We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of THB Tropical Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added THB Tropical Island to your Saves list
THB Tropical Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Fragata #2 | Urb Costa Papagayo, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sun Tropical Island Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
1 review
“good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Top hotel food good staff very friendly no issuie here very good hotel the staff in the main eating area work very hard they made our chritmas 10 minute walk to town and beach staying at hotel now i would recommend unless ur right fussy person

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    426
    231
    116
    93
See reviews for
588
234
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north east
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

very nice hotel nice water park for the kids food nice only down side to hotel is nothing around it walk to the beach is 15min but a nice walk but a bus from hotel will take you down evening shows was also good kids disco was must

Room Tip: 223 nice sun trap
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went for Holidays on the 11th of December for 4 nights , 3 adults one child 5yrs old. I was paying per apartment / not per person. after 4.5 hr flight we arrived to the hotel, my sister joined us last minute so i was thinking paying per apartment i shouldnt pay much more for my sister.
Unfortunately reception staff / not friendly said i have to pay 140e extra for 4 nights so my room was cost me 340e per apartment for 4 nights not 200e like meant to be on the beginning. we havent got anything extra , not even extra bed for 4th person.
Reception staff were very rude, talking spanish to each other in front of us , making faces.

3 weeks earlier Ive asked for non smoking room because Im traveling with child and Ive said we will be there by 11 am

We were told on the arrival around 1.30pm , after whole hastle with the cost, to wait 40 min because room need to be cleaned, we went for food to town then
When we came back we got SMOKING room, smelly, everything was dirty, dust everywhere , ants in the room, dirty towels , one shower gel for 4 of us for 4 nights .
Unbelievable!!!!
You have to pay for everything in this resort ,4* and you need to rent iron for a week .

After I complained we got better room , no ants, everything clean, better view.
They just gave us first room on purpose i guess.

Next few days Reception staff didnt even say hello to us when saw us, SO RUDE!!!!

Only great thing about resort was ANIMATION TEAM!!! So energetic, very helpfull, they know how to entertain people !! LOved them.

Room Tip: pick rooms 700 up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

dont bother
its like benifit britain on holiday
beds awful, food not of a good quality and cold
courtesy bus never on time and its a 45min walk to the resort center
maid service was supposed to be 5 times a week but we only got 3
local drinks in bar were of a poor standard and had to pay to dollar fore premium brands
could go on and on
THOMAS COOK SORT IT OUT PLEASE

