We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Flamingo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Flamingo Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montana Roja s/n, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited in july 2013. First impression was good. Friendly staff, nice clean hotel etc. However bed time found that the beds were so uncomfortable that you couldn't sleep. Sun loungers were kept from first thing in the morning till tea tea time bur never used all day, staff told the guests to remove the towels themselves.......... food repetitive and boring. Ended up at chinese 3 times in a 2 week stay just for a change. Entertainment, staff worked extremely hard but night time was so loud the kids were scared to enter the room. The doors and gate to room didnt shut properly, we had building work right outside our room which we weren't informed of. No sun cover on slide so it ended up the kids couldn't slide down it as too hot. Rooms were small and had no where to keep cases etc so climbing over them all the time.

We did not sleep for fortnight due to the beds.

I wouls say keep your money and go elsewhere

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Thomsons rate this as 4 star but easily a 2 star. Seriously needs updating and correct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    639
    225
    116
    64
See reviews for
1,272
263
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Best place ever to take kids. Took my grandson there from 18th to 25th August. He had a ball from start to finish. On Thursday night he had an accident in the playground when he got an elbow in the face and lost a tooth, and a lot of blood but the bar man in The Sports Bar went above and beyond the call of duty to look after him . Well done and thank. Would have no hesitation in returning there again. First Choice Reps were very professional in all their work. Overall I would give the complex 10 out of 10. Liam O' Donnell, Ireland.

Room Tip: Stayed in B63 it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, General Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear customers,
Thank you for your email. I am very happy that your experience in Flamingo has been as expected. Hope to see you soon again.

Regards

Jonay Afonso .
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Flamingo Beach. This was our first family holiday abroad and we booked it over a year ago without reading any reviews of the place. We were a bit apprehensive after we had looked on trip advisor, however when we got there the holiday far exceeded our expectations.

Accommodation:
We had a standard 1 bed apartment but we were pleasantly surprised to find that myself and my wife has a separate room and the children had their own small tucked away bunk bed space, leaving a small lounge area with sofa, TV and kitchenette. We didn't really use any of the kitchen which had a microwave, kettle, sink and fridge as there was never really any time when we could not get what we wanted from the all-inclusive. It was all immaculately clean and fairly comfy. I am quite particular about beds and often find that my back aches when staying in hotels but 2 weeks here was no problem. The apartment was right next to Reception but was till quiet and the noise from the main pool didn't bother us as we were not really in our room much during the day.

Food:
Myself and my wife like our food and we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the food is not 5 star quality, however the buffet restaurant always had a large selection of food and we found that we ate something different every night we ate in there. We also enjoyed our nights in the other restaurants, particularly enjoying the more relaxed atmosphere in the Green and Grill. After the first week we started also having our lunch in here as it's version of snacks consisted of a mini buffet with cooked dishes, salad, burgers, hot dogs, fruit, baguettes, toasties and puddings. We always left feeling very happy. The drinks were also good with self-service soft drinks, water, beer and wine. You can also fill up your own bottles with water so we didn't need to buy any for trips or during the night. We also enjoyed the cocktails in the Blue Moon bar and found that the measure in the gin and vodka were very generous!!! We also found that all the waiters were really lovely and engaged well with our children - often joking with their teddies, playing silly little games or offering them lollies - a real credit to the hotel.

Entertainment:
The First Choice Reps were fantastic and really engaged my children. As a family who have holidayed at Haven Caravan parks up until now they loved that sort of entertainment with games, dances and acts. My son particularly enjoyed the local magic show act and we all enjoyed the Splashathon night where Jamie and Frank had their hair shaved off for charity! The Kid's club reps were excellent. We didn't think that our children would really do many of these sessions but after their first they did one nearly every day. I would recommend getting there at least 10 mins before an activity as sometimes it can be busy and they only let a certain number in each session. We were also very impressed with the signing I and out procedures and didn't understand why some parents were getting cross when the reps questioned their signatures or someone turned up who hadn't signed the card. Surely we all want to feel safe that the Reps will do everything possible to keep our children safe and make sure they don't get handed over to the wrong people!!! Both my children enjoyed working with Charley who always made a point of saying 'hello' and asking if they'd had a good day when she saw us around the village.

