We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun to your Saves list
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Las Brenas s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This aparthotel was cheap and cheerful. The facilities were good and the pool and bar areas were always kept clean. The apartment was basic but adequate. It contained 2 cooking rings, a microwave with a grill and a fridge. Not suitable for a gourmet meal but is that what you're going on holiday for ?. The hotel is a short, reasonably flat, 10 minute walk away from the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel does what it says on the tin, it's a 3 star but a fairly decent 3 star. I would recommend for anyone wanting a cheap and cheerful getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    359
    165
    59
    42
See reviews for
322
321
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for the second time at the end of march into April . We booked through Travel Republic and asked for a ground floor and pool view apartment not too far from reception and we got what we asked for .....good start.The room was spacious(117) and in the main well maintained and clean (a few broken tiles here and there).The added costs of a safe ; a few extra tv channels and air conditioning can put a bit extra on the original cheap cost of the room so watch out for that.The indoor pool and gym are a nice little extra and push the hotel up to a three and half star . The outdoor pools are spacious and generally clean but the top one is just too cold for the kids to play in , while the bottom one is cold initially but not too bad once you get in.The pool guard is attentive and quietly sorts out any boisterous behaviour before it gets to guests squabbling with each other which is a nice touch. I was in the gym watching several families bringing in their kids to the indoor pool when it clearly states 18 plus only and again the pool guy quietly asked them to leave .I think people tried this because the outdoor pool is too cold maybe heating the outdoor top pool is an option they could try.
We self catered and ate out so can't help with the hotel food review .The entertainment in the club room is really bargain basement and a bit laughable but at least they try and put something on but there are days off from the entertainment (for whose benefit I am not sure!).
There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in the resort and if you are on a budget the seafront and marina restaurants are a little dearer and not necessarily better in quality.We go to a place down the hill from the hotel and turn right past a few gift shops its called tipicol espanyol its very reasonably priced , good quality and the waiters are funny (but never wrong when the order is messed up!),also the Harp bar at the sea front near the shopping centre does a nice lunchtime salad.The resort and beaches are really clean and generally the sea is calm , it can get a bit windy ! so be prepared for the sunburn when you think you are quite cool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned to England after a weeks holiday in this hotel. I cannot praise it enough, had a brilliant time! The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The pool and bar area were really good.
Only a 10 minute walk to the beach, were lots of shops and restaurants are located.
I will deffinetly be returning to this hotel again! We stayed in room 652, had a pool view and was lovely :)!
Overall a great holiday and cay beach is a really nice and clean hotel to stay in :)!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in number 503, this was just by the slides. Accommodation was of high standard and unlike many other venues that advertise as self catering, it really was. The kitchen was very well equipped including a microwave, grill and oven, also a real granite work surface.
The pools and slides were great for the kids and there was no issues regarding sunbeds as there were enough for everyone and reserving with towels was not allowed. All staff were excellent. Of note were the reception staff who could not have been more welcoming or helpful and Alexandrou the entertainment man who worked really hard to provide the extra activities for our holiday. Our children both loved him and the activities he ran from killer darts to cookie making.
On site was an excellent mini market, this was not only well stocked but very competitively priced, you could also get freshly baked bread every day, which was a great bonus.
The complex was only a short walk from the excellent clean golden beach, and the wide range of restaurants on the sea front.
We could not recommend this hotel more highly, it fitted the bill for our family perfectly, and we would love to return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here at Easter with a 6 year old and 3 year old. When we first arrived she did say we weren't staying there but I emailed before coming out to say I have read comment about being moved and was not going anywhere else, so I soon clarified that one but not very friendly welcome.
The apartment was very clean and had what you needed for a comfortable stay, although beds where as hard as a rock.
Just a short walk to the beach and the town and about 15 min to marina so good location for the price.
The hotel is a little bit tiered in places with a few cracked patio slabs etc
Swimming pools are very cold also the pirate ship for kids was not heated and was freezing so I was a bit upset as that's the reason why I chose this as I kids would of loved it but they went in one day and that was it there were no kids plying in there.
The entertainment seemed non existent, I was going to send the kids to kids club but when I could not understand what they were saying and they could not also under stand me I decided not to risk it.
The food at pool bar is cheap enough 1.50 for chips, and the supermarket is really good and a lot cheaper than those in the town.
We had a lovely holiday, and go to the Italian job for a meal wonderful food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lanzarotte is not the greatest place to go to if you are looking for wonderful things to see and do. There are of course the visits to the Volcano, Camel Rides, Parrot Shows, Eagle Shows, Cesar Manique exhibitio0ns etc.....but not the prettiest island in the world. But you will probably have checked that out before deciding.

