We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD BUT NOT FANCY.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THB Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added THB Royal to your Saves list
THB Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GOOD BUT NOT FANCY.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Well here we go again another hotel to review, we travel a few times a year on A1 holidays in the sun, so i will give our opinion of this 3 star hotel, we are both 53 and our review will be how we saw things:

The trip to from the airport is quite long over an hour but you do get to see some of the sites on lanzarote (theres not to much to see) so maybe get a taxi.

When you get to the hotel its down a small street off the main road, so not to much around it nice views of the mountains from the front, the entrance is a little dull and the staff there are workman like, getting to you room can be fun if you are upstairs or arrive very late.

Next the room its self well its not the ritz but it has a small living area with a tiny kitchen we did not use it much but its handy to have a fridge, there is a working bathroom not to small and planty of towels, the bedroom was good for us very large wardrobe, and plenty of space good blackout curtains as well, the great thing about our room (657) was it had a goos size balcony with 2 sun beds and a table and chairs (yes there are well worn we all knowthat now) but they do the job and the sun shines for about 5 hours onto the balcony grewat for getting a tan, the tv is ok no need for the remote and you can get 2 english channels sky internations and one other.

The location is one thing we enjoyed a good 10 min walk to the sea front but well worth the walk great shops and a nice market at the marina also some great food try the facy ice creams, Playa blanca is ok but not a great deal to do other than shop, but we did take a ferry to furventura for about 21euros each, but do watch out for the boys in the booths they will hassel you all day we used the guy at the end of the docks and ask for a good price, also check what time you want to come back as some do not come back that oftern.

The beaches are not very good in the area so the one at playa blanca does get busy, you can see one or 2 others but they can not be reached by foot unless you are half mountain goat, you have to get a water taxi, there are a lot of places to eat and a few good bars in the evening along the front, we found it very clean and safe walking back to the hotel very late.

The food we found ok lots to choise from not to much change the odd fresh fish lots of chips, salad, goat, pork, chicken, just what you would execpt from a 3 star A1, you could help yourself to drinks but no coffee with you meals only at breakfast.

The bar areas we found not busy at all got a drink straight a way and yes the cocktails are rubbish, but we found the beer, whisky and rum fine, the barmen will have alaught with them if you chat to them and thay will remember your drink, you can take you drinks back to you rooms in plastic cups even the coffee.

Overall we had a great holiday in a hotel that suited us it was not load at night and the bar shut at 12.00 but you could get a drink till late in town if thats what you wanted, we met some interesting people and enjoyed lanzarote and the great weather, so would i go back yes, if i was a teenager no, we were also a bit upset with the number of school children there "school holidays what school holidays".

Room Tip: go upstairs and get some sun beds on your baclony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for commenting that you will return during a future holiday break.

We take note of the list of things that you did not like during your stay, while at the same time thank you for mentioning the points that you did like.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    125
    69
    15
    9
See reviews for
92
129
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have two small kids and also traveled with another friend and her little boy. We asked for rooms close together before arriving via email and received a positive reply back. However, our rooms were not close together and not even on the same floor. In the morning we asked for our friend with her little boy to be moved to EMPTY room next to ours but were told we can either move upstairs next door to her or nothing... Very rude in my opinion. We were told the room next to us was already reserved, which was a lie, as the room was in our name the night before for some reason and it stayed empty throughout our stay. The reception staff knew our friend is on her own and she would benefit from being closer to us.
Rooms were dated and all our clothes smelled of damp after few days. Housekeepers were doing their best, very hard working, the rooms were clean and beds were comfy. There are cockroaches in rooms and around the pool area, be aware. The kids loved watching them :) No nets on the windows so be careful about mosquitoes!
Breakfast, lunch and dinner was always very nice, always a lot to choose from and all seemed fresh. No coffee with lunch which was annoying as you had to go upstairs to the bar to get a coffee after lunch but couldn't really sit there as they had only about 30 seats outside and 200 rooms in the hotel... Juices horrible, unsuitable for kids (additives). Afternoon snack always the same - white bread sandwich with ham and cheese- no worth getting it. No bar by the pool, drinks mixed in cocktail machine - also horrible. Gin and tonic the only drink with some taste to it :)
Staff in general not very nice, especially male reception staff who was unhelpful from day one and quite rude whenever we asked for help or advice. We were not even asked how our stay was on departure, nothing, just WHERE IS THE KEY?

