We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THB Tropical Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added THB Tropical Island to your Saves list
THB Tropical Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Fragata #2 | Urb Costa Papagayo, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sun Tropical Island Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
wolverhampton ,england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a week long break at Tropical Island, from the initial contact in the reception to the seamless checkout our stay was very pleasant, the rooms are a really good size with all the self catering amenities should you want them, we were all inclusive so only used the kettle!
The lounge was a nice size and although the tv was slightly old fashioned it had a fair few channels on to watch such as sky sports,ITV and BBC, which is nice when you are waiting to get ready to go out, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom a good size, there a loads of pools around the complex and the main pool is absolutely massive, with a lovely koi pond and extensive grounds this complex really is fantastic.
The food was plentiful and although quite fussy my wife and I always found plenty to eat and it was of a good standard, the drinks were again of a good standard and we never had any trouble getting served etc, entertainment was a bit hit and miss but the guys tried there best we did have a few laughs though!
Playa Blanca is a short walk or 3 euro taxi away and is a very nice resort, lots of bars with entertainment on and the shopping is great, cheap cigarettes and a bargain bottle of Jamesons!
We would not hesitate to return here especially with the kids as there is loads for them to do and all in a very safe and secure complex.
The only thing we found to moan about was the weather which was very hit and miss, warm sunshine then cold winds lol, but hey at least we weren't at work!!
Also went to Fuertoventura by the small catamaran, my advice take a sick bag with you, my word it was extremely uncomfortable on the way back, not much breeze but the boat was getting thrown around!
All in all a very nice break in a very good complex, thanks to all the staff for the great service we received during our stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the THB Tropical Island, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Lanzarote.
We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your coments teaches us how to enrich our services.

Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    474
    275
    133
    103
See reviews for
653
278
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Just Back from a week’s stay at the Sun Tropical Island in Playa Blanca
Accommodation was fine and food and drinks a plenty, quite varied themes and for the price not bad if you didn’t like the food it’s only a 10 minute walk into Playa Blanca where there are lots of nice bars and restaurants at very good prices  Just like to say a big thanks to the Thomson Reps , Alice , Catherine, Lee , Jordan and Dutch who kept our kids entertained night and day and us of course  They were a credit to Thomson’s and should be praised for there dedication and commitment to providing people with a good holiday 

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the THB Tropical Island, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Lanzarote.
We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your coments teaches us how to enrich our services.

Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Ok for families if weather is ok. Stay away from the tavern unless you want to join in with the drunks shouting until midnight every night. Stampede at meal times. Rooms very basic and beds very hard.
Don't want to slag the place off too much as it is not awful by any means, just needs sorting out and some money spent on it. Entertainment is
dreadful by any all inclusive hotels and I have done loads. Get an apartment in resort and buy your own provisions. It may be slightly more expensive, but you have more privacy and choice.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the THB Tropical Island, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Lanzarote.
We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your coments teaches us how to enrich our services.

Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

arrived on dec22 for 17 days, reception were very pleasant and took no time to get a large queue sorted , dont be put off by the dour faced Joaquin after haveing several conversations he was most help ful and informative. Its a very large complex and with 16 pools is perfect for families. The Thomas Cook reps worked hard day and night. The food was excellent not just for xmas and new year but for our whole stay. Unfortunately we will not be returning because we are nearly 70 and there was just to much walking for us. But again i must say it would be perfect for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Terry J,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us. Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again THB Tropical Island.

Yours faithfull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

just arrived back from a beautiful island, sadly i cannot say the same about the hotel. I will say now this is an amazing hotel for families with young children. Please dont book all inclusive because it is a total nightmare. if you have young children there are loads of pools and lots of fun water play, adults have the spa which is well worth an hour of peace and relaxation. The hotel stay are lovely but over worked.
I would not recommened all inclusive or half board as the wait for the resaurant was horrid. Not very good for disabled people unless you have someone prepared to wait in a cue on stairs. When you finally get into eat i can say there is something for everyone but it is hit and miss if its still warm once you fight the way through to your table. The hotel really does need to expand its dining room and employ more staff. The dining staff were very hard working and probably for a low wage for the amount they do.
be careful as your room number is duplicated and unless the instructions are not clear you can get rooms mixed up as we found when a german couple tried to ener our room, seriously strange expecting me to move out lol, shame they didnt take the ants with them.
the hotel is very big and can be difficult to get used too, but it is safe. Use the back gate to go to the beach or shops as it is a trek, not advisable for people with mobility problems, but the taxis are cheap and the area is well worth visiting.
is this hotel for you?
self catering with young children, then this is the hotel for you.
clubbers stay clear
elderly who wish peace and good service stay away.
this hotel is not managed well but could seriously be great given better management and some cash flow.
Regardless of all of the above we made our holiday wonderful and said we would take the hit and eat out, would i go again yes but self catering and ensure i have ant powder. The local food is cheap and very varied.
no one can say if you will like this hotel, a holiday is what you make it and i am sure even the bad things have funny sides when you get home and tell the tale.