Pools:
Yes, the sunbed situation around the main pool was comical with some people waiting from 7:30 to get their loungers. There are large signs everywhere saying that you are not allowed to reserve a sunbed, however we never saw this being enforced. After the first morning we decided that if you can't beat them join them and so I went out at 7:00am each morning and always got loungers around the rectangular activity pool. We really liked this one as it was often a lot quieter and was right next to the bar and snacks. There were short times when half of it was used by the kids club but this was not for more than 45 mins and at times we had the pool to ourselves. We often then moved to the main pool around 4pm when some people had left just to give a bit a change for the children.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely recommend it to others. It does have a few negative points that might make it not such a good holiday for others but for us it was perfect. Our 5 and 7 year old children loved it and can't wait to go abroad again. The only negative part of the holiday for us was the 27 hrs and 45 min delay on the return flight home and the poor customer service from Thomson.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are still really good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, General Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your email. Thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you son.

regards
Jonay Afonso
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wendy B
Just arrive back from Flamingo Beach we were a party of 6 - Grandparents aged 79 & 63, parents aged 37 and children aged 6 and 18 mths so a very mixed age range . Decided to upgrade rooms before departure and had a quick response from the resort On arrival was allocated 6&7- nice appartments if a little dated, overlooking the beach . Overall had a really good family holiday but attention to detail could have made it a great holiday.
The kids club was excellent lots of activities for all ages our 6 year old loved it but some sessions can get overbooked. Reps work very hard during the day and at night. Jess was fantastic and took the time to tell us all about herself and the other resorts she had worked at for First Choice and where we might like to book next year.

Could do better was the welcome session , the rep who delivered this must have had somewhere to go very urgently as she spoke so quickly it was difficult to understand her and was like listening to a speeded up gramophone record . After 20 mins we had lost the will to live and the children were bored to death. If this session was meant to tell us what a great place we had come to and places we could visit it failed miserably and we and many others couldn’t wait to escape which seemed such a missed opportunity

Good food selection and choice of restaurant particularly the grill at lunchtime which was very pleasant with good air conditioning . All the restaurant staff are fantastic with the children.

The Micky Mouse pool for the smaller children is great and partially shaded which meant they weren’t in direct sunshine during the afternoon and close to the snack bar for drinks and ice cream . Plenty of sun beds however not enough sun shades so a bit of a scrabble for places particulary if you have small babies and need shade. Spare shaded were broken

Could do better was the arrival information - signage very poor getting to units 6 and 7 which was quite a walk ended up going up and down steps with cases, children, pushchair etc which could have been avoided if someone had shown us or explained to us an easier route.
Baby changing station in Reception unsafe and dangerous and didn’t use

The entertainment was more or less as expected. Razamataz session don't miss . Eye 5 live from 7.30 – 8.30 which is intended for the smaller children was great fun for the first 30 mins then it went downhill fast. What followed was a drawn out competition which features what can only be described as a large green rubber ball on a badly painted stand called Russell the brussel !! I think they lost the plot here . The competition could have been over and done with in 10 mins and then back to the dancing Stop disappointing the children and get rid of the sprout.
Talking of entertainment if you need a laugh watch the morning fiasco of seeing grown men and women from 7.00am staking out the chained up sun beds around the main pool waiting for them to released at 9.00.
That said, as a family, whilst the children are small we would choose this type of holiday again but can’t wait for them to grow up.