The hotel pool area was nice, not too big, always clean but sun beds need replacing as most of them are broken and no tables available to use. Lifeguard always around, trying his best and very polite, cleaning the kids pool all the time :) Pool bar could be open as it can be a hassle going to the main bar and back all the time - and you have to get dressed to enter the bar. Hotel was conveniently located near the town and the beach and Martha (animation) was the hardest working person there who kept our kids happy every evening at mini disco. The only disappointment were some members of staff really, not making us feel very welcome at all... We got a great deal but would probably not return...

Room Tip: Downstairs neat the back kids pool great if traveling with kids, upstairs rooms seem to get more fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for commenting that you will return during a future holiday break.

We take note of the list of things that you did not like during your stay, while at the same time thank you for mentioning the points that you did like.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have just returned from THB Sun Royal after an AI weeks holiday. I can't believe some of the reports about this hotel as my family and I were completely satisfied.

Upon arrival at 01.00am we checked in and were provided with a small hamper of food which was a nice gesture. Then we found our room with no problem, they are clearly signposted and the receptionist gave us clear directions. It doesnt take a genius to follow the map and signs!

Our room was suitable for us, clean and we were pleased to have a bath as well as shower. We had 2 balconies and queen beds with a wall to wall mirrored wardrobe. We had a small fridge and basic equipment in the kitchen. To be honest we only used the cups for drinks as everything else was obtained at the restaurant and bar. The room could do with a lick of paint and the bathroom light was broken but they aren't major problems.

The restaurant offered a wide range of food which was always lovely. The best selection of food i have experience at an AI hotel. Hot food, cold food, salad, fruit, cakes etc. Something for everyone, i can't see how anyone could complain. Burgers and pizza also available at Cafe. Waiters are friendly and super quick at clearing plates away etc.

Mini disco for the kids and then followed by entertainment which we attended a couple of times. Nice area to sit and enjoy other people in the evenings and kids have room to run about and play.

Kids area as well where they can draw, face painting, sand pits etc. Was hit and miss when this was open but they had fun and it also got them out of the sun for a while.

Walk to the beach took about 10 minutes but well worth it, beautiful beach and shops, supermarket on the way. Market at the marina on Saturdays and Wednesdays. This was about a 20 min walk along the sea front. Some nice items such as jewellery, leather and ornaments.

Staff were all friendly and helpful with any questions etc.

The only real suggestion i have for improvements would be too invest in some new sunbeds. The current ones have seen better days but still did the trick!

Would definately go back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest:
First of all we want to thank you for choosing THB Royal to enjoy your holidays, and for sharing your holiday experience with all of us,

Thank you for all your comments about food and clealiness, and also for your opinion about the stafff, the whole team is always trying to do their best to reach guest´s expectations. We are really proud of them. It is a pleasue for us that you will recommend us

All THB Royal team takes this opportunity to greet you cordially, looking forward to seeing you again soon. We will be deligthed to attend you again and to offer you another relaxig,peacefull and quietness holiday experience,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, Cambs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My partner and I are seasoned travellers and the aim of this review is purely to provide constructive criticism, where applicable and to aid the readers in making calculated decisions/corrections. We are over 50s and travelled as a couple to the THB Royal in Lanzarote, our stay was 5-12 June 2014 and we booked All Inclusive.

We booked our 1-week holiday at short notice through Icelolly.com and during the process, we were informed that the available All Inclusive holiday had become available due to a cancellation and that the booking included an upgraded room - we accepted and paid. Our flight from Stansted was with Thomson Holidays and apart from AC problems on the aircraft, the flight passed without incident.

