We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timanfaya Palace-returned 7.2.2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Timanfaya Palace

Save Saved
You added H10 Timanfaya Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   C/ Gran Canaria, 1, Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 hotels in Playa Blanca
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Timanfaya Palace-returned 7.2.2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent position leading directly onto the promanade which stretches for quite a few miles along the coast. First impresssions of the hotel was that in parts it was a little 'tired' and could have done with a touch of paint on walls and doors. Soft bed furnishings in the bedroom were stained, but the bed was extremely large and very comfortable. The addition of rugs in the bedrooms would have been helpful under chairs as the constant scraping fom the room above was annoying! The very large dining room had a feeling of being a canteen, but the food was plentiful and the variety would appeal to most people. We were fully inclusive and classed as 'privilaged', but not quite sure what extras we received. The 'privilage lounge' was unnecessary with what it provided (no air conditioning and a little grubby). We were on the 3rd floor and the view from our balcony was lovely, overlooking the gardens and sea. Sunset at about 6.30 was truly beautiful. The gardens were spacious and well kept, although again some paintwork needed in parts, and plastic bags removed from the running water areas would have been desireable. The majority of staff were friendly and willing to serve, perhaps 4 were rather dismissive and seemed unable to smile. We enjoyed the piano bar each evening. This area is very large and spacious with just the right amount of entertainment provided by various musicians. We didn't go to the Disco bar, but it did seems to be very well represented by other guests. The majority of guests in the hotel were aged 50-70's although a few couples in their
20's. 0verall, I would say that with a little bit of upgrading this hotel would merit the 4* given (perhaps 3* in Britain). A big "well done" to entertainment rep Bendoit (from Brugge), he truly was the most enthusiastic and pleasant memember of staff that we encountered.

Room Tip: Third floor upwards to appreciate the sea view. The 5th floor would eliminate any noise from above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,297
    738
    236
    87
    43
See reviews for
209
1795
30
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Me and my partner visited this hotel on 27th January 2013 for 7 nights on a Half Board basis. The hotel staff on arrival were friendly however unlike other 4 star hotels we have stayed in we did not get offered a drink (only a small point). The hotel room we were given was on the 1st floor and at the back of the hotel (we didnt pay for a sea view extra, £10 per person per night). The room was very spacious and the bathroom was one of the biggest we have even been given. The room however was not like the ones pictured in the holiday brouchure and was quite old fashioned so although some rooms have been refurbished and modernised do not count on getting one. The food - this was hit and miss. There was plenty of choice however the standard of food was pretty average (normal buffet). The breakfast was nice and you must try the Churros which are very similar to doughnuts and are delicious. The fried eggs were very under cooked with the yoke and white still very runny and I had to request that the eggs were turned over for a few seconds as they clearly were not cooked. Our main grumble was that the hotel does not accept cash payment except at the reception. So if your all inclusive its fine but we were half board and having to sign for everything we bought was very annoying and they give you a receipt but the receipt does not tell you how much you have spent!!!! We therefore paid our bill every couple of nights at reception to stop any nasty shocks at the end of the holiday on check out. Another little niggle was that near the minigolf area there was a horrendous smell of sewage every evening from 5pm onwards. The Weather - the weather was fantastic. It tended to be cloudy in the mornings until 10am but after 10am it was wall to wall sunshine and the tempreture was anywhere between 20 and 25 degrees. The sunsets in the early evening are also very pretty. The Pool - Both pools were absolutely freezing even though one was suppose to be heated. The Entertainment - This was very cheesey and we decided to stick with the piano bar where every night there was someone playing an instrument which was nice and relaxing. The Location - It is abit out in the sticks however the walks are very pleasant. If you turn right and walk along the prom for 45 mins you will reach the lighthouse and if you turn left after about 15 mins you will come to about 2 shops and 3 places to eat. Walk on a bit further for another 15mins and you will come to the harbour where there is a nice Irish bar. This is where you can catch a ferry to Fuerteventura. If you want walk further on for another 15 mins you will come to a small strip of shops and another 30 mins further on is the best place (Rubicon Marina). This contains several restuarants, bar's and shops and also has a street market every Wednesday and Saturday which is well worth a look. We took a trip to see the volcano's which was very good. I dont like heights but found it no problem at all so if you are scared of heights dont worry about it there really is nothing to worry about. The shops locally are very cheap to buy alcohol from. You can buy a liter of wine for e1.20. and a litre bottle of San Miguel for 90 cents. The drinks in this hotel are quite expensive at e3.80 for a pint of beer and 6 euros for a cocktail. The hire of beach towels is free except you have to pay a 20 euro deposit for each towel which is disgusting! Take your own. We really did enjoy our stay and would go back to Lanzarote but maybe to a hotel which is closer to Playa Dorada. On the whole this hotel is nice and our issues were only little things but when your told things you expect them to be true. Do not believe the claims about a heated pool because there isnt one and dont believe you will get a room like the ones pictured in the brochures. The rooms are cleaned daily by the maids which provided a really good service and breakfast is served until 9.30am so dont need to get up too early. A coffee and a bit of cake in Mikes coffee shop which is on the ground floor of the hotel is a must. The cakes are delicious! The room was quite noisey - we could hear people in the room above walking up and down and could hear the person in the next room keep blowing his nose.

