We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Beautiful Beach Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamariu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tamariu to your Saves list
Hotel Tamariu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/Passeig del Mar, 2, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value in Beautiful Beach Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

First, Tamariu (the town) is a fantastic, beautifully situated, small beach town on the Costa Brava. If you prefer sleepy beach towns to large resorts, think about Tamariu. The Hotel Tamariu is perfectly situated next to the small crescent beach. We are a family of 6 (all 4 'children' in their 20s) and stayed in the "Yellow" apartment. The space was good, and all was functional. -- expect the basics, nothing fancy. My only complaint is that the pillows were not very comfortable. The staff of the hotel are very attentive and helpful. At their prices, I give a strong recommendation for Hotel Tamariu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_Burkland_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
mjcon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We only ate at the restaurant so we can't comment about the accommodation at the hotel. The restaurant is very smart - perhaps a bit quiet - and the service is good. We had some slightly more unusual fish dishes, nice puddings and decent bottle of wine. The bill was surprisingly low too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lluispellicer, Propietario at Hotel Tamariu, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your words about the restaurant. Next time you come we will be very pleased to show our rooms and inform you about them, like this you may stay with us in your next visit to our zone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Well, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel - not too big, very friendly and helpful owners and staff, good breakfasts and delicious dinners - menu del dia is excellent and great value with wine included.

The location is wonderful - almost on the beach. Room 209 has balconies in two directions so good for morning and evening sun.

The village is lovely - quiet in May but probably not in August. There are plenty of restaurants and a few shops. Good walks, especially round the coast to LLafranch and beyond.

The area is gorgeous - relatively unspoilt with lots of pretty villages nearby, unspoilt beaches, the Dali museum in Figueres etc.

Room Tip: Sea- facing rooms are special - 209 has two balconies and sunbeds .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lluispellicer, Propietario at Hotel Tamariu, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much Maggie. We celebrate that you enjoyed the staying in Tamariu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Tamariu on many occasions now and it never fails to please. The family - Luiz, Anna, Susan and their parents - make us feel so welcome. This time we bought our whole family with us and used two of the hotel apartments as well as a hotel room. The weather was not great but we still had a wonderful time. Our room overlooked the bay with a good sized balcony and, as always, was spotlessly clean. I just love waking up in the morning and seeing the beach and the sea right outside the window. The children wandered in and out of the hotel from the apartment and were welcomed with big smiles and "Ola" by everyone. We will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea out of preference but if you have a side street room, you will cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lluispellicer, Propietario at Hotel Tamariu, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We've been very happy to see all the family together in Tamariu! Thank you very much for being so nice, don't change. Susan, Anna & Lluís
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garderen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fantastic beautiful family Hotel.
Very nice people, very good service.
Diner is very very good!!
I had a room with a big balcony and 2 beautiful sunbeds.
A little adives: a little fridge and a cooker in de room wood be nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gerda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lluispellicer, Propietario at Hotel Tamariu, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello! We take note of your desires, thank you very much to let us know, we appreciate a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Love this place. One of the most cosy and beautiful villages in the northeast of Spain. Hotel Tamariu is very well located and almost touches the beach. Comfortable rooms, great breakfast and lovely owners and staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JosBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lluispellicer, Propietario at Hotel Tamariu, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks a lot for these words. We like to know that you have enjoyed the staying in our small hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prades, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been coming here for several years now and the standard has always been of the highest.
The 4th generation family business is managed by Susan, Anna & Lluis and their lovely parents still help out from time to time. All the family and staff are wonderful and they always welcome you back with warm smiles.
If you are looking for a peaceful, friendly, comfortable hotel with excellent food right in front of the sea, you would be hard pushed to find its equal in the area.

Room Tip: Use the floor plan on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank vieuxrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lluispellicer, Propietario at Hotel Tamariu, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you very much, we apreciate your words a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamariu
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hostalillo
Hotel Hostalillo
#2 of 4 in Tamariu
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 7 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#8 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel la caleta de Tamariu
1.2 mi away
Parador de Aiguablava
2.5 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamariu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamariu

Address: c/Passeig del Mar, 2, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamariu 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tamariu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing