We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value break in a good location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubimar Suite ApartHotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rubimar Suite ApartHotel to your Saves list
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ La Cocinilla 2-4, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good value break in a good location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just back from a week staying at this hotel. We found it fantastic value for money! Very good location right at the Marina Rubicon. About a ten minute stroll from beach along a lovely promenade . Restaurants and shops right on the doorstep and a pleasant walk into the center of Playa Blanca in less than fifteen minutes.
The staff are very helpful and the rooms clean and well maintained. The downside is that there is no kettle but there is a coffee machine. We took a travel kettle with us.
We went on a self catering basis as we love to eat out in the many fantastic restaurants however we did have breakfast there on the last day as we were leaving at 9.30 am. we found the breakfast to be the same standard as many other hotels we have stayed in. Bacon, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, boiled eggs, beans , toast , fresh breads and pastries. fruit and cereal. Ok it wasn't as nice as the full English down in the shopping center The Ice House. But we only paid six euros per adult and three per child so would not grumble at all and it set us up for the journey home.
The pools were enjoyed by our children aged six and ten and the entertainer tried really hard to give people activities to join in yet wasn't pushy.
We played tennis and again this was free just had to leave a small deposit for the equipment which we got back afterwards.
We left a ten euro deposit for the air conditioning and tv remotes. There was a tv in the lounge and the bedroom and the air con was perfect as you can set the temp to what you want.
We left a ten euro deposit for the air conditioning and tv remotes. There was a tv in the lounge and the bedroom and the air con was perfect as you can set the temp to what you want.
The bathrooms were fully tiled and clean. The furniture in the apartment was modern and didn't look at all well worn.
The maid service was great five days out of the seven day stay . Each day fresh towels and sheets.
Yes there are four and five star hotels close by that look beautiful but they are much more expensive! If you want five star book the princesca Yaiza and pay the price. However we like good quality accomodation without paying thousands of pounds for it as we like to go away more than once a year and we love to eat out at the many restaurants and don't go away to spend 24/7 in our hotel. We will def be back to stay at the Rubimar and I can recommend it to anyone who wants value for money but not basic and worn out! We did have a look at some of the other accomodation that was around the same price but they needed much more tlc and wern't in anywhere near as good location!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    244
    124
    70
    47
See reviews for
208
273
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just spent 10 days at the Rubimar. Lovely location albeit a bit of a walk to the main restaurants in Playa. Blanca. The apartment had everything you need. Plenty of space in the apartment, and lots of sun loungers at the pool. Cleaning was every day except Thursday and Sunday, and sheets and towels changed every 3 days. Could have done with more towels though. All in all great value for money, and would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for your balcony to overlook the pool, as many of the rooms have the bedroom over the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

On arrival we were met by a very charming English speaking young lady who checked us with no hassle whatsoever. As only one of our rooms was ready, (party of 2 couples), she gave us our All-Inclusive wristbands and told us to either go and have a drink whilst we waited for the other room. To be fair, we were checking in 3 hours early!
The rooms were big and spacious. The bedroom had twin beds not a double, but this was OK. The beds are a little on the hard side though.There was plenty of wardrobe space but maybe we could have done with a few more hangers.
The bathroom had a good shower and everything was clean and tidy. They also supply basic soap, shampoo and shower gel in little packets but these wouldn't last a week.
The kitchen area was basic with the simplest of equipment etc. There was a microwave/grill, which we did not use as well as a double hotplate. There was also a coffee percolater but no kettle. We survived by putting our tea bags in the coffee maker!
The fridge was turned up to high and had not been defrosted resulting in a large build up of ice/frost on the freezer compartment. This meant that the fridge did not get as cold as we would have liked.
If you want air-conditioning, and the tv, you have to pay a deposit of 10 euros for the remote controls from reception. They are actually free, but the deposit covers the remotes only and you do get you 10 euros back when you check out.
The restaurant was OK. Clean and a varied selection of food. The main lunchtime and evening meals consisted a fish chicken and pork option with a variety of salad or vegetables. Not a great selection but always managed to find something when we ate in there.
The bar drinks were mainly beer on draught and locally produced shorts. If you drink your short with a mixer, it doesn't taste too bad! (And the measures are large!!)
The pool area is lovely with a huge adult pool and a small splash pool for children. There were plenty of sunbeds to go around so no need to put our towels out.
Overall, this is not a 4 star resort and has one or two minor areas that could be improved, but we had a nice relaxing chilled out week with no issues. Would we go again...................?
YES, if the price was right!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I am staying here as I'm writing this, I came on holiday with my husband and 5month old baby so decided to go all inclusive. What a waste that was!!! We have had to go and buy bottled water every day as you don't get any. There was no kettle to boil water for young children. We had to pay to get the air con and t.v controller!! The food is absolutely shocking and same food put out day after day. There is lack of entertainment. On the upside the rooms are nice and location is good. Hotel was cheaper for a reason it's meant to be a 4* but I would class it a 2*.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I read a lot of reviews before our stay here some great, some saying it was very poor!