Room Tip: Get good instructions on how to find your room , if you want nice view 6&7 overlook the beach bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our third holiday village trip and was slightly worried about some of the reviews having previously visited holiday villages Algarve (2011) and Majorca(2012) Overall we had a brilliant 2 weeks with the two kids (4&9) in a superior room (74B)
There were some slight issues so let's clear them up first-
the rooms are slightly on the small side but if you're spending much time in them then you're on the wrong holiday. The beds are a bit uncomfortable but sure it's never going to be like your bed at home.
The area by the main pool is small and if you have to get a bed there, be prepared to join the queue for sun beds from 0730hrs until they are unlocked at 0900hrs. However like most sensible people we went to any of the other pool areas where the beds remained unchained and were usually able to get a parasol about 0830hrs.
The main buffet restaurant is a bit small but was not overly busy except at the main breakfast time however we mainly used the upstairs breakfast buffet in the Tex Mex restaurant, this was quieter and afforded a good view of the daily sunbed scramble for the main pool.
Now onto the good points-
All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and usually interacted with the kids when possible.
All the restaurants were great and you could eat in the speciality restaurants as many times as you liked as long as there were spaces. The main buffet had a good variety and tried to cater for all tastes with a good mixture of English and local food. The steaks cooked to your liking in the Green and Grill were sampled at least 4 times( on different nights of course). The Tavern by the Sea had great tapas (the main courses here were ok but on our second and third visits we asked for extra tapas instead of main courses- superb). The Italian served good pasta and pizza and the Tex Mex was also fine.
The evening entertainment is the usual stuff for holiday villages but we spent most evenings outside the Atlantic Bar beside the play park. The only problem here was irresponsible / ignorant parents buying laser pens for their children, some as young as 4, nothing to do with the hotel but maybe a sign banning them would be an idea.
In a superior room you get 1 voucher for 2 sun beds and parasol on the beautiful beach during your stay although some people asked for them more than once and it wasn't a problem. The beach is excellent and the waters are full of fish, if you have a mask and snorkel bring them with you or buy a set there, take a bread roll from the buffet and the fish will eat it right out of you hand.
All in all we had a great holiday and would consider returning had we not already booked Holiday Village Ibiza for 2014 before leaving on this holiday.
Don't worry about the negative reviews unless you want a 5 star holiday for a 4 star price or are someone that is only happy when you're complaining.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, General Manager at Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Customer.

Thank you for your email. Thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you son.

Regards.

Jonay Afonso
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived back from a two week stay at the Flamingo Beach.
On arrival it was lovely to be greeted by some of the First Choice Reps. We were checked in quickly and offered a remote for the air conditioning for a 10e deposit and given a map.
Finding our room at 9pm was a joke and better sign posts are needed. Once located we were happy. We were on the end of a singe storey row c but rarely did we hear any noise from people arriving or leaving. We had a lovely view of the sea.
There is a lack of storage in the rooms. For a family of 4 one wardrobe was cramped. The bathroom needed up dating and repairing but having the bonus of a proper fridge and lounge space was nice. Little unsure why a room for 4 only has 3 balcony chairs but was a lovey size. The beds were quite comfy and our request for more pillows was quickly met by asking a first choice rep. The pull out bed in the lounge did squeak rather and also landed on our daughters foot one night when we moved it but we think the legs weren't quite out.
We went to find the restaurant and were pleased to note that all dishes were clearly labelled with allergens. A couple of times though we did notice nuts on items not noted as such and they also seemed to put nuts out around the cheeses every night in the main restaurant. We never ate puddings as even the icecream said it contained nuts. The small pots of icecream in the snack bar didn't make our daughter react though but only available during the day. We also found that every time we ate in the main restaurant she would feel sick but we countered this by asking daily if there was space at the green and grill or bambola. My husband and son loved the green and grill with the freshly cooked steaks. Was not a lot of choice for vegetarians at any restaurant but you could eat something. Jacket potatoes nice touch in green and and grill and at lunch you could make toasted sandwiches. We ate breakfast in the upstairs/tex mex restaurant, far nicer atmosphere.
The entertainment was not to our taste in the evenings, it was far too loud in the Blue Moon bar.
The Atlantic bar became adult only at 9pm so people crowded outside around the play park. The bar staff did bring out more chairs if you asked. We normally headed back to our room by 10pm and played cards on the balcony.
During the day and in the evenings you can fill up water bottles at the machines in the restaurants and also juice for children. Some people I even saw filling up water bottles with wine!
After arriving at 9pm our welcome meeting was at 9.15am! So it was a bit rushed in the morning! It seemed to be very rushed but reps are around all day if you have questions.
Our kids did join in with some of the kids club activities but if the number of children there sometimes clubs were over subscribed and children turned away, think first choice might need to employ more reps in high season for a greater ratio of children to adults. This even happened to my son who was in escape the older ones club, he then took to going 20 minutes early!!! The high ropes is a good part of the hotel, my kids did it four times squeezing in two on the last day, thanks to the first choice reps.
The sun bed situation is crazy. They should use a ticket system so each room can only get a certain number of beds. So any beds remained empty for large parts of the day as children were in kids clubs or on the beach. There is also a lack of parasols.
We witnessed people saying things like "I was really going to annoy that party and put my beds there" come on its a holiday!!
The last day of our holiday was not the most enjoyable. Despite being told to ask for a late checkout room on arrival, first choice saying ask for one and asking several times we could not get one. Our flight was not leaving the hotel until 6pm we had to be out of room at 12 meaning we had to use a courtesy room booked at 430pm. First we had to find it in the maze of rooms. We collected the key and went to the room, opened the door to find another family there! The family before them had run late, so they kept it late! We looked round and realised we had no towels, apparently you collect them when you get the key, no one mentioned this. Surely handing the towels over with the key would be easier!
The location of the hotel is fabulous, a beach at the bottom of the complex, a 20 minute walk into playa blanca and then 25 more minutes to the Rubicon Marina where the market is.
We went on a trip to the volcano but not through first choice but a company just before you get into playa blanca. After talking to people who did the first choice trip ours was the same and we had an English speaking guide.
The weather we did find strange, we had rain, wind, cloud and a heat wave all in two weeks. If the sun wasn't out and it was windy it could feel chilly. In the evenings too sometimes.
Overall as a family of four, a 12 year old and a 10 year old with a nut allergy the holiday was one of the best we have experienced. Things could be improved in the rooms, with the night entertainment, the extortient charge for wifi, the sunbeds and the kids clubs but despite this we had a lovely time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Not bad but not my cup tea. First choice guys were very good and did a very professional job. My 6 year old daughter loved it, my wife thought it was ok.

