We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Papagayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Papagayo to your Saves list
Iberostar Papagayo
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Las Palmas, 5; San Marcial del Rubicon; Playa Blanca, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Not the best hotel in Playa Blanca but certainly the friendliest The staff work so hard and never stop working in the Restaurant and bar Nelson the waiter is unbelievable remembers everybodys drinks Makes the best Daquiri in Play Blanca Food good Hotel clean location excellent for people who enjoy walking views spectacular first time away on my own will be going back in June

Room Tip: Stayed on fifth floor right hand side of hotel good views and quieter than pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    664
    218
    49
    23
See reviews for
474
787
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Checking in was no problem, the staff were very helpful as they were all week. We paid an extra few pounds for a partial sea view what we got was a view of the car park! But if you leant over the balcony and looked up the road you could just about make out the sea below the horizon. Don't pay for a partial sea view!! We decided to upgrade to a suite with full sea view, the room was massive with a lounge and a large bathroom all very clean and the view was spectacular.
There is a safe in the room but you had to pay extra to use it, a hidden cost that should be free.
We paid €20 for the Internet connection for a week, how prehistoric is that? Surly it is a necessity not a luxury these days!!!! Also the connection speed is pitiful, it keeps dropping out and you can only connect one device at a time.
The hotel is geared up for all inclusive, we were B and B so we had to pay for our drinks at more than €3 for a small beer. A large beer at the marina is only €3 so if your not all inclusive be prepared for high drink prices,or there's a super market up the road, buy it there and drink on your balcony.
Breakfast was fantastic, you could have anything you wanted. Don't know about evening meals because we ate out, mostly at the marina, that is about a 15 minute walk away with a good selection of very nice restaurants,
The pool area was very clean, plenty of sun beds and shaded areas if you needed them.
Overall the hotel is very nice. It's clean and tidy, the staff are fantastic and the food is very good.
I wanted to rate it 3 but my wife insisted it was a 4, maybe I was being a bit too critical but I don't like paying over the odds for a pint!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Lanzarote Park last June, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Having arrived back late last night from a weeks holiday here at Iberostar Papygayo, we can only say what a lovely hotel it is, the staff and very friendly and obliging, we asked for a pool view room and we were not disappointed room 304 was a short walk to lift and on the same floor as restaurant, brilliant for me as I have a walking problem at the moment. Food in abundance, and the nice touches of drinks, fruit, ice cream brought round was very much appreciated, we will definitely be returning especially if we can have a room on the same level. By the way the weather was superb, bit windy in the mornings but just after 11 it became really hot, so had to spend time in the pool, which was great.

Room Tip: We had a pool room which suited us fine, but a lot of people preferred sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Papagayo for a week and it was very good overall. The check in was excellent by the lovely lady on 13th April around 2pm and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself is a 4 star, as opposed to some in Europe which disappoint. We were lucky enough to be able to upgrade from a sea view to a suite for 15 euros a night and it was worth it. Lovely big room, great view and a large double bed, the latter of which they apparently don't have many of as tend to be singles put side by side as opposed to joining. Room was very clean and looked after extremely well by our maid. Food was all very good and a wide range for all tastes and it was all so fresh. Only thing was the dinner serving closed a bit early at 21:30 prompt. There were so lovely touches by the staff in the daytime who came round with a mohito, crisps, fruit and ice creams to everyone on a few days. Only gripes were - paying for safe and wifi when all inclusive. All staff were excellent, professional and friendly and the male life guard was most attentive when small kids were in the pool. Hotel about 10 minutes to the marina and another 10 to main Playa Blanca with a good beach. Overall, our stay was great and I can certainly recommend the hotel. Thank you to all the excellent hard working staff.

Room Tip: Suites are excellent - rooms 452 to 456. Don't expect a double bed for most rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my partner and some friends in September. The hotel was very clean and set up well with staff being very helpful. The pool is good with enough beds for everyone. We don't have any kids but there was plenty of entertainment throughout the day catering all ages, even we joined in some days for a laugh. We went half board and the food for breakfast and dinner was very good with a good selection. The breakfast never really changed but the week we stayed the evening meal did change every day. The hotel has a great view and is within walking distance to beaches and the marina which is very nice and has a good selection of restaurants if you wanted a night away from the hotel. Just u the road from the front of the hotel there is a supermarket which sells food and drink cheap as well English papers. It was a good place to go every day for water and a snack as we weren't all inclusive and to be honest the price difference between half board and all inclusive was to a degree that it was cheaper to buy water and snack for lunch everyday. Overall i would recommend this hotel, its not luxury or 5 star but does the job well and thats why i've given it 4 our of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed here within 8 months and once again had a good relaxing time. The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to oblige and help.

