We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhhh! dont't tell anyone! Perfect location, perfect village, no high rise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamariu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Tamariu to your Saves list
Hotel Tamariu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/Passeig del Mar, 2, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shhhh! dont't tell anyone! Perfect location, perfect village, no high rise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were looking for a small coastal town on the Costa Brava that was beautiful and tranquil and found Tamariu in the last weeks of its season. It probably is a busier town full season but there are no tacky tourist shops, dress stores and even the supermarket was closed for the season - not a problem as the Hotel Tamariu had everything we needed ( except a fridge in the room) and they happily supplied an electric jug upon request. Our room had a great view and good sized balcony The hotel is family run and the brother and sister team there for us spoke many languages between them and considering how incredibly busy they were managing restaurant, hotel and bar, there was always a smile and and the sense they would meet any request if they could.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    55
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
101
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent four days here enjoying the October sunshine. The family and staff were always friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and the balcony with sea view lovely. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and we enjoyed several good meals in the restaurant. We love the bay of Tamariu and were content to swim and walk the coastal path. However there is plenty to do and see if you prefer to go out and about. The scenery is stunning and at this time of the year nowhere is too busy. We are so pleased to have found this hotel and plan to be regular visitors .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prades, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We live a couple of hours away from here near the Spanish border and manage to visit twice a year at least. Consistently excellent, the family are always charming & welcoming, the food is of the highest standard and the small bay of Tamariu a haven of peace & tranquillity

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minehead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Peter K. Minehead
I am tempted to write an adverse report about this hotel and its location so that we can keep its endless delights to ourselves. But I must be fair. The wonderful experiences we enjoyed on our holiday in Tamariu at this hotel on our first visit have never dimished. Think of everything that you consider a perfect holday should comprise then Tamariu and this hotel combine to provide it.

In particular the food, the staff and the welcome from the owners are second to none. We shed a tear every time we depart.

.

Room Tip: Sorry.this is a secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Pros: Friendly staff, good service, great location, superb balcony view, very beautiful surroundings, hearty breakfasts
Cons: Average restaurant, little to do for kids, squeaky room doors, no fridge in the rooms

Room Tip: If possible pick a sea front room at the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fluelen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We found Tamariú as charrming as ever before since 45 years ago. And at this hotel we had a lovely stay thanks to the friendliness of the owners and of their staff: Excellent value for price!
U.Kull, Switzerland

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our first visit to the Hotel Tamariu and to the Costa Brava. The hotel was lovely, the staff friendly and efficient. I don't think you could beat the location. Breakfasts were very good -you can boil your own eggs to your preference and there is an excellent selection of meats, cheese, fruit and pastries. The bread rolls were particularly good. We ate in the hotel most evenings, choosing from the fixed menu which changed every day and was very good value.

Room Tip: We had a side room with a balcony with sea view. I'm sure a room at the front would be even nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tamariu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamariu

Address: c/Passeig del Mar, 2, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamariu 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tamariu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamariu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.