Accommodation

Good but basic, I ended up sleeping on the sofa bed which was so uncomfortable that it felt like I had slept for 10 nights on my mates sofa. We had 83b which was nicely out of the way but the people upstairs came in late each night and typically woke us up. It was however spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Food

I like good food, not loads of it, not typical English but good quality, local, well cooked produce with local flavours. Breakfast was ok with a good selection but if you get there after 9 it is busy and not really pleasurable. Lunches ok with salad, bread, chips, nuggets and some hot dishes, I do have an issue though with the 'chefs suggestion' dish being bacon and baked beans mixed up and then put on the lunch buffet - is that the best these chefs can come up with ?. Steer clear of the burgers at lunch as they are the ultimate in processed food. Dinner - poor - the general buffet was very average - yes the selection was varied but the not much looked or actually tasted very nice. A paella was wheeled out one night and it was bland, had broken mussel shell in almost every mouthful and also a small piece of plastic. Some of the desserts were still frozen.

The green room grill is one of the 'booked' restaurants and it is very clean and modern. The steaks from the chargrill were served under the label of 'fillet steak' it is obvious that these are not fillet steak but a poor cheap cut of beef that took serious cutting and even more committed chewing !. Tex mex don't bother - basic buffet with the chef putting over cooked chicken and very chewy beef into tortilla wraps.

I would be fascinated to understand the daily allowance the chef gets to feed guests on as I imagine it is very low and this is reflected in the ingredients.

The best meal we had was at the tavern by the sea which served reasonable tapas , very good salad and ok steak. We broke out from the all inclusive on two occasions and had a Thai curry from the restaurant on the front next to the taverna by the sea which was great. We and also went into playa blanca marina (5 euro cab ride) and had a meal at blue note which was superb and well worth the extra cost.

Entertainment was ok in the evenings, kids clubs great with swimming coach nick and razzmatazz being highlights. The biggest issue with my stay though is the sun bed situation. It's great having a big pool but if you cannot get a sun bed round it then its not much use. Having to get up at 07.30 to stand by stacks of sun beds to ensure you get one is poor. The beach is good, clean and interesting snorkelling and I understand that reception give free vouchers for sun beds in the beach instead of paying 10 euros.

We did two trips - catamaran was great and good value. The market was ok with about a 1000 stalls but most of these selling dodgy sunglasses, handbags, aloe Vera, t shirts. A good day out none the less.

In summary I am sure that many people have enjoyed holidays at flamingo beach and generally it is ok and provides reasonable value in a good clean and safe environment. My daughter really enjoyed it although did to it much that was served to her all week. Big disappointments for me was the food and sun bed situation.


Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Montana Roja s/n, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#14 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Club Gold medal in 2007 and 2008 with Thomson.Flamingo beach just some steps away.Great offer of Restaurants, bars and entertainment.Football pitch and tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Lanzarote
Flamingo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.