We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Package Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Timanfaya Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Timanfaya Palace to your Saves list
H10 Timanfaya Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   C/ Gran Canaria, 1, Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Package Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at this very good 4* hotel. We went A/L in a privilege room which we found to be very comfortable and we had the advantage of being able to have what we wanted without any hassle. The staff were all very cheerful and seemed to be happy with their working environment, which says a lot for the management of the hotel! The food in the main restaurant was varied and fresh and I am quite sure most people would find something to appeal to them there.
Entertainment in the evening was not really our cup of tea, but we thought the saxophonist in the piano bar was very good. We did not venture into the disco bar as it is just not our thing...each to their own!
Loads of sun beds to chose from, around two lovely (cold) pools. The new indoor pool was very welcome, shame it closed at 5pm.The hotel is lovely and clean as is the whole resort of Playa Blanca, this was our first time to Lanzarote and I have to say I was very impressed!
My only gripe which is such a shame as I like to be positive, is about the Kashbah Restaurant. Some reviewers have waxed lyrical but I am afraid we were not at all impressed. I am allergic to a certain vegetable which I pointed out to the waiter NO PROBLEM he said I will tell the chef...guess what...yes my poison was on the plate.....
Desserts had been made the week before, in fact if I had to put money on it I don't think there was a chef. Our main course was really nice but I think it had been prepared before and warmed up.......
Having said all this ...would we come again to this hotel? the answer is definitely Yes! but we would eat in the main restaurant!

Room Tip: 3rd floor privilege rooms ...brill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear EntrepidEastAnglia,

Thank you for your review and your rate of 5 points.

I'm very sorry if you were not happy with the Kasbah Restaurant... I asure you, all the courses in this restaurant are prepared "a la minute", when you order it, because of it, it takes a some time when you order to get it.

Next time you come, don't worry if you want to eat at the Kasbah, just explain me, Viky or Javier your alergies and we take care of you personally.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    853
    259
    91
    44
See reviews for
229
2,109
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,042)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have recently returned after another relaxing week at the Timanfaya Palace. Having enjoyed our stay last year we decided to revisit and we were no disappointed. We reserved a Superior Privilege room on half board basis online and paid in euros on arrival. We were allocated room 314 which had a good sea view, with a balcony benefitting from afternoon sun, a large double bed and also a settee. The bathroom was well equipped with plenty of toiletries a good shower and towels changed twice a day if needed. The English TV channels were limited to Sky News and BBC NEWS International and not much else, which was disappointing since we tend to watch some TV in the evening after a stroll.
The food in the restaurant was very good and varied with the show cooking always popular, and we never left feeling hungry. The Privilege package enabled us to have a meal in the Kasbah a la carte restaurant (just pay for drinks) which was very nice. The privilege lounge was also available each day as part of the package for drinks, papers and internet. access at no charge..

Out and about there is plenty of walking mainly to the harbour/ferry terminal and the Rubicon Marina .The quickest way to the ferry terminal is NOT to follow the coastal path, but to take the footpath outside the front of the hotel, Having turned right on leaving the hotel ,continue 200 yards to the flamingo beach resort ,turn right past Hotel Iberostar Lanzarote Park, past the Spar shop to reach the terminal on the right(approx. 15 mins walk)
There is also a Pedestrian shopping mall in Playa Blanca near to the terminal, with a mixture of upmarket and tourist shops including shoe and perfume shops. Rubicon Marina is a further 30 mins walk along the coastal footpath and contains plenty of eating and drinking establishments and is well worth a visit.
Having said all this we would certainly consider a further visit in the future.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view, Take Superior Privilege Package if costs allow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear philyn,

Thank you for your review!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We spent a week at this hotel at the end of March. Would you believe this was our first 'hotel' holiday as we are fans of apartment or villa holidays. However, we were very impressed with the whole experience. Our room was spacious with a balcony and sea view on the 2nd floor (would definitely recommend paying for a sea view but would avoid the 4th floor). Didn't spend much time in the room to be fair, apart from sleeping and the odd 'siesta'. All the main areas of the hotel were lovely, well furnished and tasteful. The restaurant experience was friendly and well organised and there really is something to suit all tastes. The all inclusive option was good value especially if you both like some wine with your meal and perhaps a few drinks each night in the bar. Not to mention as many coffees, teas and soft drinks as you wanted during the day. They did some theme nights with Mexican, Chinese or Indian dishes but at the same time plenty of other choices to be had with both hot and cold food. Breakfast was very good.The staff throughout the hotel were always polite and helpful and cheerful! The only niggle was the entertainment. We enjoyed relaxing in the lovely piano lounge after dinner, chatting to other residents but the entertainment was a bit boring some nights and a lively little jazz band would have gone down well with everyone we spoke to. The pianist in particular was not very inspirational and she was on for 2 nights in one week! In fact one of the residents who was a very gifted pianist, got up and played a few lively tunes one night to everyone's relief. Its location is great just a 15 min walk along the sea front to the harbour area and another 10 minutes further on to Rubicon Marina. The marina area is lovely with some attractive restaurants and areas to sit and watch the world go by. Came back very relaxed and really felt that we had been on holiday.

