We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm two weeks in relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel to your Saves list
THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Las Palmas, 5, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
stafford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Warm two weeks in relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks recently and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We were upgraded to a family room with kitchenette and lounge in a separate building from the hotel which had its own pool and was joined to the main building by a tunnel. The room was clean and spacious.

We only stayed bed and breakfast but the breakfasts had everything anyone could want and then some! We were impressed by the little extras like sparkling wine or buck's fizz and strawberries brought round some mornings.

The staff were lovely - always helpful, smiling and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were particularly grateful for the cold drink on arrival. The hotel is up to the usual Iberostar standard - very well run, spotless and with good facilities.

The area is quiet with a lovely marina housing shops, bars and restaurants about a pleasant 10 minute walk away with the main resort a further 30 minute walk along a pleasant walkway along the cliff top and beach which was well-lit at night.

We had a wonderfully relaxing two weeks without leaving the resort (a first for us) as there was enough to keep us amused just pottering in the shops and walking to and from the lighthouse at the far end of the resort. We would definitely return to this hotel for a winter holiday - again not something we have ever said before.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment in the separate block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your stay in Iberostar Papagayo. The heads of departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your comments with our team. Your positive and encouraging words motivated us to keep on working with joy and enthusiasm.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed their professionalism. We will congratulate our colleagues and inform them regarding your praising comments.

It is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts . We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    711
    228
    57
    27
See reviews for
492
844
67
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From the 12th - 19th February my wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Papagayo to help celebrate our Wedding Anniversary on 14th.

A short break and a welcomed time getting away from the English climate. The third time at this hotel in about a year. Bearing in mind it is also winter in Lanzarote we had 6 really good and sunny days and one cloudy day that was still much warmer than our friends and family were experiencing in the UK so really nice.

As usual we booked a Sea View (NOTE - NOT a 'side sea view') and Half Board which meant that we could spend our days relaxing on one of the Papagayo beaches or driving around the island.

Flying Ryan Air from Bristol we arrived at the hotel at around 5pm (so a little late in the day) and were promptly given our room key. Rather surprisingly we were allocated room 578 (a room overlooking the pool, other buildings and then the sea) which was not in the area we where had benefitted from a Sea View (not a side sea view, see previous reviews) before. I queried this and was told that this room still had a sea view. Luckily the hotel was fairly quiet so no problems with the general noise and hubub we have experienced in rooms overlooking the pool previously during peak season (which can last from 07.30am to 10pm in high season).

It was only when checking out on the last day that I noticed on the room card that we had actually been allocated a Junior Suite but the room number had been Tipex'ed out and changed to 578 which was a standard twin room.

Looking at the hotel web site, I see the picture shown against a 'sea side view' was actually taken from room 578 so maybe we didn't get what we paid for after all. From previous experience a sea side view can entail having to lean out over the balcony and look left (or right) to be able to see the sea but in this instance it might be an indication of being slightly removed from the sea.

Room detail apart, the room was clean and tidy, the service was very good as always, the food was great and facilities were excellent.

I have a slight doubt in my mind that we actually ended up with what we paid for and also have a feeling that the Junior Suite we had been allocated (possibly by booking early and in recognition of our 3rd stay in a year) had been given to someone else.

Maybe I'm whinging unnecessarily but the holiday which was enjoyed greatly just left us with the slight feeling that we didn't quite get what we expected or what looked as if had been allocated to us.

The above will not stop us from returning but I think I will try and nail down the detail before our next visit to the hotel as when questioning reception staff, although very professional, polite and always greeting with a smile, maybe you might be told what you need to know rather than how it really is?

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, make sure you don't end up with a room with a 'sea side view' wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Chris,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Iberostar Papagayo for your wedding anniversary, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. We are convinced that listening to our clients is the best way to achieve their satisfaction and therefore we took good note of the opportunities of improvement that your review offers us.

