We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caters for self-caterers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubimar Suite ApartHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rubimar Suite ApartHotel to your Saves list
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ La Cocinilla 2-4, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Caters for self-caterers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in June/July 2012. We chose this hotel because of its position close to the Rubicon Marina. We had requested a south facing balcony and got one. But because of the design of the complex it seemed that every apartment got the sun at some point in the day. The balcony was small, just room for a small table and 2 chairs, but the apartment was a lot bigger than we would normally expect from this price range. It was also well furnished and equipped. Well, we had to suffer a couple days without two essentials for self-catering; a kettle and frying pan, but we were able to cope with that and have to say that the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We spent a lot of time sunbathing around the pool where the loungers and parasols were plentiful and in good condition. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. There are two supermarkets and plenty bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. There are lots of sporting facilities on site but only one outdoor swimming pool (there is also an indoor one) which is shared by both adults and children, and the rules regarding what can, and can't be done in the pool are not enforced.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool and some overlook the marina (and some overlook both). All get the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    244
    124
    70
    47
See reviews for
208
273
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived back yesterday from staying at The Rubimar hotel for a week. We had actually booked ourselves in to stay at the Corbetta hotel, but when we arrived they told us there had been an error with the computer and they had moved us to Rubimar. This was very frustrating as we had done all the checks we needed to at the Corbetta and knew what to expect.

The hotel itself was clean and lovely, the pool was fantastic and becuase of the warm weather was perfect for cooling you down. The staff were quite friendly and the hotel was in a perfect position by the harbour.

I would never normally write a review, but felt I had to with this as the food was terrible. It was cold, unoriginal and bland.
The first night we assumed we had left dinner too late becuase the food was so cold, so the next morning went down to breakfast at 7 o'clock to... cold food and this remained the same for the rest of the week. As we were all inclusive guests we assumed that we would have to spend very little money, but becuase of the food, we ended up eating out most nights and spent around 300 euros more than we wanted to on food at other resturants all week.

If the hotel got their act together with the food it would be a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Go self catering & NOT all inclusive because of the food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

First Impressions
----------------------
The hotel was spotless and well maintained. Rooms were far better than we had expected.

Food
-------
Not the most extensive all-inclusive we've had, that said it was lovely. Always something to enjoy and there wasn't any evening that we were disappointed.

Drinks
--------
Typically local drinks taste similar to some brands. However, there are some cocktails which come out of a dispenser. They were awful. However, the staff are happy to make any combination that you request so we had quite nice black russians.

Entertainment
------------------
Typical holiday fare, not going to win awards or be of the royal variety standard, but we had fun on the karaoke and quiz nights.

Quiet
-------
A little quiet, the hotel had guests from UK, Ireland, Germany and Spain. I prefer this as I dislike All-English hotels

Staff
------
Really friendly and attentive.

Would we go again?
--------------------------
I don't think we would return to Lanzarote. It's difficult to say why as the weather was perfect, the hotel and food faultless but it isn't my favourite Canary Island. However I would recommend this hotel over other in the resort. We visited Dream Palace (red drunken Brits) and Vik Club Coral Beach (we were originally booked in here) (this was a good 1.5 hour walk or 20 minute dull cycle) and the Rubimar was the better of the competition.

Room Tip: Don't get a readymix cocktail
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The rooms were clean and spacious, towels were only changed twice in a week, sheets once. The food was poor and there wasn't much choice and no labels, so we werent sure what we were eating. Some hot foods were not kept hot, but there was a microwave! Drinks from the bar were watered down and I say this because all I could taste in my bacardi was the coke but when the bottle of bacardi ran out and a new one opened, you could certainly taste the differerence. There was no entertainment laid on in the evening and from what I saw, very little if nothing for the children during the day. Pool area was nice and clean and enough sunbeds for everyone. Great location, great restaurants and shops nearby. Market at the Marina, Wednesday and Saturday which is worth a visit.

I would not return to the Rubimar,there is no atmosphere and we found it very boring of an evening so we had to go out more often than not to get decent food, drink and entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

just back from 2 weeks AI at the Rubimar & only have good things to say.Our apartment 222 overlooked the pool area & was spotlessly clean as was all areas of the hotel,very quiet &sun on the balcony afternoon & evening.The staff are very friendly & work very hard as they are down to a minimum but cope very well.The food is good & varied & the chef will cook meats etc to your liking if you ask.Informed management that the food should be identified as in other hotels so that you know what you are eating we enjoyed various fish dishes but didn,t know what it was!Deposit needed for aircon &tv remote but no free pool towels so used bathroom towels so no problem.Quite quiet when we were there but nice mix of Nationalities especially with the football. Not much entertainment ,Kareoke & bingo but enjoyed meeting people & having a drink in the outside bar.Not much for childrens entertainment but didn,t affect us.Overall we enjoyed our stay & would recommend for a relaxing holiday.One other thing no free WiFi in hotel 7euros a day was far too expensive!

Room Tip: room 222 great pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

we stayed at the rubimar for 7 days early june, it was advertised that the maid service would change sheets twice a week and towels 3 times a week, during our stay the sheets weren't change and we had one change of towels. One day after the maid had just been we arrived back to a huge cockroach walking through the bedroom it was the biggest ive ever seen.The beds were to very hard. The pool area is lovely but to cold to use and the heated indoor one wasn't much warmer, We were there on a self catering option and the hotels has quite a few nearby or it is a short walk into the main area. Would definitly go back to the resort but probably not that hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked a cheeky night here as the price and location were spot on. I must mark so many things as excellent. The room was spacious and clean, and wel equipped. You do have to pay for a remote for the telly, use of the safe, and for air-con.... but that was to be expected and absolutely fine.

The staff were excellent. All were polite and extremely helpful.

The football was on whilst we were there (great for hubby), and there was a good large screen for viewiing in the bar area. Karaoke came on afterwards, and we had to go and sit outside because the volume was way too loud for an indoor area. However, the girl running it was obviously doing something right... because English, Spanish and German people were all getting up and singing.

The pool and bar areas were spotlessly clean and lovely.

Just one thing let this hotel done, and that is the food. The cold selections were good... but all the hot food we tried was either dry or slimy.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for self catering guests as the location, facilities and staff were close to faultless. However... I would not recommend it for half board or all-inclusive. The price is superb for such a location, and we would return.

Room Tip: I was in room 102, which ovewrlooked the tennis courts. It was lovely and quiet - and I'd recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rubimar Suite ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubimar Suite ApartHotel

Address: C/ La Cocinilla 2-4, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rubimar Suite ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rubimar Suite ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Rubimar Playa Blanca
Aparthotel Rubimar Hotel Playa Blanca
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubimar Suite ApartHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.