We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel to your Saves list
HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Faro de Pechiguera s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
North West England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent hotel to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My friend and I (40 somethings!) stayed in this all inclusive hotel for one week.
It was a super holiday only being hapered by the weather as it was mixed. If you go this time of year it is cold at night and you will need a jacket/fleece. Ladies leggins under those maxi dresses! not that people dressed up. It was more jeans and jumper for most people.
The room was a one bedroom bungalow the only complaint is the matress could have been better and more comfortable. Plus you can hear next door cleaning their teeth or talking in the bathroom. However It was clean tidy and fitted with hairdryer, microwave, fridge and kettle. Even though we were AL.
It was a very short walk to the pool which was cleaned daily and the kids (we didn't take any with us) loved it and no matter what the weather seemed to be in it.The small round pool has more heat in it than the bigger pool
The food was spot on. All I can say to those who could not find anything to eat or found it repetitive - What is wrong with you? Every breakfast/lunch and dinner there was more than enough choice and enough food to sink the titanic! before the holiday we had decided to eat out a few nights to break the holiday up, All I can say is, we didn't, there was no need and every night there was a different theme. There is a microwave in the restaurant so those who like their food at nuclear heat level - go for it. For me the fact that the plates were that hot I needed a servette to hold it and the food itself was hot, was enough
We did venture out purely for the entertainment side of a night time. We sampled many bars. The Irish ones for us the best. But on the front there are plenty for everyones taste. If you like sports there are plenty of bars with T.V's to watch that all important match.
The walk in to Playa Blance is approx 15/20 mins depends on how fit you are. It's a lovely safe walk and if you are feeing particularly lazy no more than 4 euro's. A taxi can be ordered from the reception and there is at least two major taxi ranks in the town itself to get back.
The staff were great and always helpful nothing was too much trouble. The manager always seems to be there as well and more than happy to help.
The animation team worked around the clock to see that a good time was had by all (we didn't join in - not our thing) but we got asked at the start of the hols then left alone, which was great for us. We always knew if wanted to do the daily activities we could join at anytime day or night.
For those who have stated you get what you pay for OF COURSE YOU DO! this is not a 5* luxury AL paradise hotel with slaves running around pampering to your every need you have to pay alot more for that experience.
This was a super holiday - highly recommended and I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    405
    224
    108
    74
See reviews for
622
285
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
clipstone
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and daughter paid £300 each all inclusive and £30 for my little grandaugther (aka "pesticus lanzaroticus") in a 2 bed bungalow- We have been to Lanza plenty of times before but never on an all inclusive basis as the Club Playa Blanca offered - We were the 1st drop off from the airport so great start and check in at the HL was super smooth from a nice front of house team - Bungalow was 1min walk from the pool and basic but very clean with a nice day bed set up that you can put out on your veranda to catch the early morning or evening sun - The pool was a pool and the kids paddler was ideal for the pesticus, both well maintained; nice little outdoor play area with safety flooring that we had plenty of time in! - Big up to the entertainment team who were a good laugh with pool activities and evening stuff; - Catering was spot on for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacking; breakfast rocked with full english, continental and whatever you wanted - Always something different for lunch but we pretty much had the snack selection that was laid on at the pool bar; quality dinner and always a different roast, chicken or pork from the griddle, full salad bar, soup, dessert selection etc - Some of the comments on here about the food make me laugh; is it repetitive? Yes if you eat the same stuff every night! Is there veg laid on at breakfast? Yes, so don't eat it if you don't fancy broccoli with your bacon and eggs! (unlike my grandaughter who loved her sweetcorn for breakfast, lunch and dinner - She may well have found this repetitive though but didn't mention nor write a daft comment on Tripadvisor!) Playa Blanca is a 20 min walk (not 5 minutes as some power walker previously commented) and is a chilled out and lovely place - Pay a visit to China City for the 11 euro set meal, Cafe 34 for a cheap beer and a nice atmosphere, the Arcade Bar for a coffee (only bettered by those at the hotel!) and crepe and then Lani's Snack Bar down in the Rubicon Marina for cheap tapas and to feed the fish!
We ate out cheaply a couple of nights as it was my birthday and nothing to do with the offer at the HL
All in this was a great holiday in a great hotel and if you look at the price what more can you ask for?!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

