We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Timanfaya Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Timanfaya Palace to your Saves list
H10 Timanfaya Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   C/ Gran Canaria, 1, Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Really Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went for a week's winter sun break. Some of the reviews on this site gave us cause for concern, but we need not have worried. The check in was not perfect but as many things need to be paid for at check in that causes delays with much manual process eg. Room safe costs 17 euros per week. We paid for sea view room upgrade and were on the fourth floor, room 415. Good views out over the sea and a nice big sheltered balcony. A few small housekeeping issues but dealt with quickly. Loads of space and a lovely comfortable bed. Food was very good indeed in the main restaurant. Never too busy. The a la carte we liked in terms of ambience but much of the food was a disappointment there. Maybe we were unlucky. The poolside bar was excellent. Service throughout is excellent and the staff collectively seem very happy and work as a team. We did all inclusive and this was the best decision for us. A superb selection of quality drinks and unlimited with brilliant replenishment service. The reps, Leigh and Jenny, were of little value although in attendance regularly. Entertainment was ok and as we were only there for a week, quite acceptable. Location was good and facilities for those with limited mobility are excellent as we noted from the large number of people with limited mobility staying at the hotel. Everyone was made to feel included and welcome. Table service at both the pool and piano bar and drinks n the restaurant are served except at breakfast. There are no self service pumps for drinks except juice at breakfast. The coffee shop which has most things in the all inclusive offering is brilliant. Given that the breakfast coffee is awful this was an oasis for us. Best to ask for a cappuccino in both the poolside bar and piano bar. Nice and mostly level walks are available in both directions away from the hotel. In each direction a leisurely hour walk is a most pleasant way to get some exercise. Privilege rooms seems very expensive for what they are and we were so glad we didn't pay for that. The Privilege lounge was very small, has no view and reminded us of a sitting area in a retirement home. We would return to hotel, no doubts.

Room Tip: Do not pay for Privilege rooms but go all inclusive and ask for a 4th or 5th floor room and pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    928
    280
    93
    46
See reviews for
244
2,391
36
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

stayed here for two weeks and had a really bad start to our holiday.on arrival we were allocated a subterranean room no 013,we had read about these rooms and refused it but was told hotel was fully booked so nothing they could do about it! we went and looked at the room it smelled of damp which they tried to mask with the strong smell of bleach it was very dark and all you could see out of the patio doors was a high bank of dark gravel and 10cm of sunbed legs,it was truly awful.back at reception the staff just shrugged their shoulders and told us to wait for the thomson rep to arrive to sort it out which was another two hours! the thomson rep was very unhelpful and told us there were no more rooms and she had to go to the airport so was unable to deal with it and told us to ring thomsons 24/7 helpline,unbelievable! my husband and i were made to feel very small and humiliated,are reps not there to try and help you?
after my husband insisting that things were resolved we were told that the
y would be able to move our room four days later so we had three nights in that awful room.we booked a garden room and thats not what we got shame on you thomson for selling these rooms as garden view.
the hotel is large with the average age of guest about 70,the location was the best part of the hotel,the gardens were well kept with plenty of sunbeds,the towels will be collected off your sunbeds by pool staff if left there unaccompanied before 9.30am which is good.the pools were lovely but absoloutley freezing not at all pleasant for swimming,why can't one of them be heated?
this is supposed to be a couples hotel maybe a little romantic,lots of seating for two,ambient lighting in the dining room with tables that are far enough apart that you can't hear what other people are saying,well you will get none of this at timanfaya.the restaurant was large,very noisy,
bright lighting,tables so close together you had to speak in a whisper to your partner so you were not overheard.the food was plentiful but so very very bland,even the chilli con carne had no chilli in it!we ate out in some very good restaurants in playa blanca because two weeks of the same food was just to much.
just an observation but if this is a couples hotel why in the bar/lounge area are all the chairs and sofas lined up just like a doctors waiting room not very intimate,perhaps the hotel are trying to squeeze in as many as possible,because there is really nowhere else to go in the hotel after dinner,unless you want to sit in the disco bar before the variable entertainment starts at 10pm.
to finish up the hotel did move our room four days later,we had to have our bags packed by 10am and were not allowed into our new room until after 3pm reception wouldn't tell us what room it was until we collected the key,oh and by the way the room situation was sorted out by us with no help at all from the rep who saw us on numerous occasions and never even asked us if the new room was ok,poor again but at least it was very clean.
this is not a romantic hotel,way to big,noisy canteen atmosphere,but great location for walking

