We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upgrading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of THB Tropical Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added THB Tropical Island to your Saves list
THB Tropical Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Fragata #2 | Urb Costa Papagayo, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sun Tropical Island Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“upgrading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just back from Tropical Island. Not enough staff in certain areas, queues every night in the bar. Hotel needing an overhaul, inside and out. Glass on the bridge over the pool needed cleaning, was not cleaned in the week I was there. Loungers are needing replaced as they are filthy. Staff in general ok. Cleaning of rooms ok. Nothing to do when raining as there is no contingency plans. Maybe different in the high season.
Entertainment geared for children. Layout ok, food ok, only one pool bar opened for food during the day. No food after the evening meal when all inclusive. Location quite good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    474
    274
    133
    101
See reviews for
653
277
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent 10 days here in october 17th - 27th, And after reading some of the reviews on here was a bit dubious....Shouldn't have wasted any time worrying about it,myself hubby mother in law and 2 boys aged 8 & 9 had a brilliant time. Every member of staff was great with the exception of 1(She never cracked a smile in the 10 days we were there and tried to make you feel bad for her having to do her job and serve you at the pool bar.She was the younger heavy set girl with the drawn on eyebrows)Check in was fairly quick and painless,The whole complex is immaculately kept there is always cleaners and gardeners about keeping it lovely.Pools are great plenty of them to choose from all really clean,And the wee guy that comes round collecting the empty plastic tumblers from round the pool seems very stern at first but just give him a wee smile and an" olah" he soon smiles and says hello. The Kids club and entertainment were brilliant too Lizzie,Dvd and Kim Watch out for them at water polo time thats like a comedy all of it's own if your gonna play try and get on DVD's team He ALWAYS wins ( NO CHEATING THERE .....LOL ) The food can be a bit hit and miss but then most all inclusive's are like that unless your paying thousands per person. The snack bar at the pool was our lunch place everyday salad,jacket potato,hotdogs,burgers, pizza,nuggetts chips plenty to choose from. Not just the staff but also what made our holiday was meeting a good squad of new mates from all over the u.k. made the holiday even more memorable, And would we return Hell yeah I'm already looking to book for the may halfterm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked the October school holiday for a week (3 adults and 3 children (2, 8, 11) two pool rooms all inclusive. Having read the negative comments we were worried but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. In a nutshell its a good 3 star. I think the addition of THB has changed things for the better. The reception staff were helpful and no frowning, the maid service was excellent, we arrived back one day to a towel swan in our sink! Pools and outside areas cleaned every day.

The hotel is actually two hotels - tropical island and sun island joined together. The tropical side seemed to be for Thomas Cook and the sun island was other European operators. Each side has their own entertainment team and kids clubs. The hotels are mirror images of each other.

Food: I would struggle with variety if I was staying for more than a week. If you love salads you will love the buffets. They also have a good selection of hot foods for lunch and dinner, different each day alongside the staples ie, pasta, chips, rice, breads. Puddings - cakes, pastries, crème caramel, yogurt, ice cream and a variety of fresh fruits, There is a pizza restaurant and tapas restaurant to book in advance. Tapas was disappointing as majority of the food had already appeared in the buffet restaurants. There was also a chicken restaurant that wasn't open.

Rooms: Dated but roomy and functional. One of our rooms was not ready when we arrived as the previous occupant had paid 30 euros for a late check out (6:00 pm), hacked off with that, told just to wait. Check out is 12:30 pm which was very welcome. TV has British terrestrial channels.

Entertainment: round the main pool during the day and in the dome in an evening (there are two domes, confusing I know). You are not pestered to do anything. Kids loved the bingo, 50 euros a line and 160 euros a full house. Didn't stay out to watch every show. Kids disco at 8:00, followed by a quiz, bingo then the show. The queues for drinks in the dome didn't take long to get served. I do wonder in peak season how bad it gets.

Pools. Cool/cold, but once you were in they were fine. The kids didn't complain. Didn't use the spa. The kids also loved the kids water park area.

Top tips:

1. Book a pool side room, 50% of rooms are above the poolside rooms. Great to open the doors and have a swim and sit on a lounger outside your room.
2. Leave your beach towel at home and hire a big beach towel from reception for 10 euros deposit, refunded on return.
3. Book into the restaurants to have a change of scene in eating.
4. Free bus to beach twice a day. Its a 10 minutes walk to the beach and it 3 euros to hire a sun lounger at the beach.
5. There are plenty of places to escape the families and poolside entertainment. Around the lane swimming pool was very quiet.
6. Rather than pool bar snacks everyday have lunch in a one of the buffet restaurants. There are two near identical buffet restaurants onsite, go to both for a change in scene.
7. Wifi is 6 euros per day or 12 for 3 days or 19 for the week. Get your roaming and mobile data sorted before you leave the UK.
8. Safe is 15 euros for the week but reception will store your passports on checking in
9. There are always plenty of left over inflatables and toys around the pools.

