotel Tamariu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hostalillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.