On arrival at Lanzarote we expected to find a driver waiting for us as we had paid for a private transfer through A2Btransfers.com but instead we were told to wait in the arrival hall and our driver would arrive. After approx 15 minutes we approached the A2B desk again to be informed that the driver would not be coming into the terminal but that we had to take a 10 minute walk to lane No 50 where we would find the driver.

On arrival at the THB Royal at 14.00hrs, the reception was busy and only manned by one member of staff, we checked in but were told to wait 30 minutes because the apartment wasn’t ready, we decided to eat lunch while the apartment was made ready. Unfortunately, we were informed that all apartments were identical and that there were no “upgraded” rooms. We were able to leave our luggage in a “secure room” but the key was available for anyone to take from the end of the reception desk. I feel that the key should have been kept behind reception and only provided to guests who required authorised access.

We were allocated an apartment, which had a Western facing balcony, and this provided sunshine all afternoon and into the early evening. The apartment was fairly difficult to locate and we had to obtain assistance from other guests. Our apartment also had twin beds, this too was disappointing as we had asked for a double. The apartment had had its fair share of wear and tear and was badly in need of refurbishment, the R/H patio door curtain was also not fully attached to the rail and the Hairdryer in the Bathroom had been bodge taped to prevent it falling apart. The beds were fairly comfortable. The room was cleaned every day apart from Wed & Sun. It would have been nice to have had some tea, coffee and sugar in the room but none were provided, we bought some at the shop located in the hotel grounds. The room had a dated TV with 2 English speaking channels (Sky News & USA shows), the TV remote required a €10 deposit from reception and the AC remote was €20. The room also had a safe but this had to be rented at a cost unknown to me. Pool towels were not provided at the hotel and if you decide to stay here then please take your own.

The AI restaurant food tended to have a repetitive food selection but it was OK, the coffee machines in the restaurant were only available at Breakfast and not ideal if you wished to have a beverage with Lunch or Dinner. The tables were set to a very basic standard and included Knife and Fork, Salt & Pepper sometimes could be found on other tables. The restaurant AI service drinks included Red & White wine, Sangria, beer and a range of soft beverages such as sprite and coke. The quality of the wine was somewhat suspect.

Evening entertainment was pretty good for kids but seemed lacking for adults and we spent several nights in Playa Blanca resort where we found a decent social gathering.
Playa Blanca is a good 10-minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel Café Bar, which is the only other facility where drink could be obtained outside restaurant hours was average, the cocktails were dispensed from a machine but the beer was OK. On some early evenings and afternoons there were insufficient tables and chairs on the Veranda outside the Café Bar.

There are 4 swimming pools at the hotel (2 large/2 small) and although the water seemed pretty cold initially it was clean and Ok once immersed. There is no ‘pool bar’ and drinks had to be obtained from the Café Bar. Some of the sun loungers, we found, were in dire need of replacement.

In hindsight, we would not have booked this hotel due to the amount of children around the complex and the obvious issues you would normally expect with young children. The issues mentioned in my review above are written genuinely and in good faith, my summary of this 3 star hotel is that it is a budget hotel with a capital ‘B’. The hotel management could easily rectify many of the issues and I sincerely hope they are open to ‘change’ and make the facility the excellent hotel that it could be.

Room Tip: Select a western facing room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choose the THB Royal for your holidays. Your comments will help us to improve our client service. All our staff works hard every day for offer our guests a great stay

We take note of the list of things that you did not like during your stay, while at the same time thank you for mentioning the points that you did like.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks hol here with our 6 yr old daughter and loved every minute. The apartment was lovely and very clean with two balconies over looking the pool, our maid came in every day to clean and change the towels. The food was fantastic- lots of choice and cooked to perfection. The beach is literally down the road which is a lovely stroll after a mighty meal! Everywhere is spotless and the staff are very helpful. The only fault is the evening entertainment which is poor but across the road is a thb hotel you can use any time though it is bigger and busier the evenings are great for adults and children.We enjoyed their facilities but also enjoyed the more peaceful environment of the Sun Royal when it suited us.This is a great place to stay despite the moaners reviews but some people just can't be pleased! For a budget holiday it is fab and we would definitely go back again. A big thanks to Marta who worked really hard. Thank you Sun Royal for a brilliant holiday!!!

