We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Papagayo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Papagayo to your Saves list
Iberostar Papagayo
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Las Palmas, 5; San Marcial del Rubicon; Playa Blanca, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of strong reviews, and weren't disappointed.

We were upgraded from a basic double to a family room which meant we got a kitchen, lounge area and eating area - much more than we bargained for! (We were in the family annexe over the road - this really didn't bother us as the pool there was nice and quiet, and the rest of the hotel is probably less than 100m away so it's really not a big deal.) The rooms were spotlessly clean and service everyday. The only thing I didn't like was that our terrace was right next to the path between the family annexe and the main hotel, which made it a bit overlooked - but this is a really minor thing, and very much a case of personal preference.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but the food was varied, good quality and plentiful. We really were spoilt for choice with the cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, continental breakfast, hot breakfast etc. The staff at breakfast (and reception) were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is about a 15 minute easy stroll to the marina, which has a good selection of restaurants. Playa Blanca itself is about a 40 minute stroll (all along very easy, paved routes). We also walked to the Papagoya beaches from the hotel - the first sandy beach is about 15 minutes walk but we carried on to the Punta de Papagoya which is about 45 minutes. There was a bit of scrambling, but I did the walk in flip flops so it really isn't too taxing. There are a lot of naturists on all of the beaches, but it was equally ok to stay fully clothed (as we did!)

All in all, a great break and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    664
    218
    49
    23
See reviews for
474
787
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from a seven day trip to the Iberostar Papagayo. I was with my husband and close friends and we all enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff were very helpful and extremely friendly, we found the hotel clean and extremely welcoming. The food was good and the staff constantly checked the serving areas. The bar staff were also welcoming and suggested drink and cocktails that we could all try. We had a junior suite although basic furniture it was clean and had beautiful views our to sea. Paddy and the animation team were excellent and great fun. I would certaily recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: all junior suits face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Papagayo, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for describing with so much details our complete services and facilities. We are delighted to read that you felt welcome in our Iberostar Papagayo, as it is very pleasant to see that with you we have made our goal to offer a really good and relaxing holiday.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals good, the animation excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the cleanliness and the comfort of the junior suite were satisfactory to you.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable vacation and phrases like “I would certainly recommend this hotel to others “indicate us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the confirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having just returned from a 7 day All Inclusive break at the Iberiostar Papagayo Hotel I can confirm that I would recommend the hotel to anyone seeking a good value for money hotel. Rooms were very good ours being a sea view with balcony (available for a small additional charge), general hotel rooms and decor were excellant. I would consider pool size could present a problem in the High Season but of course no problem this time of year.Very nice walk available taking 10-15 miniutes to get to a very good marina and probably a good 45 minute walk to Playa Blanca.My only negative factor would be with regard to the restaurant. Whilst it was very clean and spacious offering a good selection of food - chips with everything for those that wish flavour for many of the courses seemed to be lacking.This was equally as noticeable with the meats as with the desserts.
In summary in spite of the negative comments re food I would most definately visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose sea view bacony or junior suites. Well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Papagayo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Iberostar Papagayo was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

We are satisfied to read that we were successful in many of our services. As you wrote that you enjoyed the excellent cleaning and the efforts of our outstanding staff we know you took some beautiful holiday memories back home, and to us this is part of our target. It is wonderful that you highlighted the good value for money which we offer and that you felt really comfortable with your room and lovely balcony.

Last but not least, we are really proud to read that you highly recommend the Iberostar Papagayo. This is a beautiful award for our daily labors and a source of strength to continue striving to fulfill each and every demanding quality standard prescribed by our company. Once more, we thank you for posting this nice review and we look forward to may serve you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my girlfriend at the Iberostar Papagayo between 21-26 February on our first holiday together. From the first minute to the last minute everything was perfect.

On arrival we were upgraded to a very large apartment with a full sea view. It was a nice touch to have a kitchen and a large seating area instead of just a room. The staff couldn't have done more for us. The reception staff were brilliant, the restaurant staff great, and the cleaning staff exceptional. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and the choice of food in the restaurant exceeded all expectation. It would have been very easy to be complete gluttons, but we resisted!!