I've never written a review before but i felt I had to. What the moany people are talking about on here i honestly don't know!

Where this hotel is located could not be more perfect. 2 minute walk to a massive supermarket which we found very reasonable in comparison to our Menorca holiday earlier in the year.

Another 2 mins away is the Marina, one of the most stunning places I've ever visited. I was worried there wasn't going to be enough to do there (reading silly peoples reviews) but there is plenty enough restaurants and places to have a drink overlooking the lovely boats bobbing about.

We recommend Lani's for a good menu all round. The blue note was also good, both had live music/singers (mostly great!) every night.

Half hour walk into playa Blanca along a lovely well kept coastal path, with afew beach bars to stop off at on route :)

The hotel itself I was dubious about as some reviews had said the beds were unbearably uncomfortable, rooms dirty etc.. Well honestly the beds were fine, I don't mind a firm bed, not hard just firm and very comfortable pillows. The maid came every day apart from thurs and Sunday, clean towels and loo roll on every visit.
Air con in room great! Just a 10 euro deposit for remote! All rooms have a balcony with a great view from what we could see.

We went self catering as we like to explore different places but this hotel had the option to go all inclusive for 22euro a day if you wished. We did it once, the food was standard All inclusive food, not bad but not great either. My boyfriend commented that there was only one beer to choose from, but other than that it was fine.

We went middle of sept so it was fairly quiet around the pool which was wonderful, no fighting for sunbeds here!

All in all the place was amazing. Hotel is quiet so dont expect lively entertainment. If you want that go to Butlins!! Maybe different in main season though.

Perfectly situated, classy, romantic place. just don't listen to the moaners! Listen to me! We're already looking at booking for next year!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here mid Sept for 11 nights. First opinion of hotel was not good - coach dropped us off and on approaching entrance were greeted by the most filthy glass doors you have ever seen. Checked in, room ok, all as expected. There were 3 smallish pillows, rang reception and requested an extra one. Didn't arrive so requested again at reception next morning and again later in day - gave up in end, just used rolled up blanket as extra pillow. We were awoke the first morning by the most awful racket - bangs, clatters and thuds, noise was incessant. Suffice to say this went on for the rest of the day and most of the evening but which time we were at the end of our tether. An investigation revealed that our room was immediately above the gym!! Went pronto to reception to request a move which they could't do that day so had to endure the racket for 2 days.

Allocated another room - no teaspoons, no glasses but with previous experience when requesting pillows we just did without. Sound proofing is none existent - got away from gym and put us in a room next to a family with a baby and tot! You could hear EVERY cry, scream, yelling in bath at crack of dawn and frequent waking up during the night.

Now the food - wasn't expecting gourmet but was expecting to be better than it was. Im not that fussy, honest, but it was a struggle to find anything edible. Also, dining room frequently didn't open on time. The ONLY good things were huge pool, no battle for sunbeds and location but I couldn't recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one week mid sept, my mother, myself and my two children, aged 11 months and 3 years.
The marina is a great place to stay, the most upmarket spot in Lanzarote with lovely bars and restaurants.
A half hour walk to the main town if playa blanca makes this hotel a great base.
We stayed AI but we like to eat out in the evenings. I would say the food is mainly the same at lunch and dinner and is quite basic but sufficient.
The staff are all friendly and the rooms are large and clean.
The children really enjoyed the entertainment. There were not many children here during our stay so my girls were mainly the only two joining in the mini disco but the entertainers made sure they had a great time.
Try the Japanese restaurant in the shopping centre, not our usual holiday choice but fantastic value for money.
The food is really the only thing I can fault, so we would stay here again as the hotels location is spot on.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rubimar Suite ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubimar Suite ApartHotel

Address: C/ La Cocinilla 2-4, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rubimar Suite ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rubimar Suite ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Rubimar Playa Blanca
Aparthotel Rubimar Hotel Playa Blanca
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubimar Suite ApartHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.