We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hostalillo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hostalillo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hostalillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellavista 22, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Tamariu
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 days in late August. Tamariu is a small jewel in amongst a gravel pit of over built Spanish resorts and Hotel Hostelillo occupies one of the best positions in it. Our room had a great view of the beach, a verandah and thanks to its air conditioning (which apparently isn't standard) it remained perfect at night. Also worth mentioning is a a shower (sorry, so seldom do they deliver) that was perfect in power and temperature. Great lounge that overlooks the beach and village. Breakfast was down on the patio (again.. overlooking the beach). The front reception was welcoming, friendly and attentive. Basically a really nice little hotel that I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    38
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Booked a family room for 3 nights at relatively short notice (booked in May for early August).

The hotel is hard to access and parking involves finding a space in one of the streets that wind up the very steep hill above the hotel. There is a small turning/stopping point just outside reception but this is almost always jammed solid.

I have been to and stayed in Tamariu many times. Our normal port of call is the much smaller Hotel Tamariu, so it was going to be interesting to compare this much larger hotel which we knew had had a refurb in 2011.

Firstly, the refurb is generally excellent. It has modernised most of the hotel in a very tasteful way.

Our room was at the back of the hotel on the first floor and overlooked the parking/stopping spot outside reception (not the 'small garden' we were told about on the booking email. The room itself was excellent. Not luxurious, but very pleasantly decorated and super-practical. The main room had two single beds pushed together to give the impression of a double, double doors to a pleasant small balcony, a decent size LCD tv, excellent wardrobe space and had an ensuite bathroom which was modern and tasteful and had a superb shower over a bath with screen. The smaller bedroom had two single beds for the two boys a sliding door (very secure) to a small balcony, plenty of wardrobe space again and an ensuite shower room with toilet. Our only slight niggle was the lack of lighting in the second bedroom but apart from that it was an excellent room.

The rest of the hotel, save the restaurant which I will come back to, is also well decorated and excellently run. The views from the front of the hotel are, as you would expect, absolutely stunning.

The big niggle was the formality of those working in the restaurant which revealed attitudes stuck in the distant past and wholly out of keeping with the hotel's 'refurbished' aesthetic presentation.

Breakfast was one of the oddest I have experienced. The selection of food and drink was excellent in a help yourself buffet style. The vast proportion of the restaurant is cordoned off, but there is the option of having breakfast out on the terrace to fully experience those magnificent views. Quite what the staff were up to I have no idea. The head waiter, dressed in formal white jacket, fussed around like he was serving at the Savoy in the 50s and the more junior staff, similarly attired, seemed rather peculiarly to march to that same rather antiquated beat.

Each night we peered into a the restaurant as we headed into town to witness the sea of empty seats. The menu was depressingly uninspiring, 3 starters, mains and deserts to choose from, and the feel of the restaurant formal and frosty. Sad that here is one of the 'best seats in the house' completely underutilised; it could and should be packed full every night. If the Hostalillo could resolve the restaurant issues, renovate the terrace outside to allow al fresco dining and/or al fresco drinks before dinner then this would be a first stop destination along this magical piece of coastline.

Room Tip: Get one with one of those stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostalillo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Hostalillo, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your positive comments about our Hotel Hostalillo.
Regarding the negative aspects, it is true your room didn’t have a great view, however the reason is we only have two similar rooms (communicating) in our Hotel, and being the higher one busy by the time you stayed, we had to assign you the lower room.

On another hand, about the restaurant we are conscious there were some aspects which needed to be solved or updated, and facing next season that is exactly what we are going to do.

It makes us very happy to read that your experience was in general terms so pleasant, and this encourages us to keep improving day after day even more.
We would like you to recommend our Hotel Hostalillo amongst your friends.

Hoping to see you back soon.