Room Tip: try get near the reception area if you want to use the dinning area, if not then at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Susan,
Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your coments teaches us how to enrich our services.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A group of 13 of us, all family arrived on December 30th and after all the terrible reviews on here I was very apprehensive about the stay and am very pleased to say I had nothing to worry about.

I have seen many complaints about the reception staff and when we got there I have never spoken to such lovely people that made you feel so welcome. Our rooms weren't ready yet which was a slight disappointment but we had arrived at around one. The rooms took a bit longer to clean than we were told but once we got in them everything was fine. Our balcony was lovely as it was very very big with the sun constantly shining on it although our families had very small balconies. The rooms are fairly small but nothing to complain majorly about and we were there for two weeks. Our apartment was fortunately equipped with everything we needed and was also fairly clean. Also, the shower was very good and we were never short of clean towels.

We didn't go all inclusive as we like to go out and eat around the area and explore (the centre of playa Blanca was lovely and peaceful but joyful with plenty of restaurants and bars and only a ten minute walk or €3 taxi ride to get there). Most days we went to the food center to the snack bar for lunch where we would have a toastie or pizza or anything from a reasonably sized snack menu, which was fine for a quick bite to eat and wasn't too expensive.

The choice of pools is great and the kids had an amazing time going in them all, especially the two slides at the big pool, although the water was freezing! The big pool wasn't very clean at the bottom but our apartment block's pool was fairly clean although not very heated but lovely to go in when the weather was very warm.

Overall the stay was very enjoyable and I would happy go back to Sun Tropical Island, the very large and inviting complex has something for all the family and the location was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for mentioning that you will stay again in the Hotel THB Tropical Island. We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to write a positive review about your stay.
Thank you again for your special comments.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The wife and I stayed here from Boxing Day to 2 January. Not far from airport and despite quite a few people getting off the coach, check-in was dealt with efficiently for us. It is a huge resort, and took us a while to get our bearings, and the map you get definitely helps! One thing though, the room numbers are duplicated which can be confusing... The rooms are bigger than expected. Two single beds for double, but that's normal in most places we've been. Comfortable too! Room is clean enough and was more than pleasant enough for the time we spent in it.

The bar - The Tavern - is a cracking little boozer. Plenty of choice if you drink shorts (though I think you have to pay for branded drinks). Local lager is OK (as a beer drinker, any lager is OK at best lol...). Wife liked the white wine. We stayed AI and found the food to be excellent! Good choice/variation and despite some of the other reviews here - definitely no bad food was consumed by us. There are 2 main restaurants to reduce congestion - and there is more than one toaster, just need to look... Chicken shack was ideal too - food always replenished and although the same every day - at least you know what you can get!! (Good when hungover and in need of food!). We couldn't get into the 'alacarte' restaurants - book early! We didn't feel the need to eat out (we went out last night, and had lunch out a couple of days).

There are a few places that serve proper beer (John Smiths, Smithwicks etc) but quite expensive - cheapest was 4euro a pint!

We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, always served us with a smile! Entertainment was good too! Thomas Cook team are very enthusiastic (Dutch is mental!) and keen to make sure everyone is having fun! Didn't venture to the other Dome so can't comment on hotels own entertainment. Daytime was good - music by the pool though if you don't like football you may not join in much of the activities. TC team - Jamie, Jordan, Alice and Dutch are all very friendly and knowledgable on the local area too. Wife liked the bingo - 5euro a ticket but big returns if you win.

Pools were lovely but cold (big volumes to naturally heat). Kids pools we were told were warmer. It was very entertaining watching people jump in though!

Overall we had a cracking time. Met some cracking people and would definitely recommend it! A holiday is what you make it, and we had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear THB Tropical Island Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing THB Tropical Island to enjoy your holidays, and for sharing your holiday experience with all of us.

We also want to thank you for all your nice comments about clealiness, food, and staff, we are always trying our best to reach guest´s expectations, so you may come again in the future or will recommend to others.

All THB Tropical Island team takes this opportunity to greet you cordially, looking forward to seeing you again soon. We will be deligthed to attend you again and to offer you another relaxig,peacefull and quietness holiday experience.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Address: C/ Fragata #2 | Urb Costa Papagayo, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sun Tropical Island Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Tropical Island 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The THB Tropical Island **** is located in Playa Blanca, a quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza in the south of Lanzarote.It was built respecting the environment and the architectural lines of the island, keeping the typical colors and heights.
With an area of 102.000m ² of which 56.000 m² are green and leisure areas, 8 swimming pools, 2 giant pools (one of them 1300m ²), 4 children's pools, a Splash Park children water park, 2 outdoor jacuzzis, 2 pool bars, playground , 2 tennis courts, 2 multi-sports courts and 2 big show rooms for 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THB Tropical Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.