stayed Jan 15th for a week all inclusive, check in smooth, you have to wear the standard plastic bangle, although all appeared to be AI. arrived in dark and was a little difficult to locate the room, porter would have made a great difference. Fortunatly got a great located room 205, which I had requested after reading previous reviews. It was large 2 bed ,bath and shower over, lounge with sofa fridge,microwave ? and kettle cups and tea spoons. would have been nice to have a bottle of water in fridge on arrival ,but these are sold at reception we managed to get the last one.! before stocking up the next day. The air con unit does also heat the rooms which was required night time and early morning. As previous reports very thin walls, you can hear the brushing of teeth and other bathroom habits ! The grounds are spotless and gardens look fab, pool area spotless and pleanty of beds ,beach towels can be obtained small deposit. Used the small round pool which may have been slightly heated but there was no chance of using the large pool, childrens paddle pool was well used as was the jacuizi. Pool bar ok, only one member of staff all day but not a long wait to get erved. drinks are only local but mixed with soft drinks managble and the coffee is super.The restaurant self service breakfast there is pleanty to choose, cereals, meat cheese ,as well as a hot buffet and omlettes made to order , just a shame all the hot food never seem to be hot enough as for other comments of using left overs, dont we all ?, but there was enough choice the AI wine not the best but drinkable ,we were stopped from bringing our own in . Evenings ,was a choice of a working mans club , playing cards,domminos watching TV or the large entertainment room which again appeared to be a WMC ,but entertainment never the less, would have been nice to have patio heaters round the pool bar ,You definatly needed a fleece,coat if out at night and early morning but I would say we were lucky with the weather lovely warm sunshine every day . short walk to centre and beach , overall a great cheap break coulndt have stayed for two weeks though.

Room Tip: rooms 211-202
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel82Mel82
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I've never written a review before but felt after finding others uselfull i'd contribute..

1. Food 5/10 but what do you expect for a cheapish hotel, v.repetative breakfast was preferred out of all three meals.
2. Entertainment 2/10 usuall AI hotel cheese, not too bad for kids but for adults (look elsewhere)
3. AI Drink offering 3/10 could be better offers the usuall local spirit, tropial beer and sangria, also advertises cocktails which the bar staff are reluctent to make for you.
4. Swimming pool 1/10 FREEZING/EMPTY TOO COLD TO SWIM IN
5. Reception staff 9/10 Very helpfull and assisted when necessary
6. Rooms 3/10 Basic but adequate for the purpose of the stay, could do with better sound insulation as you can hear everything from the ajoining rooms
7. Location 8/10 5 minute walk to the front
8. weather was very windy not that the hotel can control this
9. would i return? probably not unless desperate for another cheap holiday in the winter months
10. Overall for how cheap the stay was this hotel i'd say was ok, if you want A LA CARTE and Imported drinks, a luxurious room and decent evening entertainment, pay more and don't stay here.