Regarding the doubts related to your booking and the rom you have been allocated in, we would like to point out that we have different types, views and rates at disposal and we can only imagine that there must have been confusion during the booking as all of the types are precisely described at our webpage. As you comment that your room was not fitting the advertised conditions, we are afraid that the reservation might have been of another category than the one you saw on internet. As we feel sad about your disappointment, for coming occasions, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our Iberostar call center or webpage, to make sure you become what you actually desire.

Further, we are happy that you could enjoy the efforts of our housekeepers and find that everything was kept very clean at all times. We passed your compliments to the staff and they were all delighted to have contributed to your wellbeing at the Iberostar Papagayo. Positive commentaries like yours help us to stay motivated and continue trying our utmost to provide perfectly spotless accommodation.

Moreover, we are proud and happy to see that you enjoyed all of our other services and we will certainly congratulate all the staff that contributed to delight you with the culinary highlights and the friendliness whilst serving you. This positive feedback stimulates us to continue meeting our demanding quality standards.

Once again, thank you for your feedback; we do appreciate all of your comments as they help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a completely enjoyable and satisfactory experience at the Iberostar Papagayo.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Papagayo and my wife and I had a fabulous time.

The hotel facilities are extensive and very, very clean. Great locaton too - 30 mins to the left you are at Papagayo beaches, 15 mins to the right you are at Rubicon Marina and another 15 mins takes you into Playa Blanca itself. We love walking so the distances didn't bother us, but if it is a problem use the courtesy bus which drops you at Playa Dorada or get a taxi from opposite the supermarket - about 4 euros into PB.

All the staff were very friendly and attend to your every need - we had a couple of small issues the first week and reception resolved these very quickly. The food was fantastic and plentiful and always served with a smile, and on a number of occasions staff came round with free cocktails, bucks fizz, brandy, liquers etc which was a really nice touch - and HB and all-inclusive guests were offered the same "treats".

Wi fi access cost me 20 euros per week and the safe about 15 euros per week - a bit annoying but I wouldn't have been without either.

The entertainment team worked hard but the shows were not really our cup of tea - but they never are, so perhaps we are hard to please. Generally, we went to the marina or PB at night and we really enjoyed the live music at The Old Mill - thanks Gerry Cassidy and Lee Barber!
You could also try The Jungle and The Irish Anvil (near the port) for live music. At the marina, it is worth the extra walk to the One Bar for a nice drink in a lovely waterside bar.

Papagayo Beaches are fantastic - make sure you visit all six. Some are naturist beaches but nobody bothers whether you keep your clothes on or take them off. On foot doing the six beaches is a bit of a hike but well worth it. In PB itself you have the choice of three beaches - Playa Dorada, the town beach or Playa Flamingo - all very nice and more accessible.

Back to the hotel, lovely pools (but a bit cold in February), superb Wellness Centre (check it out even if you don't use the facilities), superb show lounge (like on a cruise ship), nice lounge bar etc. And breathtaking views across the bay from the "sun deck".

The hotel is a little bit isolated with no bars or restaurants in the immediate vicinity but you soon get used to that.

This was our first time in Playa Blanca and the Iberostar Papayago but I strongly recommend both the resort and the hotel. Both excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

We do our utmost to ensure that our customers can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Therefore, we are delighted that you underlined the fantastic buffets our chefs prepared for you as well as the friendly and efficient waiter service.

Regarding the service orientation and professionalism of our staff, which is the prime pillar of our company, we are delighted to read how much this contributed to your wellbeing at the Iberostar Papagayo. This strengthens our determination to continue developing an authentic service culture that enchants each and every of our clients.

It is also very enjoyable reading that you felt comfortable in the room and the common areas which we keep very clean. It is our goal to provide comfortable and spotless accommodation in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with it.

Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your first holiday with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Lanzarote.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Feb 14 th 2013 . Staff are very good. Hotel is very clean and every one speaks and says Good morning. The food is good and plentiful. Shuttle bus to Playa Blanca well run and prompt. Entertainment and the team are very good, Overall no problems recommending this Hotel to people of my age (65). Embassy Regal 22 -24 Euros in the resort. Gordons Gin 11-14 Euros. Would I come back ? Yes.

