We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hostalillo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hostalillo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hostalillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellavista 22, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Tamariu
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hostalillo for three nights in May of 2013. We liked Hostalillo best comparing to other also very good hotels in which we stayed during the last trip to Catalonia. We are a well-traveled couple and we always appreciate how the staff of the hotel where we stay treats us, especially when the hosts take extra step and help us not only professionally but also personally, such as trying to accommodate our particular preferences. We had a clean and very comfortable room 605, with a beautiful and unobstructed view of the bay from the balcony. The hotel was very quiet at nights but for the sound of the Mediterranean. We made a right decision to book half-board with breakfasts and dinners. The food and service in the restaurant and in the hotel were simply wonderful. Since the weather was rather cold for what we expected at mid-May, we were not able to use the beach, which was our goal when we booked that hotel. But we got some extra time to see many beautiful places that Mr. Frigola kindly suggested. Many thanks, Mr. Frigola to you and your colleagues in the hotel and the restaurant for making our vacation so satisfying. We are already thinking of coming again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    42
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My friend and I plus wives stayed 5 nights at the beginning of the June. First impressions were not good with the Hotel entrance being down a narrow rather unkempt street with limited parking.
However once through the Hotel door things changed. Judith, the pleasant and helpful receptionist booked us in and allocated our rooms. The reception itself is spacious bright and clean, the lounge just offset from the check in desk offers a wonderful view of Tamariu bay.
Bart, the barman was attentive with a dry sense of humour and his selection of gin was excellent!
Our rooms were spacious and clean with a large and well laid out bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and we both slept well.
The balcony area was in the shadow of adjacent trees/bushes and could have done with some refurbishment. There where public steps up the side of the hotel next to our room and people walking past could see into the room as they walked up.
The brakfast was fine with a good selection of hot and cold food. We used the restaurant in the evening and found the food adequate. I had Fedua a local seafood dish and it was excellent.
The view from the terrace bar was great and there were some sunbeds available if you wanted to use them.
The hotel is not cheap but it is in quite a select resort and on that basis it is reasonable value for money. We would probably stay there again,

Room Tip: Our rooms 409/411 were down the side of the hotel and would not use them if we returned. Ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nicely appointed hotel in a beautiful situation. TV, (empty) fridge and free wifi in the room. The sea view is beautiful as is the balcony. We had a side view so weren't overlooking the town, but in many ways this is more romantic and discrete.
Breakfast is pretty standard fare for Spanish hotels, perfectly acceptable.

The only negatives are the lack of parking, though in May it was possible to find spaces in the nearby streets. Can't be sure that the same is the case in high summer.
Also for a 'romantic' weekend, the twin beds and mattresses tend to slip and slide around a bit which is sometimes funny but sometimes annoying. I had specifically asked for a double bed, but maybe the hotel doesn't have any, all the photos online are of twin rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are staying at the Hostalillo at the moment, mid April, and it is really good. Tamariu is quiet but the weather is good and the beach is uncrowded. Lots of families and Spanish visitors. The hotel is really comfortable and the breakfast is very good. Very reasonable rates and great service. Recommended.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for a sea view but have a great view from our balcony of the sea and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from Tamariu after spending 8 days at the Hotel Hostalillo. This was a perfect place to stay especially after our crazy tour of Barcelona! Yes, the hotel is quiet and this is why we chose to stay here. We particularly enjoyed the easy access from the hotel to the beach and the great coastal walks (Cami de Ronde). Breakfast on the terrace each morning was a real treat and the selection of food was good. We only ate at the hotel restaurant on the last night (I tried Cuttlefish for the first time which was very tasty!) - I wish we had chosen to eat here more often as at 20Euros for a set menu this was very good value. The staff working in the restaurant are lovely - very friendly and always smiling (and with a great of sense of humour!). Finally, the couple who manage the hotel bar are fantastic - very attentive and great company.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostalillo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hostalillo, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel Hostalillo and the days you spent with us. It's an honour to read that your experience was so pleasant, which encourages us to keep improving day after day even more. We hope you will recommend us amongst your friendes, and please visit us again soon.