Room Tip: only way to not get a subterranean room is to pay for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Timanfaya Palace hotel in Playa Blanca. Excellent rooms, clean, food good and the staff could not be faulted in anyway. We shall return next year for a couple of weeks.
Our room was overlooking the sea and a good size with very large double bed which was changed regularly and was very comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size with toiletries supplied on a regular basis.and towels replaced whenever required.Large television and tea making equipment were also in the room and kept regularly full with tea and coffee etc. Mealtimes were good and if you chose not to bung everything in sight on your plate (As some do ) you could have a really great starter, main course, dessert and cheese and biscuits everyday and not keep repeating meals. We throoughly enjoyed the food. We were all inclusive so the frinks were included and these were all premium so we felt we had our monies worth each day. The shows in the evening were quite good and varied but we didnt enjoy the a la carte restaurant very much.Downstairs in the darkest part of the hotel it lacked atmostphere and the food was not too good really. Mike's cafe was next door and this was very nice. The snack bar by the beach was really good and we had lunch there most days so cant comment on the lunch in the main restaurant.
The staff are incredible and from managers to the cleaners were all friendly and everyone seemed to get on well with each other.
It was nice to sit across the walk way on the little man made beach the Hotel had made and they put sun loungers there for you to use. A short walk to the busy part of Playa Blanca gave us the exercise we needed and also a quick trip to the well equipped gym. The pool was quite cold but the jacuzzi was lovely and warm.Everywhere was spotless and clean with no nasty smells. We shall most certainly reurn next year. Excellent value on the all inclusive made this a holday we shall remember with affection as we have made some great friends there.Weather was mixed but we still got a tan.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th Floor with sea view and close to the main bar. No noise and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Lovely hotel with good size rooms (although they do need to update the towels in the bathroom!). We had a sea view room (223) and it had a lovely view of the sea/pool/gardens & Fuerteventura in the distance. Food was nice although the main dining room was rather noisy and the waiters rushed around too much so you could not enjoy your meal with your wine in a relaxed setting. The Head waiters need to address this issue (probably their fault for making waiters rush around too much!). The Al a Carte restaurant (Kasbah) was lovely and peaceful and we really enjoyed that. Mike's coffee bar was really nice and the lady who served in there was lovely. Piano bar was nice at evening time and the reception staff were pleasant. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had room 223 and it had a lovely view of the sea/gardens/pool and Fueteventura in the distance wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks with another couple and by the time we arrived at the hotel we were feeling quite jaded as our time from landing at Arrecife and arriving at the hotel was nearly 3 hours and then there was about 12 couples in front of us waiting to to be checked into their rooms. The reception staff were a bit lack lustre and having to deal with peoples horror at the amount of deposits for safe, fridge and pool towels probably made them so. I have never been to a 4 star hotel who demanded deposits for towels and an empty fridge.
Our room was on the 2nd floor and we had a view of the pool area, the sea and Fuerteventura in the distance ( when it wasn't raining) The pool area is clean and very well kept but the pool was a bit on the chilly side. We were not aware that we should have had a kettle and tea/coffee in our rooms and it wasn't until the second week that they were provided. It also seems that once you have used up your box of five tissues and your shower gel, thats it. they were not refilled.
There is no table service in the main restaurant or I should say canteen. I have never eaten in a more noisier restaurant in my life. With at least 100 people eating at the same time, there was very often queues at the various counters and the continual scraping of chairs and clatter of dishes both by diners and waiters was ear splitting. There was also loud cds played morning and night which didn't help. Not a relaxing eating experiance at all. Its saving grace was that the food was good, plentiful and with tremendous choices. We were Thomson travellers and I must say the Reps in the hotel did help to put the problems right but they shouldn't have needed to in the first place. Definitely not a 4 star hotel. We are returning to Playa Blanca in February but will be staying in a villa for a more peaceful holiday!

Room Tip: Don't accept ground floor rooms and the higher the number (ie 240, 340 as opposed to 201, 301...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for a week in November on an All Inclusive basis. Were very lucky with our room allocation, on second floor with a great sea view. Room was a long way from Reception, but was quiet and the balcony had sun for most of the day. We found the food to be OK, but you had to choose carefully - most times the best option was the show cooking, this was freshly cooked and hotter than that in trays. Coffee in the dining room was not too bad as long as you avoided the hot milk they bring with it and helped yourself to cold milk from the buffet. Drinks were very good, and waiter service was good at the bars but staff behind the bars were often offhand and even rude, continuing to converse in Spanish between themselves whilst you attempted to get served. The hotel grounds were extensive and there was plenty of space for sunbeds. Hotel was cleaned well and Reception staff were OK - however check-in did take a long time if you were slow off the bus! Hotel location is good a walk to the lighthouse would take about 30 minutes and it was 45 minutes to the marina the other way.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view. Beds are hard but you can request a duvet to go under the bottom shee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

have visit this hotel a few times,hotel great with disabled rooms on floor 4 .rooms have wheeling shower ,only a few rooms with this.good food ,set on beach,but hotel is on hill not good for disabled or not able to walk very well as you have to get up step hill to get back to hotel if you go back on sea front, by road its ok rooms good size lifts big for wheelchairs.hotel is adults only so lacks noise, no children,lots of oaps when we where there,pools empty join h10 club for discounts. floors1, 2,3, low down not to good all rooms look on pool or gardens ,hotel very noisy at night

Room Tip: disabled rooms floor 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1, Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Timanfaya Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.