We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel in a stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Marinero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Marinero to your Saves list
Pueblo Marinero
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Castillo del Aguila, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel in a stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just back from an amazing holiday in Lanzarote. First time there and looking forward to returning in the future. The hotel stay made our trip so enjoyable with a large pool area and another smaller quieter one (which we used daily), the amenities were definitely some of the best I've come across! I'm already recommending to others! This adult only hotel is perfect for couples and older families, meaning total relaxation! The staff in the hotel were also fantastic! In particular the bar/restaurant staff which were always so friendly and funny! The walk down the promenade each evening was stunning, we never got a taxi, 15/20mins walk and you're down in the centre of things.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room by the smaller pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    98
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
34
181
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just returned from a very relaxing long weekend at these apartments. It was our first time in Lanzarote, even though we have been to Tenerife several times and Gran Canaria. Playa Blanca has a lovely harbour at one end and the port at the other. These are easily within walking distance along a lovely promenade. This hotel / apartments are ideally placed for both. There are an excellent range of restaurants, bars and shops in all areas.
Our apartment was clean and spacious with a large comfortable bed. We had a bath and a separate shower. The hairdryer was a little disappointing, but we got there in the end. The pool area is also very well kept with double sun beds and wedge pillows. We always managed to find one without the "mad morning dash!" There is also a quiet area with a small pool too. You can join in with a variety of activities although no one was pushy.
We opted for the half board option and found the restaurant on the upper floor, with views of the coast great for breakfast with a good choice and hardly anyone there. We always ate about 9 - 9.30am and it was never busy. On arrival, we were given vouchers. These can be redeemed at a variety of local restaurants. The choice was great and it was lovely to eat at a different place each night.
The staff were great and very pleasant.
We would definitely return to this hotel again. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdhotels01, Gerente at Pueblo Marinero, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Martyxke,

Thank you very much for your description of the hotel and surroundings. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return.

We look forward to welcoming you soon,
Kind regards,
Fernando Benítez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just returned from a week staying here and wanted to add our thoughts on how wonderful these apartments are. Firstly let me just say they are not 5 star but they have everything you need for holiday catering. Everywhere is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, the pool area is wonderful and the location is perfect. 5 mins walk along the coastal path and you get to Playa Dorada beach. Very safe for swimming and beautiful soft sand. Right on the Marina where there are lovely restaurants. We don't normally holiday somewhere twice but we will certainly return to Pueblo Marinero.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdhotels01, Gerente at Pueblo Marinero, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear LinM253,

Thank you very much for you opinion and thank you for scoring 5 out o 5.

It is very nice to read your words and we appreciate very much that you will do anexception and will repeat in Pueblo Marinero.

We hope to see you soon,

Kind regards,
Fernando Benítez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WROUGHTON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Honest Review – Disappointing
06th – 13th June 2014 - Room 18
We have recently returned from a weeks stay at Pueblo Marino Apartments where we stayed in a ‘Premier Apartment’ (???)
On a positive note the location, reception, pool and gardens are lovely – clean, quiet and spacious with fantastic views.
Unfortunately although the interior of the apartments are clean they are in serious need of a re-fit, the bathroom in particular. It is all very old with black mould all around the shower screen, the mirror has black rust spots all over it which gets very steamed up and as there is no fan it takes ages to clear. The toiletries that are advertised is one plastic pack with two small bottles containing some very thin strong smelling body lotion, two toothbrushes, a couple of cotton wool pads and three cotton buds and that is it for the duration of your stay. The towels are muddy brown in colour well used and very thin.
The kitchen is very basic, with just a few utensils and rusty hot plates. I was hoping for some washing up liquid and a cloth at least. The tea and coffee making facilities is a kettle. Nothing else, not even a couple of tea bags for our arrival which is no good if you are arriving late after the shops have closed.
The main light switch and key for the electricity is through the front door, past the open plan stairs, through the seating area into the kitchen at the far end of the apartment which means you have to navigate your way through in the dark which is not nice.
The main thing that really upset us was that we booked a one bedroom Premier Apartment to ensure we had as advertised on the official website, a sea view, air conditioning, an espresso coffee machine, DVD and CD player. Ipod docking station, pool towels, bathrobes, slippers and VIP amenities. Unfortunately we were allocated what the Management call a two bedroom Premier. It looked nothing like the picture of a Premier but exactly like the picture of a two bedroom Standard. We were given bathrobes, pool towels and a sea view from one side of our balcony obstructed by a wire fence but none of the other things that we were expecting.
We queried this at check-in and then twice again during the week and assured that we were in a Premier.
We did consider asking to change the apartment but as we were only there for a week and we had come on holiday to get away from stress we really didn’t want to create more anyway what were we supposed to change to – just another ‘’Premier’’(???).
When we returned home I sent an email to the management expressing our disappointment and received a reply to say that room 18 is definitely a Premier.
If this is really the case the HD website needs an urgent update as the current one is very misleading and what you see is definitely not what you get!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlooking the pool also overlook the sea. As it is an adults only complex i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd South Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We've just come back from a very relaxing week at the Marinero and what a fabulous place to stay. Ideally located very close to the Marina this has to be the best place in Playa Blanca with amazing views from the pool area. The communal areas are very clean with the pool area having the most comfortable sun beds ever. Lovely little snack bar with fabulous staff, there is a restaurant available, but we didn't try it. The apartments are spacious and have all the equipment you'll need for a self catering holiday....even a microwave. All staff are so friendly and welcoming they quickly make you feel right at home. The area around the marina has some beautiful restaurants that you just have to try. We so enjoyed the holiday, we are booking to go back in September.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdhotels01, Gerente at Pueblo Marinero, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear suezealand,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor and thank you for scoring 5 out of 5.