With Kind Regards,

Lluís Frigola
Deputy Manager
HOTEL HOSTALILLO *** Tamariu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed 4 days at Hostalillo, what a fantastic experience. The room wirh an amazing view on the mediterrean see, very friendly staff and the beach at few steps. We will certainly repeat. Ignore the references related to an old place, fully refurbished few years ago. Best gin tonic ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Tamariu was the highlight of our ten days in Spain and France. Hostalillo is the perfect spot-- the views are extraordinary and you walk right out of the hotel onto the beach. This little pebbled cove has aquamarine water, a fabulous trail to hike along the cliffs, good seafood. Our teenagers loved diving off the diving board suspended at the top of a rocky outcropping. The hotel has clean and cool rooms with balconies looking over the bay. The reception was friendly and helpful, the breakfast on the gorgeous terrace was good, the warm night magical as we sat out on the bar terrace and played cards. Kayaking and snorkeling and scuba diving are all available in the cove, and there is good pizza, ice cream and even a shop in town with fun, hip clothes (Viva Bombay). No night life to speak of, mainly families with young children, and unparalleled natural beauty.

Room Tip: Do not miss out on getting a sea view. So worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location, set above the beach. Rooms are lovely and very clean, the sea view from our terrace is lovely and hearing the waves from your room is so relaxing. Breakfast was good enjoyed the cava and the view again. A lovely resort and a great place to stay. My favourite was drinking cava on the terrace each evening. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

In May we hopped on a plane to Girona to spend five days in Catalonia. We had spotted this place on the internet after extensive research and didn't quite believe it when we read that the village was unspoilt. It is absolutely charming! We didn't believe that places like this still existed. We upgraded to a room with a balcony and sea view which gave us a side view of a very pretty bay. The service was excellent, everything was spotless and there were lots of public areas to sit in and a lovely lounge bar with a view of the bay. Breakfast, also with a view of the bay, was magnificent, and ruled with a rod of iron by the maitre d'. One has to admit that most of the staff were somewhat mature in years and one got the feeling that the family who own the hotel want to look after them. The bar was very expensive (didn't trouble us as we are teetotal!!!) but the bar snacks were excellent and reasonably priced. Parking could be a problem in season although we had little trouble as is was only early May. The village has lots of excellent restaurants and really buzzes at the weekends when all the Spanish eat out. We can definitely recommend both the hotel and the area for a visit. (Just keep clear of the tourist hot-spots such as L'Estartit to the north and Tossa de Mar to the South) Recommend a visit to the botanical gardens at Cap Doig and the Dali museum at Figueres. Also do visit the medieval villages in the area.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My sister was visiting us during our 6 month stay in Southern France and we took her to as many of our "favorites" that we could squeeze in in 12 days and Tamariu, Spain, was at the top of our list. We hesitate to sing its praises too loudly, as one of its charms is its absolute absence of overt commerciality - no ten story hotels, only a few restaurants (our favorite the Royal) and a small but beautiful, unspoiled beach on the Costa Brava (not easy to find!). We had booked a room for 3 persons which they had (not always easy to find that) and when we arrived the hotel was so vacant that the man who checked us in generously offered us a room with a terrace overlooking the Mediterranean. Well, we felt we had hit the jackpot! This is a really lovely little hotel - I wouldn't exactly call it luxury, but it is pretty darn close considering the value and the location is impossible to beat! The rooms were spacious, linens fine, bathroom large, breakfast excellent, impeccably clean and lots of little "nice touches" - e.g., pottery adorned shelves in the hallways with seating areas. Our only regret was that we didn't choose to stay on longer. I don't know what the price difference would have been had we actually paid for the terrace, but whatever it is it would be well worth it! Muchos gracias, Hostalillo and hasta luego!

Room Tip: Be sure and book a room with a terrace if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hostalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostalillo

Address: Bellavista 22, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hostalillo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostalillo has been completely renovated in April 2011 and it islocated in a beautiful and tranquil cove along the Costa Brava, this charming modern hotel is surrounded by pine trees and is adjacent to the beach. The Hostalillo has a bar and restaurant with panoramic views of the sea, function rooms for conferences and business meetings. Sit out on the terrace and admire views over the charming cove with its typical white houses, golden sands and the Mediterranean beyond.Make a daytrip to the fine city of Girona, just 45km from the Hostalillo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hostalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostalillo Hotel Tamariu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hostalillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.