With Kind Regards,
Hotel Hostalillo Tamariu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were staying for a week and we'd asked for a sea view room. But, because the hotel was busy, we were given a room overlooking the entrance (and turning place for vehicles) with no view at all. This room was a reasonable size but it had a tiny balcony which only just took a small table and two chairs. We asked to be moved and were eventually shown to another room on the top floor which still looked out over the hotel entrance but at least being higher up we could see the hills behind Timariu. The balcony was much bigger, but the room was tiny. There was just enough room to walk around the bed! We were told that had we only been staying for a few nights we could have had a sea view room. At this point we were wishing we had not booked in for a week! Breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the sea each morning and there was plenty of choice although most of the cooked food contained meat so it wasn't great for a vegetarian like me! The main part of the hotel had the feel of a retirement home with chairs set out in lines along the windows in the sitting room and on the terrace. There was no atmosphere at all. Car parking was interesting as the hotel has very little parking for its guests so spaces have to be found in the narrow and very steep streets above the hotel. You do need to be fit to stay here as everything is either up or down stairs/steps. However, the location was fantastic with great views across the little bay of Tamariu. The beach was just below the hotel and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from each evening.

Room Tip: If you can make sure you are getting a sea room before you book/pay. We booked through an agent and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostalillo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Hostalillo, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest:

Even trying to satisfy all our guests in the best possible way, it is not always to fulfil all their wishes. Of course we want our guests to stay as long as they want however in your particular case we were very busy in these dates so unfortunately we couldn’t upgrade you with a sea view room. About the rooms sizes, you could have kept the twin bedded room (larger), nevertheless you chose to move to a king size room which, that is true, is smaller (although it has a much larger terrace).

We try to offer a quite varied and balanced offer in our restaurant, even for vegetarians or vegan guests, so if only you had told us about your special requirements, we would have arranged a vegetarian menu for you.

That’s a respectable although quite disrespectful evaluation with which we disagree: our Hotel is not a “24-hour party“ place (there are other destinations for that), however our guests can enjoy a nice, calm, international atmosphere which tries to satisfy everyone without imposing anything, and of course our staff can recommend places to visit, things to do, and all sorts of leisure activities in the area. Most of our guests appreciate the calmness, comfort and relax they may enjoy at the Hostalillo.

You forget to say there is a lift which reaches all room’s floors, so the only steps you can’t avoid are the ones to reach the lower terrace and the beach (35 steps in total).

As in any Hotel in the World, you get what you book for, specially when the booking is made online with no further communication until check-in time. That is why we always recommend our guests, if they want to know more details about their rooms and so, to either contact us by phone, fax or e-mail previously to their arrival. Our aim is always to achieve the highest rate of satisfaction from our guests: that is the way we understand and feel hotel business.

Yours Faithfully,
Hotel Hostalillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 days in late August. Tamariu is a small jewel in amongst a gravel pit of over built Spanish resorts and Hotel Hostelillo occupies one of the best positions in it. Our room had a great view of the beach, a verandah and thanks to its air conditioning (which apparently isn't standard) it remained perfect at night. Also worth mentioning is a a shower (sorry, so seldom do they deliver) that was perfect in power and temperature. Great lounge that overlooks the beach and village. Breakfast was down on the patio (again.. overlooking the beach). The front reception was welcoming, friendly and attentive. Basically a really nice little hotel that I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hostalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostalillo

Address: Bellavista 22, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hostalillo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostalillo has been completely renovated in April 2011 and it islocated in a beautiful and tranquil cove along the Costa Brava, this charming modern hotel is surrounded by pine trees and is adjacent to the beach. The Hostalillo has a bar and restaurant with panoramic views of the sea, function rooms for conferences and business meetings. Sit out on the terrace and admire views over the charming cove with its typical white houses, golden sands and the Mediterranean beyond.Make a daytrip to the fine city of Girona, just 45km from the Hostalillo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hostalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostalillo Hotel Tamariu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hostalillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.