Room Tip: First or second floor room over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Vicky S,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us. Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Visited sun royal which was booked through sun master in June this was marked up at 4 star, on site and also room booked apparently was gone so told was upgraded for small charge too bungalow with a garden view, no garden view no bungalow, there was very cold pools so never used, other than once. food was awful, cold and no taste. Room had no tea coffee sugar or milk other than appliances you had too move too a plug if you wanted too use them. Kitchen needs too be planned out better. Entertainment staff was very cheerful and pleasant. Worst all inclusive holiday ever very disappointed however playa blanca is a beautiful place too visit

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valerie B,

We regret to hear that you had a bad experience with us.

We could have talked during your stay to try to solve your incoveniences: we are very sorry, but we inform that our official category is three stars.

We remain at your disposal for any thing you may need.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We are two middle-aged couples and stayed at the THB Royal in May 2014. We regularly stay in THB hotels and have found them very satisfactory. We stayed for 10 days All Inclusive and the holiday was excellent value for money. Our apartments were very good and the bedrooms were a really good size and had mirrored wardrobes with lots of storage space. We had a TV with a couple of English speaking channels. The kitchen area had a good supply of crockery etc and the utensil drawer had scissors, bottle opener and some sharp knives - not the usual contents! As we were AI we didn't need them but I was definitely impressed! The cleaners were in almost every day and changed the towels, made beds and washed the floors and the balcony. Beds were changed 3 times in 10 days. Hotel areas, pool areas and dining room and bar were spotlessly clean and the pool cleaned every morning. There was no problem getting sun loungers. The staff were very helpful at all times and very friendly. We were given two ground floor apartments when we arrived and asked if we could move upstairs. The reception staff gave us two other keys and sent us to see if the upstairs apartments were suitable. We were delighted and we got moved with no bother. The dining room was very well organised - buffet style - and the food at breakfast, lunch & dinner were always hot and regularly replenished. We had pork quite often served in different ways, chicken, lamb, veal, beef, and twice we had rabbit and goat. There was always at least one type of fish, sometimes more. There was soup and pasta at both meals and a wide selection of fresh salads. There was always a cooked breakfast although the bacon and sausages are not what we are used to - but it's Spain!! There were always plenty of cold meats, eggs, fruit, choice of cereals, yogurts and plenty rolls and bread with a very efficient toaster!! They also have all the usual jams and honey etc. The only part of lunch & dinner I wasn't keen on was the desserts - namely the cakes!! However there was always fresh fruit, jelly and ice cream. I you are All Inclusive you can help yourselves to unlimited choice of wines, beer and soft drinks with lunch & dinner. The pina colada cocktails from the bar are to die for esp. with a little extra rum!! All in all we had a fabulous holiday with no complaints.
Have to give a special mention to Marta of the Animation Team. She is lovely & does a great job, organising bingo most nights - it's a riot!! Some of the evening entertainment was excellent especially the illusionist and magician! We will definitely go back to this hotel and we really liked Playa Blanca.

Room Tip: We much preferred our upstairs rooms and would ask for this next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar S, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for mentioning that you will stay again in the Hotel THB Royal. We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to write a positive review about your stay.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THB Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Royal

Address: C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel THB Royal is located in the south of Lanzarote, in the village of Playa Blanca.This quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza has preserved its characteristics apart from tourism development.This large complex consists of two floors and a total of 200 rooms. The hotel offers guests 2 swimming areas with solarium. Nearby are some of the most beautiful tourist attractions in Lanzarote: The Coast of Papagayo, El Golfo… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your THB Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Royal Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Sun Royal Apartments Playa Blanca
THB Royal Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THB Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.