We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Playa Blanca Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rio Playa Blanca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 35 hotels in Playa Blanca
London, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overall a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel itself is in a great location, right opposite a water park and a 5 mins walk from shops and 3 mins from the beach. The gardens in the hotel and around the villas are beautifully kept and all the staff are very polite. The rooms themselves are very large with all the things you need in them, each has its own patio complete with chairs and a table.
What made our holiday though had to be the animation (entertainment) team if you are a family you will love it, they are amazingly polite and really care about your experience, they do as much as they possibly can, one member, Niels is by far the best and puts his heart into everything he does with everyone there and a invaluable member of the team. If you have small child Yvette who does the kids club is very very good with them and keeps the kids entertained all day.
By far a really good holiday, security around the hotel was very bad when we first arrived however they assured us they would be sorting this out during our stay which to my knowledge they have. The food does seem to get better and there is always something you will like.
VERY RECOMMENDED IF YOUR A FAMILY.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    286
    146
    78
    58
See reviews for
309
253
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Have just returned from a 12 day family holiday with my two daughters aged 20 and 18, we could quite happily jump on a plane back there!! I would agree with the comments that the Hotel is not a 4*. I'm sure when it was built it was but it is now rather tired and more a 3*. That said, the quality and quantity of the food, the friendliness of the staff (special mention to the lovely Anita always smiling and helpful and Yanni too) and the hard work of the Animation team made the holiday all we could have wished for. Another special mention to Niels, Yvette and Joanne from the Animation team, as I'm not sure how the holiday would have been without them. They did all they could to entertain the holidaymakers despite their obvious lack of funds and props. We certainly spent many a night with aching sides following their evening performances.

The bungalows are beautifully large and we had a two bed, two bathroom as requested, which although in need of upgrading was truly lovely. We had a kettle in our bungalow and a welcome bottle of red waiting for us. The gardens too are well kept and the layout of the complex is wonderful and quiet. The night we arrived was full of 60+ holidaymakers but these had all left by 18 December and the complex soon filled up with young families, singles and couples which totally transformed the feel of things.

Unfortunately for us, my sister had her bungalow broken into the day she arrived (don't go for 1111) and there were two further break-ins during our stay. The Hotel handled this very well indeed and were extremely efficient in sorting a new bungalow, with complimentary champagne. The Reception staff did everything they could and allowed my sister to make all her calls to the airline, insurance company etc from the Reception phone and the Hotel Director assisted with the Police for translation etc. However, we learned that the Hotel had no security in place at the time but this has now been resolved, so hopefully there should be no further problems in this respect.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for the Christmas period but would suggest not arriving before 18-20 December.

Room Tip: If staying in a two bed you don't need to request a particular bungalow as all in good location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had a great time at the resort for 8 days, Traveled with 2 kids - 5 yrs & 3 yrs old. Arrived and were given a great villa straightaway. The villa was clean and well looked after, the food was very varied and well presented - tasted good as well.

The best bit was the entertainment team specially Neil's & Joanna who were great with the kids...can not fault a great time had by all within a small budget!

Looking to book next year as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

this was our second time staying at this hotel and we cant wait to go back. The semidetatched bungalows are well layed out, spacious and very private. The food is excellent with a selection that should suit most people. The staff are extremely helpfull and friendly. A special mention for the entertainment staff who were great and very friendly. Great location, great climate and great people made a great holiday