Room Tip: Always choose a sea view room and would suggest you avoid the 4th floor if possible, as although you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear ROZ12322,

Thank you for your review!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just returned from great week - April 3-10. V large hotel but still felt spacious( except the restuarant see later). Good new indoor pool very warm - outdoor pools just warm enough - sea a little warmer. Good sized rooms - slightly dated. good bathroom and beds - coffee machine takes Nespresso capsules (32p in UK - 1 euro from hotel) - No kettle for tea. Have to pay 22 euros for safe and either 3 euros a day for small fridge or free if you buy 10 mini bar drinks( avoid the wine!) - all a bit annoying and silly. We asked to upgrade from Garden Room to Sea View (140 euros but worth it). Fantastic location on the sea promenade which goes about 40 min walk minutes west to the lighthouse and 20 minutes east to resort centre and further 20 minutes to Rubicon Marina. Traffic free apart from occasional cyclists.Quiet and magical easy walking. Sub Aqua tuition in hotel and beachs nearby.

Evening entertainment relaxing with the Drifters tribute the highlight

The only real stressful time was mealtimes. The staff are great fun and very motivated and very keen to clear your table - even if you have not finished and are off perusing the dessert counter!! This happened to us three times in the week - very annoying. There feels as if there is a great pressure on the staff to avoid queues for a table ( which build up around 8.00pm) The tables are squeezed close together to pack em in and staff rush past in their anxiety to keep the waiting time down. IMHO the volume of people dining at the same time is simply too high. Mealtimes were stressful and rather tiresome. The food was OK with the 'show cooking' counter being the best bet. Casseroles and veg tended to be cold.Starters seldom changed and desserts variable in quality. Breakfast was very samey with watered down fruit juice the biggest disappointment - it was undrinkable IMHO. The coffee in common with most hotels was awful. Other reviewers have mentioned the toasting debacle. It takes 4 goes to get even a hint of brown and grumbling queues build up. I dont mean to be negative because we had a great week but I find honest reviews always help me the best!

Room Tip: Second floor and above best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Stephen L,

Thank you for your review. Sorry if you were not 100% happy.

Let me please check and comment your bad points:

- "Nespresso capsules (32p in UK - 1 euro from hotel)". The capsules for the room. I find 1€ really CHEAP. Please, don't compare it with the amount you pay outsite. This capsule used in the bar with 0'10c water, we sell it by: 2€. It is the same as saying: water in the hotel 2€ and only 20c. in the supermarket... Sorry, I do a joke, but to explain that in a hotel you pay the service.

-"Have to pay 22 euros for safe and either 3 euros a day for small fridge or free if you buy 10 mini bar drinks( avoid the wine!) - all a bit annoying and silly ". Sorry, it is our H10 rules and we cannot modify it. It is informed everywhere not to bad surprise the guests.

-"The only real stressful time was mealtimes. The staff are great fun and very motivated and very keen to clear your table - even if you have not finished and are off perusing the dessert counter!!". I'm sorry. They always ask "finished"... I prefer them to be quick rather than let empty plates on the tables that disturb the guests.

-"Breakfast was very samey with watered down fruit juice the biggest disappointment - it was undrinkable IMHO." Sorry if you didn't like de juice. We don't used water for the juice. We have quality packaging orange juice that we provide in a crystal dispenser, and we have fresh fuit juice, that is a mix of quality packaging orange juice with fresh fruit ( melon, pineaple, papaya..) in the mixer.

-"toasting debacle. It takes 4 goes to get even a hint of brown and grumbling queues build up.": we have 2 big toaster: 1 a rolling one, that take as you say 4 times, and 1 salamander toaster oven, that you can let the bread fix so long as you wish.