Room Tip: Higher floors with sea view are the best but do come at extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My mother, of 87 years, and I enjoyed this hotel first week in feb '13. The room was very roomy and pleasant. I should have requested a room with a separate walk in shower for mother, but my mistake. We paid extra for a sea view which was not really necessary as all rooms faced the same direction (sea/pool) although a below-pool level room would have been awful! The hotel has a very attractive garden/pool area.
All the staff were very polite, helpful and cheery. We organised a mobility scooter through the hotel, which was an easy and useful facility. The pool was extremely cold which was a disappointment shared by other guests too. The restaurant was really a dining room with no amenity to breakfast/dine outside so rather noisy & busy, the a la carte restaurant looked gloomy with no outlook.

Room Tip: Lowest floor is partly below ground level Sea view rooms also look out on to a flat roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nice hotel but freezing cold pool - it is not heated as advertised. This spoilt the holiday as we like to swim every day and felt lied to by the brochure and the onsite Thompson reps. They said it was due to bacteria if water was too warm - this is nonsense as it was ice cold. Food was as expected for buffet style but plenty of choice and availability. Staff helpful and friendly - had a couple of room problems that got sorted straight away. Can recommend a trip to the Mitchelin starred restaurant in Peurto Calero for a special occasion (only 15/20minutes away - took taxi and is around 30 euros each way so not cheap) - expensive but excellent.

Room Tip: Do not have lower ground level - it smells ! We had 146 and this was ok but a long walk from main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundesley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lots of good things about this hotel but some improvements would make it even better

Good Things

Large rooms with spacious bathrooms, very clean
Plenty of food and variety
Tasty food in the Kasbar a la carte restaurant which you can use once a week with AI
Delicious coffee and yummy cheesecake in Mikes coffee bar
A1 option was good value at 210 euros pp for a week, included premiem branded drinks
Good location and only 15 mins walk from the centre
Shop in hotel which sold newspapers
Staff friendly and helpful
Some decent singers in the piano bar

What improvements they could make

Its a 4 star hotel but theres no porters to take your cases to your room
Carpets in the corridors as its noisey when people are walking back to their rooms at night
The pool is absolutely freezing so needs heating, was empty the week we were there
Wifi is only available in the reception area, surely in this day and age it should be available anywhere, also you had to get a daily code
The safe was 27 euros and pool towels 20 euros - a bit steep
You had to move the kettle onto the floor as the lead didnt reach
No washing line on the balcony

We had a good time, have been to a lot worse 4 star hotels and have been to a lot better 4 star hotels. We were lucky with the weather, sunshine for the whole week.

Would we go back, probably not but thats only because we like to try different places and it has to really stand out for us to do the same hotel again.

Room Tip: 5th floor gives you a good seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from Timanfaya Palace, our stay was for 10 nights, all inclusive from 24/01/13 - 03/02/13 booked via Thomson. This is an adult’s only hotel and has a lot of guests over the age of 50. As we are in our 20's we did feel a bit out of place for a couple of days, we did spot a few other younger couples but not many. This is not a young person’s hotel but that should not put you off as we had a fantastic time. From the airport we were dropped off first so that was nice, it took about 30-40 minutes on the coach, not long when you have amazing views and landscape to look at. Our Thomson rep on the coach highlighted certain areas of interest along the way too which was nice.