Room Tip: ask for a poolside room if you're not a keen walker/or have difficulties walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightlingsea, Essex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed at Club Playa Blanca for 7 nights from 12th Jan. Travelled with wife for a chill out break after Christmas!
Been here before, 2 ½ years ago in Oct, travelled with Thomas Cook(TC) both times.
Before l start, can l echo what many before have said. This is listed by TC and other in UK as a 3 star Hotel! It has a Spanish 4 star rating which is less stringent than ours.
Arrived early at airport (as always!) over an hour before check in opened. However, Thomas Cook now have a bank of check in’s at Gatwick, doesn’t matter where you’re going you can use any one of them. Was going to wait but was met by a chap from TC who offered us 2 Extra Leg Room seats for £25 (would have been £60 if booked in advance)! Good start to holiday. Good flight, just be aware that on short and med haul flights, Thomas Cook do not now have ANY entertainment, so take your i pod! 1st drop off from transfer coach (we were the only ones to get off)
Straight to reception, quick check in (Tip : do safe box whilst checking in, 18 euro’s for week) staff polite and helpful and spoke very good English (shame on us).
ROOM :- Off to room, no 821, to left and above pool area, a row back. Room was a 1 bedroom bungalow, all as expected. Bedroom with twin beds (slept well), bathroom, lounge area with kitchenette area with fridge, microwave and now with a Kettle! Improvement on last trip, as wife likes a hot drink getting ready in the morning. You can either “acquire” tea bags, sugar and milk from the restaurant, buy it locally or what we do is take 3 in 1 coffee sticks or sachets of cappuccino. Had a trip back to reception as no towels in room and needed an extra pillow, again staff polite and efficient. Also got pool towels (10 euro refundable deposit each) and TV remote (also 10 euro refundable deposit). Only 2 English news channels, but didn’t go on holiday to watch TV. That night found that bath waste was blocked, reported next morning and quickly sorted. No complaints there!
POOL :- Pool was clean, did swim underwater along bottom and saw no dirt! On night did see empty plastic glasses in pool, it was very windy or may have been undesirables. These were gone the next morning. Pool water tested regularly. Two pools, one is cold and the other B***** FREEZING ! Tip : if you get in the 2nd one first the 1st one seems warm! Jacuzzi is working and spotlessly clean.
BAR AT POOL :- This is your day time bar. Kirsten works this most of the time and buzzes around like a Blue A**** Fly! If you do have to wait a couple of mins for your drink, please remember that she not only has to serve at the bar, but keep it topped up, clean it, clean the seating area and the pool area, bring out the various snacks and cakes throughout the day and empty all the bins around the bar and pool area,( and more) so Kirsten, Thank You.
RESTAURANT : Buffet style having a salad bar. Please remember you are Lanzarote, not at home. Breakfast offers, bacon, sausages, eggs (fried ,scrambled, hard boiled or omelettes to order), some sort of potatoes, baked beans ( and yes l saw steam coming off them!), Brussels and green beans ( My wife did sit waiting to see if anyone had these for breakfast, and yes they do with bacon and eggs! ). Cereal and fruit also available. Lunch was a vast assortment, as was the evening meal. If you eat a bit of everything, things will seem them same every night !
There were nightly variations, the best for us was the Chinese night, YUM!!!
PLAYA BLANCA: Nice stroll down to the prom, about 15 mins, (uphill on the way back!) Playa Blanca is nice and relaxed with a pedestrianised shopping street and a prom. The prom goes to the harbour and beyond one way and to the marina and beyond the other way. The main bit at Playa Blanca is lined with restaurants and gift shops.

A word of warning: The Fire Exit doors(the big glass ones which lead onto the patio area) in the Entertainment Room, where locked with padlocks. I noticed this because l’m a retired Fire Officer, but l bet most people didn’t. I reported it to the TC Rep several times and the hotel said it was being dealt with, but they stayed locked. This is probably common in most of the hotels at this time of year, not sure of Spanish Fire Safety Regs, but l’m 100% sure this isn’t right. I had my own escape plan , so beware.

Would we go back to Club Playa Blanca Hotel? Definitely YES.

Room Tip: Ask for room near pool if walking an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Dont expect top class food here, the breakfast offers sweetcorn and brocoli, lunchtime snacks arrive at 12.30pm and remain until 3pm without been refreshed. Lunch is available in the restaurant but is not very exciting. Dinner is also served in the restaurant but they could do with a few more staff to clear tables. There is a short supply of tables for families of 5 or more and some guests were allowed to reserve a table night on night. The food is greatly recycled, i.e. chicken legs show cooked on Tuesday become chicken legs in mushroom on Wednesday. Be sure to ask for your food to be well cooked as the meat is very often rare. Our 2 bed bungalow was clean and spacious but we might aswell have shared with nextdoor as there is no sound proofing and the hot water tank is also shared so be sure to get back early for a hot shower. The entertainment provided is good and theres pleanty for the kids to do. Overall for a cheapy all inclusive it was ok, I would have been very disappointed to pay brochure price for this holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

We've just returned from this hotel after reading some reviews I was a bit worried but when we arrived it was fantastic the hotel staff where always polite and friendly we had our 3 children with us and they had loads to do the animation team where amazing they really made our holiday special never met a team so dedicated to making everyone happy would defently recommend going here for a family break the rooms were cleaned every day and also spacious the town was a 10 min walk and there's loads to do there we met some lovely people and the whole holiday was stress free would defently go back lanzarote is a fantastic place was defently 4 star everything ticked the boxes and was worth every penny

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel

Address: Carretera Faro de Pechiguera s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable holiday in this Club-Hotel, perfect for the entire family.The Hotel Club Playa Blanca offers spacious and comfortable accommodation, a Restaurant with a wide variety of international dishes as well as show cooking and theme nights, a Pool Bar, a Disco with evening entertainment and a Mini Club for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Hotel Playa Blanca
HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel Lanzarote
Club Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.