We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for 16 nights in July 2010” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castilla Vieja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castilla Vieja to your Saves list
Hotel Castilla Vieja
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Casado del Alisal 26, 34001 Palencia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Palencia
Krumbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stayed here for 16 nights in July 2010”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here with two colleagues because it is close to the town center and not too far from the place we were working after reading the reviews on this site, which were very helpful.The hotel itself is in a good location and clean, the rooms we had at first were rather small but after speaking with the staff we were moved into bigger rooms at the same price.The staff was very helpful although very restricted in the English language. All in all a very pleasant stay in a town although quiet Palencia is well worth a short visit.

Room Tip: A room away from the main road is advisable as it can be noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    22
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
29
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here overnight when driving down to the Algarve from Santander. We chose Palencia for an overnight stop as we didn’t want to drive off the ferry and be faced with a long car journey before reaching our accommodation for the night.

The hotel is situated in the town centre and easy to find. There is some limited on street parking directly outside. In addition guests can use the hotel secure underground car park for charge. This cannot be booked in advance, but when we booked we asked for a space if available.

On arrival we parked outside while we registered, then moved the car into the car park. The reception staff who all spoke some English were very helpful. They were aware I wanted to use their secure car park and a space had been held open for us. Access to this car park is through an access control gate requiring a member of staff to accompany you down each time you want to access or use your car. So in effect you get an escorted service which might be welcome to some guests.

Our room was spacious, exceptionally clean, well-appointed and had an enormous bathroom. It had air conditioning and internet access. In the corridor outside there was a refrigerator with stocked with bottles of water provided free of charge for guests.

Later we had an evening meal in hotel bar. We actually wanted to eat in the hotel restaurant but were told it was closed for a private function. From the bar area you can see the stairs leading to the open plan upstairs restaurant and it seemed strange that there was no evidence of any one actually attending this private function or that it was actually taking place.

We were given the restaurant menu and charged the restaurant prices. The actual quality of the food was only fair which was disappointing. The service which started off rather offhand deteriorated further when we declined to order wine. This meal was not a good experience and I would recommend eating out in the evening if possible.

The following morning we had the inclusive breakfast in the restaurant. This consisted of fresh orange juice and a buffet offering a range of hot and cold food. In contrast with our experience the previous night the quality was excellent.

We thought the hotel provided really high standard accomodation at a reasonable price. Just don't bother with an evening meal there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silves, Portugal
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights to break up a long drive across Spain. Chose Palencia because a friend suggested it and it is a reasonabe drive on to the ferry port.
A nice, reasonably comforable city hotel, excellent location for seeing all the sites in town and very easy to get to from the motorway and even easier to get out again when leaving.
Staff were all very helpfull, though most have very limited English, we speak no Spanish bit had no problems even so. Had a meal the first evening in the hotel bar because we arrived rather late and the restaurant had already closed. Service was good and so was the food at a sensible price. Hotel was all very clean and no problems with it. The room was perhaps a little small, but for just 2 nights this was not a problem. It was clean and the beds comfortable. No mini-bar or safe though.
Will happily stay here again next time we need to stay over in this part of Spain.
The city of Palencia is worth a visit in it's own right, but probably not more than a couple of days. If you have time visit the archeological museum, very well done (all signs etc. in Spanish only) and free to pensioners, students etc, and very reasonable for anyone else.

Room Tip: Sorry, cant help here. Did not see any of the other rooms. We were given a room at the back overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castilla Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castilla Vieja

Address: Avenida Casado del Alisal 26, 34001 Palencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Palencia > Palencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Palencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castilla Vieja 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Palencia's historic town, close to the cathedral and the city’s main square, this hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen satellite TV and a private bathroom.After a day’s work or sightseeing, relax with a drink in the hotel’s traditional Spanish cafe. You can also choose between 2 on-site restaurants offering delicious authentic specialities from Castile and the rest of Spain.As a guest of the Castilla Vieja you can make free use of the gym located 20 metres from the hotel. Private parking is available on site at the Castilla Vieja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Castilla Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castilla Vieja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.