We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun to your Saves list
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Las Brenas s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I can't stand these reviews that go on and on about the food, HELLO!! Take a walk down the road to the wide range of restaurants that Playa Blanca has to offer.

The room was a lovely size for the two of us, big bed, good working kitchen and clean towels every day, what more could you want!
The balcony was a lovely little sun trap where we were happy to enjoy breakfast there and nights in sat playing cards and drinking wine.

The staff were friendly and polite and the receptionist helped in all the ways she could. The shop sold everything you could ever need and if not, the hotel was situated perfectly where the local supermarket was a 5 minute walk away.

The only down side was the children's play area, we don't have children but I can imagine why you would be upset if your child was playing in there. Just not situated in a nice area.

The swimming pools were clean and warm, plenty sun beds to go round and the pool bar sold a range of good food and drink.

Brilliant place to stay, especially if it's somewhere just to put your head down.

Will definitely be staying here again. Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    363
    166
    59
    42
See reviews for
323
324
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

stayed for ten days in march and enjoyed our second stay here.we go all inclusive which is perfect for our requirements.the weather was great and our room 202 was pool facing with sun from midday.all staff are nice and all work hard.with this hotel you basically get what you pay for and its up to you to make the most of it and yes we have already booked for march next year,hoping to get 202 or near it when we return.

Room Tip: pool facing rooms are good if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is the fourth time we've stayed at Cay Beach Sun and we had another great holiday. They do all inclusive but we have only ever done self-catering, so can't comment on the food (although the chips and burgers at the pool bar are fine). The apartments are great for us (family of four with 8 and 4 yr old kids). Good space (indoor and out) and self-catering facilities, and really easy for the kids to go out and play and meet other kids around the pool table and outdoor space where we can keep an eye on them from our patio. Good reasonable shop on site with very friendly staff. It is a 10 min walk to Dorada beach and walkable with kids to the Marina and the lovely little old town beach, restaurants etc. Try either Tipico restaurant (one on the sea front by old town beach for great food and sea views/sun downers and one on the road parallel to the front and opposite the pirate ship play area, Tipico Espanol, which has brilliant food and lovely staff). Also great for eating out is L'Artista Italian restaurant and for cocktails and ice-cream (including sorbets, which was fantastic for us because our kids are allergic to milk and eggs) try Yum Yums down on the front between old town beach and the ferry port. We'll definitely go back again. Highly recommend Cay Beach and all of Playa Blanca for families.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed at Cay Beach Sun Aparthotel 15th April for one week. Overall it was good. Nicely situated a short walk to a beautiful clean beach and shops and restaurants of Playa Blanca. We were all inclusive in a one-bedroomed apartment, which was spacious with a decent sized balcony overlooking the gardens and play area. Food was good; not an overwhelming variety but suited our daily requirements without over-indulging as can sometimes happen on all inclusive stays! Entertainment was provided by a young Romanian lady (sorry but I don't know her name) who was absolutely excellent, given that she was doing the job single-handedly. She did her very best to ensure everyone was included, going round the pools encouraging people and children to join in, dishing out sweets etc for the kids. At night there was a mini disco and bingo and she was very energetic in everything she did. The kids and adults loved her. We had face painting, water polo, cocktail games and aloe vera skincare demonstrations. She did an excellent job and I take my hat off to her! The onsite supermarket was run by very friendly staff with competitive prices. My grandson bought a lilo from there and the lady even blew it up for him! Reception staff very helpful. The poolbar was manned by a single barman and at times he was run off his feet, but managed to stay polite and friendly at all times. The food there was very basic and not much choice but my grandson was adequately catered for. Alcoholic drinks were definitely double measures, so good value there!

Downside of it all really was the state of the poolside and the sunbeds. There were several very large dangerously uneven slabs around the pools and we saw several people trip up on these. A lot of the edging slabs around the pools were missing or loose, as were the handrails to the pools. The sunbeds were dreadful - old and tatty and most of them broken. We counted around 10 decent sunbeds round the whole 3 pools. The selfish practice of people reserving sunbeds from 7am and then blatantly not using them until 2pm should also be stopped. We left our sunbeds for an hour to go into the restaurant for lunch and when we came back our towels and belongings had been scattered around and someone else's towels were in place!

On first appearance our room was spotless but on moving my sofa bed to make it up on the first night I discovered the floor underneath was absolutely filthy with a dirty stained mattress protector lying on the floor, for some reason. Also, our bathroom was only cleaned once during our stay, although the waste bin was emptied 5 times. Toilet rolls were not replaced and we just bought our own. These issues didn't really bother us as we are not the type to complain and didnt want to spend hours in reception when we could have been outside enjoying the beautiful weather, but just thought I would point it out for future travellers to be aware of.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel was great value for money, the rooms were spacious, and had what you needed to prepare simple meals self catering.
It's a short walk to the beach, and just a little further along a pleasant seaside path to the centre of the resort.
The pool area was nice and with a couple of water-slides would be fab for kids.
We liked the use of indoor pool, hot tub and gym, which was usually quiet and a nice place to swim if you wanted to get out of the sun for a bit.
The onsite supermarket was competitively priced and had pretty much everything we wanted, and the staff were very friendly.
As we were self-catering and there were loads of really good restaurants in Playa Blanca we never ate at the hotel so can't comment on the food.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would defiantly go back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here in October 2013 and it was very nice. Nice and clean, quiet room around the back which was perfect with a 4yr old. It had everything we needed and was comfy to sleep in. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The main centre is a good 10-15 minutes walk but no steep hills. The resort was nice...the man made beach was shallow and safe for youngsters and was quite easy to reach from the hotel. Overall we had a lovely stay and we would recommend this hotel and resort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

we had a wonderful holiday at the cay sun beach , very clean very spacious lots of facilities for the money we paid. would recommend to anyone especially to families with young children . just one gripe they need to update the sun loungers very uncomfortable, but did not spoil holiday the staff are great nothing is too much trouble the indoor pool and gym are amazing worth more than 3 stars loved cay sun beach well done

Room Tip: we had room at the back very quiet and sun in the afternoon wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun

Address: Calle Las Brenas s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.