We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Almacen de la Sal - CLOSED

Almacen de la Sal
Avenida Maritima, 87, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
+34 928517885
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I ordered Spaghetti Carbonara which is a dish not only can I cook extremely well but I love it. the dish that came was not nice at all, it was served with a knife and fork really, although I don't need the spoon to eat spaghetti I only had 2 forks full and could eat no more the waiter didn't even ask if anything was wrong or why I hadn't eaten my food just took the plate away and we paid our bill and left, not good service or practice at all

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    36
    10
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

2nd visit in a few years and wasn't disappointed. One of the more upmarket restaurants on the Playa Blanca prom and a good venue for dinner with usual range of meat and seafood dishes well cooked and served in a pleasant atmosphere. Would have given it 5 if I hadn't found my cod main slightly over salted but that's more about personal taste than a criticism of the food. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. The waiters were funny, helpful and professional in their roles. We both had steak which was very well cooked. My husband had the starter of Txistorras (hope I got that right!) which was a fried egg atop a potato stack with a chorizo sausage, was delicious! One thing I would say is that portions are Large! I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, welcoming staff, family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just spent over a week in Lanzarote and ate at Almacen de la sal every day. The food was lovely. They do the standard tourist snack dishes, which are perfectly acceptable. If you like seafood, however, you should try the full menu and special dishes, as these are far better. The seafood paella is particularly good, as are the clams on the 'specials board'. We tended to eat there for lunch, which was not too crowded. However, we also went for an evening meal, which was lovely. The waiters are very friendly and helpful and great with kids. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. We would recommend ths restaurant highly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memories are not made of this!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Visited Almacen de la Sal with high expectations after being here previously last year a couple of times. Meal started well with a good starter but sadly the mains were not good. We both had fillet steak both said to be medium but both were dry and over cooked served with inedible vegetables and potatoes. The biggest issue was service where we were basically ignored for long periods of time and have yet to see the sweet menu. It then took ages to get the bill and found it very expensive including it seems being charged for a couple of bread rolls which we were never offered although everyone-else had them. Not a big item on the bill but seemed strange.
The lasting memory is one of a restaurant that could not be bothered about us as customers. A shame as we had enjoyed it previously.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almacen de la Sal also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almacen de la Sal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.