It is good to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Fernando Benítez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Firstly I would like to congratulate the staff here, very helpful and always polite. The area around the pool and the gardens are immaculate. The assortment of sun beds are very good but a lot of people do put there towels out very early, particularly the round beds. Nice little touch is when a waiter comes round and lets you sample food. You can to join in activities like boules etc.
The apartments where do I start, paid extra for a premier room and I was so disappointed. The marketing of these apartments are very good, pity they don't show the bathrooms. Firstly we were shown to a apartment, our view was looking out over a taxi rank and amusements lovely. Putting up wallpaper on a walls, large headboard and new curtain doesn't constitute to paying extra for. Our wardrobe door didn't slide, the pine furniture is old, the fridge was rusty, the microwave dirty, only one power point in kitchen area for the kettle, microwave and coffee maker so you had to keep moving them. The bathroom had no shower curtain so it floods the floor, the bath side panel was smashed and had white silicone smeared all over it. The bath was rusty and the tiles old and the grout discolored. The hairdryer is unusable so take your own. We immediately went to complain but was told to sleep there and they would arrange for us to move the next day. The next day we were told there was not other rooms until the following day. By now our room had a bad smell, it was now obvious that the strong chemical cleaning smell we originally smelt when we first entered this apartment was masking a drain problem. Several people we spoke to commented on this, it actually hits you when you first enter your room. The following day we were offered another room but we had to vacate our room by 12 which we thought we would go straight into our new room but no. Apparently they were very busy cleaning other rooms and we would have to wait until around 4pm! Could understand that the room wasn't going to be free util 12 but thought as we were already there they would make it priority. Eventually transferred to new room, all I can say it had a better outlook over looking pool. The bathroom wasn't any better, the toilet leaked, the shower was blocked and had no shower curtain but got one after requesting. The fridge hadn't been cleaned and was also old. Then the fuse blew and so did my husbands fuse!! Will say they did come straight away and change our kettle.
I do believe if they update the bathrooms these apartments would be ok but no way should they request extra money for them as they market this place as 4 star isn't it what you expect in the first place. The Manager did leave us a bottle of fizz in our room but felt he should of spoken to us face to face and apologized. We felt like we had a 3 day holiday instead of 7, we had to live out of a suitcase.
The area around the marina is lovely and a short walk along the promenade takes you to a number of restaurants.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking our main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdhotels01, Gerente at Pueblo Marinero, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Loza52,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community Tripadvisor.

I am sorry you had to wait two days to move to a better unit and sorry you had to wait till 4.00 pm. We had a full house and could not make it faster.

About the smell, I have to say that during days of strong winds we may get drain smell through the appliances that aren´t used such as bath tab (normally the shower is the most used)

Finally I am sorry I could not talk to you, I would have liked it.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went to this hotel with friends, who have stayed all over the island, and had recommended Playa Blanca. We only went for a long weekend, to give it a try, Thursday to Sunday, which is very "doable" especially with the short transfer time. We have been to the Canary Islands before, Grand Canaria, and Tenerife, but never to Lanzarote, the usual stuff, " it's too windy" "there's nothing there" etc etc. But we were talked into it by our friends, who return year after year, and we can now see why.
First off is the Hotel, we went last week, so it's not peak season, but we are in our late 40s and prefer it to be populated, but not a mad house of people. This must rate as the best, most relaxing hotel we have ever stayed in. In no particular order we loved, the soft round sun beds, which had foam wedges for pillows, great for mid day naps in the sun. Easy access to the main seashore path, and a great central location. Large self catering apartments, with TV and ipod dock. Friendly staff who spoke great English, and were very helpful. No screaming and shouting of kids, because its adults only ( been there, done that) The bedroom was nice and quiet, with dark curtains, and comfy beds, so a good nights sleep was assured. As usual were went half board, but this hotel also has a twist on that theme. I'm assuming most people have breakfast in their apartments, because the dining area has only a few tables set out, in a very spacious elevated room looking out over the coast and harbour. There were never more than a handful of people there on a morning, despite coming in for breakfast well past 9am on most days, which was so relaxing. But the best idea came with the evening meal, the Hotel provides vouchers, which can be redeemed in many of the local restaurants and bars. This gives you the flexibility of eating exactly when and where you like, but on a controlled budget, as its only the drinks you are paying for. The menu's were comprehensive too, so it didn't feel as though we were being restricted with choice. There is also a nice bar beside the pool, with a selection of snacks, and again comfortable seats.

Location and Restaurants.
The placing of this hotel is brilliant, right on the edge of the recently developed harbour area, and shopping malls, and a gentle stroll along the shore into the older region of the town. There is ample parking right outside the hotel, so hiring a car isn't traumatic, and the paths are great for the disabled, as they are very level, and have ramps for easy access. The harbour boasts some great places to eat and drink, with some very picturesque settings, and never any problem getting a good table. There are some really nice shops, selling designer clothing, bags, sunglasses, etc, as well as a market on Saturday.
Temperatures
We had some really nice weather, with the mercury heading up into the high 20s, but the breeze never lets you roast, unless you find a sheltered spot, and then it is very hot. The temperature drops slightly in the evening, so you could pack some long trousers if you like, or take a light cardigan. We just kept our shorts on with a polo shirt, and it was fine. All in all, a brilliant holiday, and well worth trying if you like the Tenerife theme.

Room Tip: Dont be shy, ask for an upstairs room, if you want a better view, and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Marinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Marinero

Address: Urb. Castillo del Aguila, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Marinero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pueblo Marinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Marinero Playa Blanca
Pueblo Marinero Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Marinero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.