We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spacious self catering accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jardines del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jardines del Sol to your Saves list
Jardines del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Montana Roja s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent spacious self catering accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Jardines Del Sol is an outstanding self-catering complex of villa/bungalows. Providing excellent value for money, the villas have large, have BBC1 - C4, DVD player, Air Con throughout, good bathrooms and nice outside space. Pool area is lovely.

Only slight negative is location being a little too far out of Playa Blanca for my liking.

Go to Playa Papagayo. Outstanding beach - the best on the island. Stunning. Loved Lanzarote generally. My first experience of the Canaries for many years and I'll be back

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    45
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
92
73
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

This is the first time that I have written a review on the net for any holiday I've been on. However I felt that we had such a good time that it was only fair to repay the people responsible for delivering the service. Our party was made up of two couples and and our bungalow and outdoor area was excellent. There were two bedrooms(1 ensuite) a large livingroom / diner and a large well fitted out kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine. The patio area was large and the whole place was immaculate. The gardeners were continually working in the grounds of the complex which were spotless. The restruant/ bar was a bit basic and the entertainment was a bit samy but they tried very hard to make you enjoy yourself. Bar didn't have our spirit of choice on the first night but had went out and got it for our next visit (something a lot of bigger places would not have done)
Location may be an issue for the less abled but there were taxis right outside the complex every night which cost between 3-4 euros depending on time of night. I would definately recommend this complex to a friend and will look out for it for our next trip to Playa Blanca

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We just returned from a lovely holiday staying at Jardines del sol with my in-laws ( who used timeshare points). I don't have much to add to what's already been said, I just wanted to confirm what the overall opinions are. The resort was lovely and clean, the accomodation was modern, clean and well stocked for want of a better expression. The staff were ALL very friendly and helpful, even the cleaners who had little English.
Our apartments were cleaned practically every day and towels replaced each day too.
on arrival, we also found water and milk in the fridge as well as a selection of tea bags, coffee, sugar, etc which was great. There is a TINY shop on site which stocks bottles of water ( not sure what else as I was never actually in it) but the reastaurant on site bakes fresh bread every day and it can even be delivered to your door. There is a small well stocked supermarket just up the hill from the resort which we used quite a bit.
The restaurant was ok, we found the prices slightly more expensive than in the town but it was just 2 minutes from our apartment so you're paying for convenience. We had a few meals there and they were fine but it is a limited menu. We had a toddler with us so never stayed for the entertainment. We also hired a car and didn't walk into town ( it was a 5 minute drive) so can't comment on that.
Overall, it was lovely and we'd happily go back. My inlaws however preferred Club del Carmen ( the other Diamond Resort place) in Puerto del Carmen, purely for the fact it was closer to the town and shops.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

No cockroaches! Whole appartment area well maintained. Staff couldn't be more helpful, they were at the appartment repairing a door catch before I got back from reception. The restaurant was great for snack foods, although quite expensive compared with Playa Banca , but the Sunday dinner was not value for money - bland, tasted like a frozen ready meal. Long walk to the town, we enjoyed it, but if you find walking difficult it's not for you. The appartment was well stocked and had a lovely terrace to sit out on. We had a good week away from the British snow! temperature was high 20's Centigrade. If you want food in the town go into the centre near the harbour much cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Our third visit to Playa blanca but first to Jardines Del Sol. We always hire a car for the week so the location was not an issue as we were prepared! about 15 minutes walk from Flamingo beach which is nice and quiet and has a few restaurants and a nice beach and 20-25 minutes walk from town centre.

Accomodation exceeded our expectations even after reading the reviews. Great for our daughter with plenty of space in the bungalow and also a good pool area.

Ate out most nights but not within the resort and also cooked 'at home' two nights in the very well equipped kitchen which made this not only possible but a pleasure. Did visit la Boccaine restaurant (again) as a treat and realised that it is only a few euros more expensive than the usual tourist traps but with first class food and service - thanks again to Nina and the team!

I was very happy with the staff although when things are this good very little contact with the staff is required - their advice on where to take a 2 year old was much appreciated and if we can book again at this sort of price we will visit again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenfels, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

My mother in-law gave us hr timeshare and we used it here. I was so impressed with everything ecspecially the staff. We were able to book trips at reception and everyone was so helpful.. The ooms were great and had eveything we needed. The receptionist were great in telling us things to do and where to go. We booked a trip and had to cancel on the day of the trip and the receptionist was able to get our deposit back even though we were not entitled to a refund. All the grounds were beautiful and very clean. They even had entertainment right there at the resort. We loved it so much, we are already planning a trip this coming March as a second honeymoon!! I CAN'T WAIT!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

To say I was somewhat sceptical about staying in Jardins Del Sol was an understatement. I had been to Lanzarote many times before but always stayed in Puerta Del Carmen usually at the Riu Olvinha. However. myself and my wife were offered a week away with her parents which we jumped at. Firstly, it is important to add that Playa Blanca is a fair way from the airport and if you are not hiring a car (which we did) then a cab will cost you upwards of 70 euros. The resort itself is a series of bungalows set around a central pool. The resort is quiet, lit up at night and very very clean. The bungalows are immaculately presented with modern furnishings and a large balcony. I was somewhat surprised at the quality of the furnishings on arrival (LCD TV etc).

The resort itself is set back from the front of Playa Blanca (which is not a bad thing) and costs about 3 euros in a cab, which incidentally are always waiting outside. The staff at the bar are very pleasant and will sit and advise you about what trips to go on and where to eat. The bar in the complex is small but serves up good food and reasonable entertainment (reptile show / ABBA tribute). We ate out every night though.

There are two pools (neither huge) which can become crowded quickly. These are not the sort of pools that you would easily have a swim in as they are quickly occupied by diving children and the odd inflatible (I imaging this could get tiresome in the height of season for 2 weeks) but served our purpose well. One thing I did mention though was that the sunbeds looked extremely tired which took the shine slightly off the pool area.

Overall I was impressed. Would I return? probably but as it is a Diamond Resort and therefore mainly dealing with point travellers I doubt I would have the option. Still enjoy it, there are a lot worse places in Playa.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardines del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardines del Sol

Address: Montana Roja s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardines del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern tip of Lanzarote, near the quiet town of Playa Blanca, Jardines del Sol is built in the style of a Spanish pueblo blanco or white village.Offering modern, well-equipped, detached bungalows surrounded by landscaped gardens and a beautiful pool, the beaches of Playa Blanca are a 25-minute walk away while a ferry to the island of Fuerteventura takes just 45 minutes. The sea is calm and ideal for young children, and the glistening white sands are more than inviting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jardines del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardines Del Sol Hotel Playa Blanca
Jardines Del Sol Playa Blanca
Jardines Del Sol Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardines del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.