We knew that and so just wanted a nice safe environment to which to take our Grandson. Playa Blanca is just that. The Hotel was excellent - I will come to that in a minute. But the beach at Playa Blanca is brilliant - safe, sandy and not too expensive to rent your sunlounger/shade (and you will need a shade because it can get very hot without you knowing it in the sea breeze). The water sports are kept to a minimum so you do not have the ghastly smell and taste of diesel in your way all day as can happen elsewhere. The restaurants are nicely placed along the promenade between the Marina (this is where the market is on Weds and Sats) and the Harbour (get a boat to the the nearby islands from here).

So - the Hotel - we stayed at the Cay Beach Sun Aparthotel. It is a 3 star so expect that when you stay there. Having said that I would say it is a bit better than a standard 3 Star. The Receptionists are excellent (I had seen some previous comments so was a bit worried)- always willing to help and give advice or info. We booked a couple of trips via them and had a couple of very minor problems sorted by them.

The rooms are typical Canarian style - we had Room 356 at the far end of the complex looking towards the sea. It got sun on the very large balcony from first thing in the morning to last thing at night. It was a pleasure to sit out with the wine or sangria and read in the evenings after a long day with the grandson. Large double bed and the sofa bed was plenty large enough for an adult to sleep in. Decor is basic and you do get all plates, cutlery, cups and glasses even if All Inclusive, along with fridge, microwave, cooker. Bathroom was functional but the shower could have been a bit better - handheld attachment to the taps, connecting to the wall - it worked though

Recommend uasing the safe which is easy to use and rent. Also recommend hiring the Hotel towels for round the pool - 15 Euros each returnable at end of holiday. Television needs to be paid for if you want all channels - but who's on holiday to watch TV?

The pool area is excellent - although the pools themselves (large, medium,, kiddies and slide pool) can be a bit cool to begin with. If going All Inclusive you have drinks on self service taps all day, except tea and coffee. The Restaurant is again fine if unspectacular. Food can get a bit samey but that is the same for any All Inclusive hotel. The service in the restaurant was excellent and again the drinks inc beer and wine on self service taps.

Evening entertainment was a bit sparse within the complex, but there is a ballroom where they hold their functions - only ranging from a bird show, sangria making, quiz, Kids Disco etc. The chap doing the animation is fine and friendly but they could do so much more. I suspect however they do not because the majority of people on the complex are self catering and thus go out in the evenings.

There is a shop in the Hotel and the prices seemed to be very good for the few things I bought.

I would recommend this Hotel being just a few minutes (15?) walk down one road and then alleyway by side of another hotel to the centre of the beach area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing towards the pool, or alternatively those on the outside of the building facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in Cay Beach for 9 nights and our goal was to get as lazy as possible. And for that purpose the hotel met our expectations. The hotel buildings are low and dispersed, with spacious rooms. The restaurant provided tasty and varied food. Most of the guests were English, German and Polish, the animation team were not too disturbing and noisy. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk apart from the coast, which offers nice beach and a lot of restaurants and shops.
We highly reccomend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun

Address: Calle Las Brenas s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.