The food was again good although desserts are of the same type each evening this is not a problem. The range of food for all nationalities is second to none and even breakfast is a feast.

The hotel is situated about a mile from the glorious beaches and are easy to reach on food for those who are agile. Those with walking difficulties may find this difficult. The marina is a great place to sit and relax. Even in the Easter school holidays it was a quiet and relaxing time.

Congratulations for keeping up the standard.

Room Tip: Sea or pool view on ground or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Papagayo, as a family. As there were three of us, Father and two teenagers, we were located in the main Hotel. I think families of four usually stay in the apartments in the rear complex. It was one of the best holidays we’ve ever had, and I cannot find fault. I’ll try and give a bit more detail though.

Reception is located through the main doors, at street level. The staff are really friendly, and dead helpful. We purchased wifi here for the week, which was €20. Not only did the wifi work in your room, it also worked all over the Hotel, including the pools at the front and rear complex. Only one device can be connected at a time, but if my daughter logged out of her ipod, I could log onto my phones wifi. Usually had to wait 15mins for the connection to drop before connecting another device. But it gave all three of us the chance to use internet on our own devices for just one fee.
Also on the ground floor is a bar, pool table (€1), TV room and an outdoor terrace overlooking the front pool.

The main Hotel pool is on the lower level, which does reduce the wind a little. We were there at Easter, and there were plenty of sunbeds to choose from. There didn’t seem to be an invasion od people rushing to reserve beds with their towels. Also on the lower level is the restaurant, which was fantastic. The food was brilliant, and the staff were amazing. Some things were repeated on the menu, but they were nice, and it was a pleasant surprise when something you enjoyed re-appeared. There’s also a pool bar by the main pool with self service fanta limon, fanta orange, coke, diet coke, water and beer.

There’s a tunnel linking the front and rear complex. We did sunbath at the rear complex a few times, as it was fairly quiet, and had much less of a breeze, making it slightly warmer than the front. The pool bar at the rear complex was closed while we were there, but I’d imagine it’s open in the height of season.

The room we had (in main Hotel), had twin beds, and a comfortable bed settee. TV had three English channels, balcony had table and chairs, mini fridge to chill your water, dressing table, wardrobes with quite a few hangers etc. In the bathroom, shower over the bath with soap dispenser, hair dryer, and loads of room. The cleaner made beds and changed towels daily. Room has air con. Safe is also located in the wardrobe, think it was €15, plus a €6 returnable deposit (no keys – electronic digit safe where you select the numbers).
In the lower basement is a large room for the evening entertainment. Plenty of seats, good shows and friendly bar staff.

We hired a car for one day while there. This was done through the Thomas Cook rep. A chap from Avia arrived at 9.15am, and took us to their office. Within 10mins we were in a car, out on the road. Cost €53 for the day. We drove all over the island, and €10 petrol replaced what we had used.

There isn’t much around the Hotel. Across the road (almost), is a large supermarket. You won’t need water, as the cleaner leaves you a new bottle everyday for free.
The Marina is about a 10minute walk along a lovely coastal path with fantastic views of the Ocean and Fuertevntura. Another 20mins and you’re in the centre of Playa Blanca. The Hotel have a free shuttle bus service to the resort though, which leaves and returns four times a day.
We tended to walk to Playa Blanca, then jump in a taxi to return. The Taxi fare was €3.60 approx, so no more than €5 with your tip.

All in all, and absolutely fab Hotel, and I would love to return again.

Room Tip: We were room 524 which overlooked the main pool Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Papagayo

Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5; San Marcial del Rubicon; Playa Blanca, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel is located on the island of Lanzarote, a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. This 4-star hotel in Playa de las Coloradas designed particularly with families in mind is open all year round and offers a full range of entertainment, sports and relaxation. At the IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel you can enjoy the most out of the island's natural paradise, as well as its volcanic landscapes, tropical vegetation, crystal clear waters and idyllic beaches. Family holidays in Lanzarote are more fun at the IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Papagayo Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.