Room Tip: room 424 does not get sun at this time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the cleanliness, the varied entertainment and the location, were satisfactory to you.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here in early January for 10 days, it was our second stay in Iberostar Papagayo and we were pleased to see that the standard was just as high as last year!

We choose the half board option in a basic double room. We really liked the room as it was totally private and although it looked out at a lava wall, it was southwest facing and very bright.

The choice of food is fabulous both at breakfast and dinner and you would have to be extremely fussy not to find something you liked. During the 3 kings holiday period the waiters handed out cava at breakfast and brandy etc after evening meal, a nice touch! We choose to pay 6 euro each to have self service wine and beer during dinner and this was definitely a good choice.

The staff are friendly and efficient at all times and standards of cleanliness are always high throughout the hotel.

In short this is an excellent hotel for a relaxing break in the sun and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that your stay at the Iberostar Papagayo was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with only good holiday memories.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. Moreover, at the Iberostar Papagayo it is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Arrived 6 of us 28/1/13 to 7/2/13 got to the hotel late about 21.00 as 1 of the couple that was travelling with us had his case taken by mistake at the airport. After a quick check in we left our cases minus 1 and went to the restaurant as it closes at 21.30 the food was ok even though we were late it didn't seem like leftovers. We were put into the apartments across the road wasn't looking forward to it at first as we wanted to stay at the hotel but the rooms were very spacious glad we stopped in them. The hotel bar staff restaurant staff and the cleaners were very good couldn't do enough for you. The animation team Dani Stefan and the girls did a very good job Sol night not to be mist she is a very good singer the only show that was poor was Excel they didn't excel for me. The food was good apart from a few times when the vegetables were cold and soup Luke warm always a different meat each night also fresh salmon one night. The only problem we had and nothing to do with the hotel was with the missing case. The reception staff helped us even though it wasn't there problem and the couple got it back the next day. The walk to Rubicon marina is well worth the walk very nice place.

All in all the hotel was very pleasant and would stay there again.

Keith

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Keith,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

We are glad that our hotel and apartments have astounded you with its excellent location and it´s spotlessness. We hope you will have the opportunity to be back for another visit and delight yourself with the exquisite cuisine, personalized service and truly passionate entertainment we strive to perform.

In Iberostar it is our goal that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable holiday and phrases like “All in all, the hotel was very pleasant and would stay there again“ show us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the affirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

stayed for 1 week, feb 3rd/10th, first visit to Lanzarote, and we chose the Iberostar via Thomas Cook.....Hotel was smart, room nice, only 1 restaurant, and 1 bar with an entertainment bar as well........just felt it lacked a little variety...we walked to the Sandos Papagayo, and for a little more, was much bigger with multiple areas to sit/eat/drink.
Great coastal walk, week only spoilt by an unseasonable cold wind for 3 days, cold as in fleece/jacket...overall nice winter break, and whilst the hotel isnt exceptional in any one thing,an enjoyable stay nonetheless

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Dave,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how you experienced your stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve customer satisfaction and therefore our guest´s reviews are of prime importance. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that everybody leaves with beautiful vacation memories.

We are sorry to hear that you expected more seating areas than the ones we offer and announce on our webpage and catalogues. To avoid deceptions in the future, in our Iberostar call center we will be more than happy to help you booking in an Iberostar hotel of the characteristics that best fit your needs.

On the other hand, we are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with the all over experience as well as the comfort of our rooms and common areas.

We are grateful for your feedback and we hope to may take the opportunity to serve you again and cause through our high quality service and the fulfillment of our Iberostar hotel standards, a good and lasting impression.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel

Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THe Mirador Papagayo hotel is located on the island of Lanzarote, a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. This 4-star hotel in Playa de las Coloradas designed particularly with families in mind is open all year round and offers a full range of entertainment, sports and relaxation. At THe Mirador Papagayo hotel you can enjoy the most out of the island's natural paradise, as well as its volcanic landscapes, tropical vegetation, crystal clear waters and idyllic beaches. Family holidays in Lanzarote are more fun at the THe Mirador Papagayo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.