We had a really great time during our stay; on arrival you are welcomed to a very grand entrance and a glass of cava which is the norm for this hotel. The reception staff we feel could be a bit more helpful/talkative although the person that checked us in and out was a trainee so maybe we just had the short straw... Our room was number 116 which is on the 1st floor; however this does not mean you go up a level, in fact we went do 3 levels. Most of the hotels/homes in Lanzarote are designed this way so it doesn't spoil the landscape of the island. When we were told we were on the 1st floor I was quite nervous due to other reviewers saying that the ground/first floor levels are rubbish as there is no view etc. However we were really pleased with our room and its view. The room had a massive bed, must be queen-size, a desk/dressing table, two bedside tables, arm chair, coffee table, double wardrobe with a safe inside. The bathroom was also a good size with bath, overhead shower, and sink with a big counter top, toilet and bidet. Our balcony had a pvc table and chair set and our view looked over the garden/ sunbathing area and you could also see the sea. We did see some rooms that were on the ground level and you would not have been able to have seen what we did, so I can understand that some other reviewers had been upset with a ground floor room. When it comes to the noise, yes you can hear people upstairs but only if they are moving furniture or wearing high heels. This is because the floors are ceramic tiles and we are guessing that the floor below the tiles has not been insulated. Now and again you could hear a noise from the next room’s bathroom, but it would only ever be if they were banging the toilet seat shut. The noise did not bother us at all as we only ever heard noise when we were getting ready for dinner, which we presume that is what the others were doing. In the mornings, if you are a light sleeper then you will hear the maid’s trolley going up/down the corridor but luckily for us we were not light sleepers, we just heard it a few mornings when we were getting up early for trips. There are signs asking guests to be quiet when in the corridors and as long as guests respect that you shouldn't hear anything.
The maids make up your room daily and give you clean towels if you leave the old ones in the bath. They make the bed for you and I think they may give the bathroom a wipe down. As we were there for 10 days I think our room was swept and moped out maybe once or twice.

Food and drink were plentiful at this hotel, breakfast, lunch and dinner is in a buffet style were you helping yourself. Breakfast is always the same, breads, fresh fruit, yoghurts, jams, honeys, dried fruit, cereal, hams, cheese, and pastries. Then the hot food which has the English classics, sausage, egg, bacon. Then at the back of the restaurant at breakfast time you have chefs that can prepare you an omelette, bacon, fried eggs and pancakes. They also have a variety of chilled fresh smoothies which were always tasty! The waiters/waitresses were fantastic. They were always there as soon as you sat down to offer you tea or coffee. A tip we would recommend though is for you to take a cardigan/jacket with you so you can leave it over your chair, this is so they do not think you have left. One time we were away from our table as we were waiting for a fresh omelette and by the time we had come back our table had been re-laid and other guests sitting there. Lunch again was a buffet style with breads, cheese, hams, salads and hot foods with a variety of meats, veg, rice & chips etc and you could also have deserts which were a selection of cakes, fruit and ice-cream. We did not eat at the buffet hall much for lunch; we went to the pool bar which is outside in the garden area. There you could have a snack type foods on the all-inclusive package e.g. sandwiches, pizzas, burgers etc. They also serve other meals which were not on the all-inclusive package but never more than 10 euros. Dinner was great, every day they had a different theme, always check the table outside the dinner hall around lunch time so you can see what the theme is for that night. Our favourite night was Mexican and Chinese. Again you will have a selection of starters, salads, soups, breads, cheese, ham etc. Then the hot food with again meats, veg, rice, chips etc. Then at the back you would again have the chef’s preparing fresh food, with a variety of meats and fish, pasta etc. We would always try and have something from the fresh cooked food as it always looked so nice. Again the deserts were a selection of cakes, fruit and ice-cream. Sometimes on the fresh chef cooked area there would be hot desserts cooked which I always had as I don't like cake and ice-cream and fruit got a bit boring. The food is repetitive but we enjoyed the different themes every night. We cannot fault any of the waiters/waitress's as they work so hard, we sat in one section every night and our waiter had our drinks ready before our bum touched the seat. He was fantastic, sadly we did not get his name because his name badge had faded but we tipped him nicely at the end of our stay. We really loved him! The pool bar staff was great too, we really liked the two young girls that worked there. There is a manger for each section of the hotel and they all chipped in too working, something you do not see in the UK. It was really good seeing people actually wanting to work and going out of their way to want to help you. The hotel also has a coffee shop which is fab! We went there every day.