Things to improve:

1. Very slippy around pool areas (by the end of the week we saw a broken ankle, one sprained wrist and one guy had two broken wrists!!).
2. Too far to get a drink during the day, pool bar was the only option. More drinks stations needed.
3. Tapas restaurant needs to have a completely different selection of "proper" tapas and not things that you get in the buffet restaurants.

Room Tip: Book a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Well we are back one week we had the best time our 6 year old girl had her birthday here. She had so much to do kids club, party's two domes with entertainment for all even a pub with entertainment, we went all inclusive yes please do take money as occasionally there will be instances where you would spend money. Food was good we didn't even go to any of the themed restaurants as the main buffet menu was fine for us. There was even entertainment at the main pool every day but as we had a smaller pool right outside of our apartment we also used this one if we wanted a bit of quite, met some lovely people..... Yes I would go back and my now 7 year old is asking when we can go back. Don't expect a 4 star as this is to me a 3 but well worth a visit it's like a village in its own right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in early October and the weather was almost always in the high 20's. The Complex itself can be a little baffling at first due to its size and identikit buildings, but a little perseverance will get that sorted. Swimming pools everywhere, from the main Lagoon size to the individual pools for the apartment blocks. First day we had to queue for meals but after that a second restaurant was opened and did not queue again. Staff are certainly friendly enough and didnt encounter any rudeness. Meals were fine, standard fare for theses locations, perhaps those complaining about food choice should dig a little deeper if they want 5* options!
The entertainment choices were quite varied, an evening 'pub' and two different domes for nighttime events, one English and one Spanish. The daytime pool activities were excellent fun though the football pitch should come with free health care :). The main highlight of this holiday is without question the amazing entertainment teams, both Thomas Cook and the Resort teams were quality. Fantastic banter with both kids and adults alike, never too busy to help or chat and very much invested in having fun with everything that was going on. Shouts out to Lizzy and DVD a dynamic duo, 'Uddersfield Kim (yer dads yer mum, yer mums yer dad......), Stephen the scouse and his incredible 70's afro wig, Rachael, looks innocent n quiet but....can be a sneaky little :) and to all the rest who worked so hard to make sure we had a good time.
Would not hesitate to go back to the resort, knowing full well the teams will be different but the rest pretty much the same, it was a fab time, nearly forgot - check out the dive shop too, the scuba instructor is excellent.
Folks need to be realistic in expectations, this place was great for what we paid and we enjoyed our time immensely, when I want wonderful exotic food choices and personalised maid service I'll book and pay accordingly, its a great little break in Europe, its not a 6* in Dubai.
Cheers everybody. Back to the October rain :/

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor or make sure you check you get a full balcony, not two small ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked a week all inclusive here October 2013 for two adults a four year and a baby. On arrival we could tell from the reception area that it wasn't a four star hotel. From the look of it the rooms used to be self catering, you get a kitchenette and it does resemble Butlins. It's very outdated, our bathroom had serious cracks in the ceiling, the woodwork and walls were badly scuffed and it just really could do with a makeover. The actual complex is lovely, really big. There are a few pools but no snack bars or drinks were available at these and it was a long walk to the only pool/snack bar that was open. The food was terrible, we're not fussy eaters but we struggled. It's like the food is a week old and has been reheated, although the food was never ever hot just lukewarm. Only other choice was to book the pizza restaurant which was ok, the chicken restaurant wasn't open. The pool snack bar served the same thing every day, chicken nuggets, burger and stale dry pizza. The kids entertainment was fun, and the staff in the kids club we're amazing, my little on loved going they had great facilities. There's lots of broken sunbeds, in a week we never found an unbroken one. There's a lot of cracked floor tiles around the swimming pools that can hurt little feet. Overall, we were disappointed we paid quite a lot of money for one week, it was advertised as a four star, my honest opinion would be between a 2 and a 3 star I'm afraid. Love Lanzarote but won't be booking this place again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband 7 yr old daughter and I have just returned after 7 nights all inclusive and were pleasantly surprised, complex is very clean , loads of swimming pools and loungers meaning we never felt overcrowded, The entertainment team throughout the day and evening were fantastic. Food was fine, nothing fancy but perfectly acceptable with a wide range of hot and cold buffet style. Staff very friendly and helpful throughout complex. kids facilities particularly good, swimming pools very clean and safe. the dome for night time entertainment was brilliant for my 7 yr old daughter and also catered for adults with a quiz and bingo. All in all a lovely place to stay. Will be back again next year if possible.

Room Tip: we were away from main swimming pool and entertainment site which made it far quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Address: C/ Fragata #2 | Urb Costa Papagayo, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Sun Tropical Island Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Tropical Island 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The THB Tropical Island **** is located in Playa Blanca, a quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza in the south of Lanzarote.It was built respecting the environment and the architectural lines of the island, keeping the typical colors and heights.
With an area of 102.000m ² of which 56.000 m² are green and leisure areas, 8 swimming pools, 2 giant pools (one of them 1300m ²), 4 children's pools, a Splash Park children water park, 2 outdoor jacuzzis, 2 pool bars, playground , 2 tennis courts, 2 multi-sports courts and 2 big show rooms for 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THB Tropical Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.