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

stayed here from 13/23 december 2012. When we arrived afternoon were greeted by very pleasant chap who advised us to leave our suitcases & get something to eat as restaurant would be closing at 3pm & when we come back would get us checked in. Our apartment was lovely, yes not the ritz, but it was very spacious clean and cool enough to sleep in at night. We had a kettle for tea & coffee making and you don't need remote for tv if you wish to watch it It does loose signal but expect this would happen with remote or not. Our towels were changed every day & apartment cleaned every day except friday as day off. They were extremely quiet at night and did not hear anything which was great. The food was really good, plentiful, tasty and replenished often & check the rosy wine out really good. Only grip about restaurant is that they tend to make tables up to quickly for breakfast or dinner & keep trying to move you to another table after 3 days of being moved advised nope we are not moving again but did have wee laugh with waitress & asked her where we should seat & she happily got us table, so no big fuss. The pool areas were lovely & clean and yip one of the pools was like jumping into the freezer but was ok once in, no need to get up at crack of dawn to reserve a bed either as hundreds but this may be down to time of year we went. The bar staff were also very good and quick at serving you drinks. The entertainment was typical hotel entertainment ok and they did try & put on show for you which was ok. We took walk into town in afternoons late on and found a great bar called gravity fantastice 2 euros a pint of cold carling lovely and the landlady makes a fabulous baillies, yummy well worth a visit. If you do go out a night take a torch and make sure its a big one as it is pitch black outside, no street lights but a taxi would cost you less than 4 euros so not expensive. I deffo would stay here again could not say a bad word about it and hey if anyone gets apartment 1090 please say hi to the beautiful massive old black cat who waits patiently for a wee treat, bless him.

Room Tip: all rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cemaes Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just got back from 12 nights all inclusive, couldn't fault the hotel / complex at all.
The food was good, wide selection to suit all. The apartments were spacious, good lay out across the complex,apartments being semi detached, positioned with the bedrooms being on the external wall (nice to not hear the guy next door sneeze when your in bed!) comfy bed which is a novelty! The heated pool was lovely and warm especially after a dip in the larger pool (cold but refreshing) Staff and entertainment group were great couldn't do enough for you, nothing a problem.Party of 6 age group range from 10 to 70 and everyone was more than happy.A well positioned complex not far from the beach and promenade.Weather was fantastic.Had a car for the duration which is a must on Lanzarote for a few trips out sight seeing, the island not that big and the roads are quite. All in all a nice complex, good food, good location, good weather and all for a good price. We will stay here again when returning to Lanzarote.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I spent some time looking at the hotels etc in Playa Blanca for a quick week away before Christmas, I always like to make my own mind up about a place as we all have different needs and different ways of viewing somewhere.
We arrived just after 9.30 and greeted with the restaurant is closed which at 9 ish I feel is early but we were told we could have a plated up salad around 10.30 pm, (I did enjoy this as I was quite hungry.
The average age was late 60 so any music that was played was all from that era, now I like a little Elvis but not all the time.
The star rating is a 4 star and I have both worked (20 years in catering) and been to many star rated hotels and this isn't a 4 star the reason I say this you would expect in a 4 star to have your bed linen changed more than once a week, this is a warm all year round country and I have stayed in 3 star properties that change the bed linen every couple of days, 4 star properties you wouldn't normally find that you have to pay for a safe key I can see why you would pay in a lesser star rating but again this is a 4 star, we had no tea and coffee making facilities and you have to pay for a remote for the television (not that I am lazy but without the remote you couldn't get the tv to stay on)
there are lots of remarks about food at this property and I feel suitably experienced to say the food is fine but with a little change could be a lot better, I witnessed the practice of them changing the food on display and this was done correctly, people always seemed to be stood around waiting for the food to be filled up so maybe a little more observation would help to stop this.
The nights after Dinner I didn't enjoy not even the all inclusive package I was on could keep me happy enough to stay there and we found ourselves going into town and spending money that we shouldn't have to, this could have been as we were on our own and not in a group.
I feel the holiday is great for the age group mentioned but didn't feel it was right for a slightly younger audience and speaking to others at the end of the week the feelings was shared

Room Tip: I don't think even by asking for a particular room you would be allocated it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Playa Blanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Playa Blanca Hotel

Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 hotels in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rio Playa Blanca Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is the perfect place to enjoy an unforgettable holiday on the island of Lanzarote.The horizontal distribution of the hotel and the stunning views of Lobos and Fuerteventura islands make it the perfect place stay with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Rio Playa Blanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel Lanzarote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.