Entertainment at the hotel was also very good; they have an activity board which advertises everything they do. Unfortunately we cannot comment the daily activities as we did not take part in any other them. They have things like yoga, diving, and wine tasting. The evening entertainment was really good; they had a variety of things to offer in both the Piano Bar and the main entertainment show room. The piano bar is up on reception level and every nice had a different musical player, e.g. saxophone, piano, guitar etc. Then the performance act, in the show room you could see an act like singers, acrobats, magicians and the entertainment/management team did shows too. Ben the entertainment manager was so funny, especially when he was dressed in drag!

The outside area of the hotel has two pools, a Jacuzzi, outdoor chess, a dive centre, tennis court and crazy golf. The pools were really cold, took your breath away they were that cold, it was warmer in the sea. There is also a gym, salon and spa and the hotel which we did not use so cannot comment on much.

The hotel has computers that are 1 euro for 10 mins and 2 euro for 20 mins. The Wi-Fi for the hotel can only be accessed on reception level and you have to get a password each day from reception.

The resort and the location of the hotel is good, you are not far from a small beach and local shop/bars. If you exit the hotel from the back, turn right and carry on along the front you will pass the marina and come to more shops/bars/restaurants. There is also a lighthouse you can walk to and a volcano to walk up if you turn left. When leaving the hotel from reception if you go to the right and walk up the road and turn right you can get a bus that circles around Playa Blanca, however you can also go to the main bus station and get a bus to other destinations on the island. It is not a hilly area which I have heard other people say other resorts are; it is relatively a flat area.

Overall we have both said that we would go back to this hotel and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on levels 2/3/4/5 will have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

You can believe the travel agents when they say Lanzarote is an island of contrasts. You might want to accept that 'its lunar and volcanic landscape is breathtakingly beautiful' but actually, it really looks like a nuclear test site in the desert. The stunned silence during the coach drive from the airport speaks volumes.
However, things really pick up when you get to the coastal resorts. Lanzarote has very strict building regulations so all resorts are low rise, white painted and quite charming. There is lots of colourful planting, lots of mature palms, pleasant walkways and unlike many other Canary Islands we have visited, no street hassle. In our view, it is also the cheapest island for food, drink and shopping.
The Timanfaya Palace in Playa Blanca is an impressive hotel. Its architecture is modern /north african with much marble and glass, spacious grounds with large palm trees and kept immaculately clean. As it is now an 'adults only' hotel it is also very peaceful, particularly round the pools. Staff, including management, are well trained and very visible. You actually feel that they genuinely want to ensure you have a great holiday as opposed to the 'whatever' attitude of some other hotels/resorts.
We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to a Privilege seaview room which was just perfect. Spacious, recently refurbished with two double beds, large bathroom and sun terrace. It was also a very pleasant surprise to get other Privilege ''extras' for free, including free newspapers, free access to the North African a la carte restaurant and access to the Privilege Lounge with unlimited coffee, wine and spirits. Highly recommended!
Weather (end January2013) was superb - 24 to 27c all week - a main reason for booking a winter Canary Island holiday.

It is almost perfect for a weeks winter holiday. The only disappointment was the swimming pool. I had read many complaints on Tripadvisor before setting off regarding the temperature of the Timanfaya pools and reassured myself on receipt of two emails, one from Thomson and one from the hotel, that one was heated up to 24c. This was nonsense.
The hotel has one swimming pool, unheated and absolutely freezing !! Very, very few people were brave enough to try it and this was during a week averaging 25c. The other pool is a wading pool (3" to 3' in depth) and is heated but not to any reasonable temperature. I suspect the pump and filters need replacing. The only pool with pleasant temperature was the jaccuzzi.

We used the pools in other nearby hotels - no problems.

Thomson/Hotel management - please fix this and you have a perfect hotel in a lovely location.

Room Tip: The hotel has 5 floors. Go as high as you can and avoid level 1 (its actually below the ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1, Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Prestigia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Timanfaya Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.