I'm sorry if you were unhappy for these issues, although with your last sentence I think you enjoyed your holidays in general.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a truly excellent hotel for adults only. You are able to relax in a peaceful and quiet way yet take part in Animacion led activities if you wish. The Animacion team, led by the irrepressible, energetic and thoroughly nice guy Hector, are very professional and supportive. Mayte and Agata, the other team members, are also very good. On arrival you are greeted with a glass of bubbly and check in is fast and efficient. Staff are friendly and helpful and appear to speak several languages! The restaurant is very good and there are a lot of different types of dishes to choose from during all meals. Evening entertainment was generally very good, (the one exception being a boring act of Brazillian dancing), with the resident duo, Hattie (John) and Oz (Chris) providing excellent warm ups and one or two full acts of skilful guitar playing and singing - well worth watching and listening to. Being H10 club members was also worthwhile with points accrued during previous visits to H10 hotels used to pay the bulk of our bar and services account. Overall an excellent 14 day holiday and one which we shall repeat soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor or above. Ground floor rooms can actually be a little below ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Gary W,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points.

I'm glad you enjoyed your holidays and I hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My elderly mum and I have just returned home from our third visit to this fabulous hotel. It is in a great location with an easy walk into Playa Blanca along the promenade passing by the beautiful Playa Flamingo. We stayed in room 303 which is near the lifts (I e-mailed the hotel before we arrived to request this as my mum has limited mobility). We had up-graded to a sea view which I would recommend. We were AI and the choice of food in the restaurant was amazing. I agree with other reviewers that some of the dishes were warm rather than hot, but there is a microwave available. To guarantee hot food, choose something from the show cooking area - always a choice of fish and meat cooked to order. The same goes for breakfast, the bacon and omelettes cooked by the beautiful Monica were worth queuing for! The restaurant at dinner can be very busy, but it is extremely well organised The waiting staff are amazing - always smiling and really attentive. We tended to sit in more or less the same area each day so had the same waiters throughout our stay. A big thank you to Alfredo, Jiddou and Diana (and all of the others!) In the evening we went to the Disco Bar. The live shows are a bit hit or miss, but the bar staff there are fantastic. A special mention for Mohamed Aly who remembers exactly what everyone likes to drink and makes amazing cocktails! There were always plenty of sunbeds available around the pools. The new heated pool is a real bonus. The fact that there are no children makes a huge difference to the noise level around the pool areas! This hotel ticks all the boxes for us - hopefully we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear ginandbitterlemon,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points.

Be sure the staff you name get a copy of this review with my compliments.

I hope back with your mother many and many years longer.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights in April 2014. On arrival we were presented with a cold glass of something sparkling, whilst checking in. Nice touch! We were given room 306, which is one of the 25 'Privilege' rooms in the hotel, all based on the 3rd floor. Our view overlooked the swimming pool and had a sea view. The room had two double beds next to each other, which was perfect!! Spacious clean bathroom with excellent hot powerful shower. The room had a 'Nescafe coffee machine' in it, which we didn't use. A bottle of sparking wine was waiting for us on ice in the room. Every night the maid turned down the bed, left a chocolate and a card with the next day's weather report on it. As part of the privilege package, we had free use of the safe, mini bar (contents not included), beach towels, bathrobe and slippers.

The restaurant was excellent, the food quality, presentation and choice was faultless. There is a second restaurant called the 'Kazbah' situated on the ground floor. This is described as an 'a la carte' restaurant. We chose not to eat in there as the choice was so good in the main restaurant.

One of the main benefits of the 'Privilege' rooms for us, was the use of the privilege lounge. A small room on the ground floor, with room key access. Inside was a host of beverages, branded spirits, local beer, water, chocolates, cakes, newspapers etc. All regularly topped up, free and unrestricted. This saved us SO money as a small bottle of local beer was coming in at €3.00 each. Bottled water €2.40.

Next to the new indoor heated swimming pool, there is a dedicated privilege sun bathing area on the highest point within the hotel grounds, which at 2pm every day, they serve cold drinks with fruit. Nice touch!

The hotel is now Adults only, which is EXCELLENT!! But, it is also in a lot of brochures as a 'couples' hotel, which is attracting an older audience. We are in our late 30's and early 40's and were among the youngest people staying in the hotel that week.

Down side: The bedrooms are not very sound proof. You can hear next door's TV, doors slamming, furniture being moved, people talking in the corridor and suit cases being dragged along.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Privilege option when booking and don't waste your money going for the all inclus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear funnyhands,

Thank you for your review. It sounds you were very happy. It is a pity that the architect doesn't get a rate directkly, so we'd not have lost 1 point because of the bad sound proof in the room :( Sorry We, as operations staff, cannot change the hotel infrastructure.

We don't have 25 privilege rooms, we have 65 + 8 suites. All of them are very popular and almost always full.

If you are young and look for quiet and relaxing holidays, this is your hotel too.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1, Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Timanfaya Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.