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a large complex with plenty of pools a restaurant, bar, entertainment, a shop, pool tables, ping pong etc. The weather for us was not great and a bit chilly at times so we didn't use the pool areas or eat in the restaurant or partake of the entertainment as we were out and about most of the time, only coming back to sleep. I would say for a family this would be an ideal hotel. It is a walk of about 20 mins into the main area of Playa Blanca and the hotel provides a shuttle bus to and from the resort. I would recommend the hire of a car and you can travel the whole island in a week. We were self catering and it was adequate though basic. A big saucepan, a frying pan, a small saucepan, cutlery and plates, cups bowls etc. The beds were very comfortable, memory foam I think and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. Generally speaking I would say this hotel is value for money and for reference we paid less than £200 per person for 6 nights with car hire for 3 days including flights! I wouldn't call the rooms 4 star though, maybe 3. It was a bit tired, with a chip in the bath, the mirror needed replacing and there was damp peeling the paint off of the walls. It felt like a 3 star trying to be a 4. You will find that the TV is free which is good although you have to pay 10 euros if you want the remote which is returned when you return it. Odd!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this place this is great for family's couldn't fault it great atmosphere food was good and there are also good restraunts not to far from the hotel there is also a lovely beach not to far either would defiantly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just came back from 4 nights in this hotel, a very reasonably priced, last minute booking. We stayed with our 2 sons aged 8 and 10. We haven't booked an all inclusive hotel stay with the children before as we usually rent a villa. We had a brilliant 4 days. I think the photos of this hotel don't do it justice. The building is very well maintained, lovely manicured gardens and all of the buildings were clean and well presented. This is 2 large hotels combined into one now called the Tropical Sun locally. It's a lovely spacious, secure site with no traffic and my boys wished they had scooters or bikes to ride around. The hotel is arranged so that all rooms front onto a lovely pool or garden, or Jacuzzi, or child's playground in a little quadrangle. So we could almost jump from your front door into the pool in our little area. There is also a very large pool with lovely sunloungers around it and 2 little water slides. Plus a great splash park to the side. There was loud music around the main pool which we either liked or didn't really mind, but if you did mind you could choose one of the other smaller pool areas around the complex. We had a 1 bed apartment which was fine. The sheets and towels were pristine white and changed regularly. The best things about this hotel are:
1. The arrangement of the rooms around the little areas and pools.
2. Lovely gardens
3. The entertainment teams were lovely, they were great with the children and worked so hard!
The worst things about this hotel are:
1. The receptionists were really terrible and quite rude. They had very poor customer service skills and not welcoming or helpful at all (apart from the pregnant lady who was more smiley and helpful).
2. The food was fine for the budget and the range was quite good, but the puddings were terrible and bland and the same every day. It was fine for 4 days but I'm not sure I'd like it so much for a week. But then for the budget it really was quite good, lots of fresh fruit and salad and a variety of meats every day. We have one fussy eater who mainly ate hot dogs and chips, but our other son tried new things and liked most of it.
3. The coffee and juice are really terrible! Juice not drinkable, it's like a syrup solution or something, coffee is like instant and is drinkable but not that nice.
The entertainment team as i said worked really hard and were genuinely lovely. This was a quiet time of year but they still made lots of effort and the children really liked them. They even got us to join in sometimes which is not usual hehe. The evening entertainment is really not our thing, and the big cavernous dome seemed a bit empty and cold at this time of year, but I'm sure it's better in the summer. We saw a circus act that was really very good indeed. The rest of the time the team did their best. But we wished there was a quieter cosy bar on an evening where we could be warm and play cards and it not be so loud.
We hired a car for under 30 euros and enjoyed visiting the volcanoes and visitor centre which was free and really quite good. Take ear phones with you so that you can watch their info films in english. They simulate the noise of an eruption in a lower chamber which the boys enjoyed.
It's about half an hour drive from the airport.
Over all for the money we paid, we were really pleasantly surprised and would return here happily. We had a great time, the boys played tennis, table tennis, volleyball, football and various other games all day and loved it.

Room Tip: We had room 504 on the Island side, which was a good location, quiet with a lovely pool in the quadr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Tropi... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Katie

We would like to thank you for choosing THB Tropical Island and for sharing your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and all the hotel facilities.

We are worried about your comment about the receptionist behavior and we really apologize for that. We will talk to them and make sure that they realize that our guests are the most important for us and that their mission is to make all our guests fill like at home and help them in anything they need. Also regarding to the café, juices and puddings we will do our best to improve them.

We are glad that you had a brilliant 4 days, that you enjoyed all the facilities of the Hotel, the entertainment and that you liked our beautiful volcanic Lanzarote.

We will be waiting for you and your family with open arms, ready for another great stay in Lanzarote. Please if you have any query, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Address: C/ Fragata #2 | Urb Costa Papagayo, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sun Tropical Island Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Tropical Island 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The THB Tropical Island **** is located in Playa Blanca, a quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza in the south of Lanzarote.It was built respecting the environment and the architectural lines of the island, keeping the typical colors and heights.
With an area of 102.000m ² of which 56.000 m² are green and leisure areas, 8 swimming pools, 2 giant pools (one of them 1300m ²), 4 children's pools, a Splash Park children water park, 2 outdoor jacuzzis, 2 pool bars, playground , 2 tennis courts, 2 multi-sports courts and 2 big show rooms for 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THB Tropical Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.