A real plus point was being able to help yourself to beer, wine, soft drinks and water during the evening meal for a single daily charge of €6 each, as we were on half board. An absolute bargain!

The hotel itself was in a quiet area on the edge of the resort, which is just what we wanted. A gentle 10-15 minute stroll took us to a gorgeous marina surrounded by lovely bars and restaurants. Another 15 minutes away was the main resort itself which was lovely too :-) There is a twice weekly market at the marina, almost completely devoid of cheap tacky tat!

There weren't many English/British people at the hotel, which was fine. A bonus was a complete lack of loud chavs!!!

Highly recommended! Definitely worth a visit. We will definitely be going again

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Papagayo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Peter,

What a delight to read your extensive review full of wonderful comments on our Iberostar Papagayo. We always strive to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal.

We do our best to ensure that the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the Iberostar Papagayo and to capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest. We are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with this aspect of your stay with us.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and with plenty of choices. We will pass these compliments to our chefs, as this kind off praising mentions, help us to keep on working enthused in the future.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent a week 21/28 February at the Iberostar Papagayo hotel in Playa Blanca Lanzarote. We had a junior suite facing out to sea which was lovely. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with a wide variety of choice to suit everyone. Although the main centre of Playa Blanca was about 45 minute walk away, a courtesy bus was available to and from the edge of the town centre every couple is hours for those who wanted it.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend it.

Room Tip: The junior suite we had was spacious clean and even had a roomy "walk in" wardrobe which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Papagayo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sue,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We do our utmost to ensure that our customers can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Therefore, we are delighted that you underlined the fantastic buffets our chefs prepared for you as well as the friendly and efficient waiter service.

Regarding the service orientation and professionalism of our staff, which is the prime pillar of our company, we are delighted to read how much this contributed to your wellbeing at the Iberostar Papagayo. This strengthens our determination to continue developing an authentic service culture that enchants each and every of our clients.

It is also very enjoyable reading that you felt comfortable in the room and the common areas which we keep very clean. It is our goal to provide comfortable and spotless accommodation in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with it.

Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your first holiday with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Lanzarote.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband tried somewhere new this visit and there was a goo deal on with this one. So wasn't expecting much as the reviews are very hit and miss, but were pleasantly surprised.
Nice friendly staff on reception and bars, all the amenities you need and a nice atomosphere.
The food was nice but we ate out a lot to try the local cuisine and venture into the town anyway.
Rooms were cleaned well and like I said has very thing you needed.
The weather was just right as well! Very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Papagayo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we are absolutely delighted to read how much you have enjoyed their professionalism and client-friendliness at the reception and bars.

Moreover, we are grateful that you underlined the quality and variety of our buffets. We pay the finest attention when it comes to culinary highlights and tasty drinks, because we are convinced that the gastronomic experience covers an important part of the all over experience and it is one of the pillars of our company to conquest all palates.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best wishes,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent a week 21/28 February at the Iberostar Papagayo. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is situated in a quiet area within easy walking distance of the Rubicon Marina (15 mins) and main town a further 20 mins, along a well made wide coastal path. The food and service were both good and the whole hotel was very clean. Whilst the bedroom was spacious it was in need of refurbishment, as was the bathroom, with an upgrade required in technology particularly the television and availablity of international channels. We would happily stay there again by which time hopefully the facilities will have been up dated.

Room Tip: First floor sea view room is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Papagayo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Richard,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

It is a pleasure to inform you that as we speak a project is set up to study the possibilities of renewing some of the areas of our Iberostar Papagayo. However, we are glad that you highlighted the fact that despite being constructed a few years ago, we go out of our way to keep everything spotless and as well maintained as we can.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the cleanliness, the varied entertainment and the location, were satisfactory to you.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable vacation and phrases like “We would happily stay there again “indicate us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the confirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Papagayo

Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5; San Marcial del Rubicon; Playa Blanca, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel is located on the island of Lanzarote, a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. This 4-star hotel in Playa de las Coloradas designed particularly with families in mind is open all year round and offers a full range of entertainment, sports and relaxation. At the IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel you can enjoy the most out of the island's natural paradise, as well as its volcanic landscapes, tropical vegetation, crystal clear waters and idyllic beaches. Family holidays in Lanzarote are more fun at the IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Papagayo Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Papagayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.