We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Royal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THB Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added THB Royal to your Saves list
THB Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sun Royal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I used to use Sun Park next door but due to its changeover to long stay clients we decided to use Sun Royal as it's very similar in design.
We have no complaints whatsoever. The apartments are the same as Sun Park so we knew what we were getting.
The staff were very polite and helpful and a couple of minor faults were corrected within an hour of notifying reception.
We were accommodation only so I can't comment on the restaurant side of things but British folk I spoke to seemed happy with the food and service although they did comment that maybe a little more imagination regarding British tastes could have been used but they did'nt complain.
The apartments were adequate for what we need.
The only downside for us is the fact that my wife is disabled and wheelchair bound and this was where we found the difference between Sun Park and Sun Royal.
The lift in Sun Park is inside reception whereas in Sun Royal it's outside against the pool and we had to go up and down steps which is'nt easy for the disabled.
Still, I've got my eye on the apartment I want next time which does'nt involve climbing steps, that obviously means I'll go back to Sun Royal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    132
    70
    15
    9
See reviews for
96
134
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

just come back from an all inclusive 1 week stay at this hotel.good experience as i am very fussy.clean rooms comfortable beds food varied everyday and something for everyone. staff very pleasant and so hard working except for a lady on reception .couldnt fault the hotel .the only problem for me the entertainment on night time was very lacking especially as places to drink were 20 min walk away. overall good hotel would go back again.

Room Tip: second floor with balconys seem the best around the back pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

On our first impression the apartments were very outdated with old damaged furniture, but were quite big and spacious.
The restaurant served mainly Spanish dishes due to the high number of Spanish guest which is understandable,lots of fish dishes, rabbit stew, and goat curry.but there was a good selection of Salads and other foods you could always manage to find something.
we was all-inclusive but when you were round the pool u had to walk or take the lift to the (bus station)like bar to get a drink because there was no pool bar available.But there was never any queues to get a drink and basically you could have the bar to yourself.Bar staff were great and would make up a cocktail for you as they went along.
The pools like other people have said were stone cold and it was not comfortable to swim in unless you wanted pneumonia,and this is June but I think this is a Lanzarote thing with the night time temp dropping so quick after the sun goes down.
Overall for the money it's not too bad and for the price of this hotel you really can't expect anymore.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just got back, very good selection of food, staff very helpfull, room spacious and 2 balconys, choice of drinks, and if not liking one food there is always another choice, entertainment ok. Good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Thank you Sun Royal we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were fantastic so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was slightly dated but very clean - the maid seemed to come into our apartment everyday to either clean up and make beds or change bed linen or replace the towels. There was plenty of hot water so i could relax in a full bath (one of the things i like to do on holiday) if i wanted. The food was ok and we always found something nice to eat - i really enjoyed the salads and fresh fish but for the price we paid we were very satisfied. The tall dark haired bar man was fantastic and served tequila sunrises for us but on the down side he was the only one who knew how to serve them, so when he finished at 9ish we were left without the cocktail facility. Playa Blanca as always was fantastic clean and well kept - the beaches are fantastic especially Papagaya Beaches.

Room Tip: Dont bother using up your luggage allowance on beach towels as the hotel provides them for just a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited in early June 2013, booked 10 nights all inclusive and 4 adults travelled. Arrived at 10.00 pm so just missed the restaurant but there was a lunch box waiting for each of us with a sandwich,fruit and a drink, much appreciated. We were allocated 2 rooms which were very spacious, we had a double room with a sitting room, kitchenette and bathroom (the settee doubled up with 2 extra single beds but there were only 2 of us in each room). The kitchenette was small with a microwave/oven, kettle, toaster, 2 electric hobs and a coffee maker. Very limited cooking facilities but we were all inclusive. The room was dated but clean and was cleaned every day except Wednesdays and Sundays. Towels changed 3 times each week.
The gardens and pool were maintained well and everywhere was clean. We never had any problems getting sunbeds but it was early June. We hired a car through reception as the cost was similar to car hire in the town. Everyone on reception was very helpful, in fact the staff all through the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located in the resort. It is in a quiet area but only 10 minutes from the beach and is located centrally between the marina and the port. The food was very good, it's not 5 star but always enough choice and edible. Breakfast always had fruit (tinned), yoghurts, cereals, continental meats and cheese, cooked bacon, eggs and tea or coffee (I did not like the coffee but maybe my taste). Lunch and dinner always had chose of salads, meats and fish. I do not like fish but always managed to find enough to eat from the choice offered. The wines and lager were quite drinkable.
The only thing that I was not completely happy about was the entertainment. Lanzarote is a very windy island which meant that it was too cold to sit outside in the evening. The children's disco and all entertainment was held inside in a room and the noise echoed around which meant that it was all very, very loud.The entertainment was very mediocre, bingo, quiz, parrot show, magician, etc. We ended sitting in the cafeteria most nights which is just outside the entertainment room and this room was also noisy as the coffee machine was very loud and the sound again echoed round. We went to the sister hotel, Sun Tropical, which is 5 minutes away and the entertainment seemed better. We were advised that we could use all the facilities but that we would have to pay for our drinks, not happy about this as we had paid all inclusive.
Overall, a good value hotel for the price. Clean, good mixture of nationalities, food perfectly acceptable and friendly staff, If you are all inclusive, do not rely on the entertainment .

Room Tip: we were in rooms 1053 &1054
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great accommodation - we had two balconies, spacious bedroom and living room and kitchen complete with coffee maker, toaster etc. Was thrilled to have a bath!! Pools were clean but very cold. Didn't use any of the facilities, apart from buying one coffee which was utterly undrinkable. Staff were all very pleasant. Great supermarket at end of the road which we used frequently.

Room Tip: Room 155 had its own private entrance and was unbelievably quiet - we slept so well. Two balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THB Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Royal

Address: C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel THB Royal is located in the south of Lanzarote, in the village of Playa Blanca.This quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza has preserved its characteristics apart from tourism development.This large complex consists of two floors and a total of 200 rooms. The hotel offers guests 2 swimming areas with solarium. Nearby are some of the most beautiful tourist attractions in Lanzarote: The Coast of Papagayo, El Golfo… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your THB Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Royal Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Sun Royal Apartments Playa Blanca
THB Royal Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THB Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.