We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel for a fabulous holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Rubicon Palace to your Saves list
H10 Rubicon Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel for a fabulous holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just returned from this fabulous hotel which has the most spacious surroundings for you to explore the staff are super friendly and cannot do enough for you there was no problems getting served drinks here and plenty food to expand your waistband this is a family hotel so if you don't mind these little ankle biters running around you will easily enjoy it here there is plenty for the ageing population to do here as well there are quieter areas you can go if you just want to chill the only real negative is that the hotel is a fair distance from the resort centre a good 45 mins to an hour walk which we done 3 times on our weeks break but the ideal weather makes you want to go for a stroll gets you a break from the busy hotel envoirment the hotel is also very reasonably priced so it makes a good choice for a weeks TLC but be prepared for that lanzarote wind

Room Tip: Try for a room no starting 50 or 60 away from the busiest part but close enough to still get use of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear happyholidaymakers24,

Many thanks for your review about the H10 Rubicón Palace!

We are very proud after reading that your stay with us has been satisfactory.

Will be a big pleasure for alla the staff to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,941
    1,452
    545
    185
    105
See reviews for
1,673
1,777
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Rubicon Palace. We were booked into the Flamingo Holiday Village and were looking forward to the children's clubs and activities as we have stayed here previously. However, due to renovations we were diverted the Rubicon palace. We spoke to the First choice representatives via phone and requested to upgrade to the privilege package but were informed that this was not possible as children must be over the age of 12. However, we contacted the hotel directly and were informed that upgrading would not be a problem, of course not as they want the money. We requested a quiet sea view room believing that this was part of the privilege deal. However, after paying nearly £900 to upgrade when we arrived it turned out that we did not have sea view room but had a side room with a large palm tree in front of us. I returned to reception and asked if there were any sea view rooms available but was told to return the next day. We had room 9128. However, when we turned the air conditioning on it sounded like a helicopter was landing on us. Apparently there is a large fan on the roof above this room that services the air con for the building. We were unable to sleep at all so returned to reception and surprise were given a sea view room on the lower level, if this was empty why were we not given this room prior? However, the room was quite spacious with 2 double beds. We had a nexpresso coffee machine which was nice when it worked, we reported it but it was never actually fixed. On the positive side the rooms are nicely furnished and being on the ground floor meant that we could move our sunbeds onto the grass so we didn't need to bother scrabbling for sunbeds. There did not seem to be any problems getting sunbeds anywhere. One point to note though is that there is little in the way of sound proofing and you can hear most activity above and in the rooms beside you. We had strange people above us who were constantly scraping furniture from 1am and again at 6am and for most of the day, even though there were only 2 chairs in the room. We also heard children constantly running from one end of the room to the other for about an hour each morning and again at about midnight. Just because you book privilege does not mean that you will get a quiet room as we were surrounded by French and spanish families with lots of young children who shouted outside our door every morning at 7am and every night at 1am. Hence we had very little sleep throughout the whole holiday.

The Volcan Restraunt provided a good variety of food and the service was good, the only negative concerns the fact that most meet is served medium with blood even if you request it to be well done but if you ask for food to be cooked more they are happy to oblige but this is more of a personal issue rather than any reflection of the standard of the food. The italian restraunt food was ok but was quite rushed. They have 2 sittings at 7.30pm and 9.30pm only but we tried to eat in here during the second week and could only get a 9.30 slot so you need to book very early if you want a 7.30 slot.

The privilege customers have access to their own lounge area during the day until 9pm, this was very nice as you just help yourself to drinks and they usually bring some cakes and canapes up too. It would be better if this lounge was open longer in the evenings though.

The animation team worked hard and were very good with the kids. We believed that there were kids clubs open for each age group but for the first week nothing was provided for the 7 year olds upwards. However in week 2 the kids clubs opened up and this was much better. Our daughter enjoyed being part of the junior show. One day there was a foam party on the bridge which was great fun for adults and kids. There was a wide range of activities for adults such as archery, shooting, games, yoga ect. In the evenings the outside acts were excellent ie brazillian dancers, 4 tenors, chinese acrobats, soul singers and a very good iris blues singer. Unfortunately I have to say that the entertainment from the animation team was very poor and they just mimed to everything. The "we will rock you" is absolutely one to miss as one guy just walked up and down the stage playing air guitar while miming to queen, it was the sort of thing that a teenage boy would do in hos bedroom. After the main entertainment there was supposed to be a disco provided but this was so bad and the music was so weird that the place just emptied, perhaps this is strategic so that staff can go home?

Would we return? Maybe, the hotel is nicely laid out with pretty lawns and big pools but they are just too cold to actually swim in, even the so called heated pool was very cold. The spa was excellent though. There are several pluses compared to the holiday village but I am not so sure that we would have enjoyed it without paying for the privilege package.

Some areas need addressing ie lack of toilets, sound proofing, entertainment and how reception is managed as there are often a lot of staff but most seem to be being trained up as it takes 3 staff to do one task which is very odd. However, as stated there are several positives too.

Room Tip: Do not assume that you will get a sea view room if you upgrade to privilege
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear walesross,

Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor about the H10 Rubicón Palace.

We are sorry for not being capable of fulfilling your expectations. As we always do, we take note of all your comments in order to improve our services.

Lanzarote is a great place where you can have great holidays, so do not hesitate to visit the island again.

Thank you very much and Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived at the H10 Rubicon Palace on 27th May in the evening. We were meant to be staying at the Flamingo Beach Resort but changed our booking with First Choice as I had some concerns about reviews I had read and we also needed to change the dates of our holiday. There was a considerable cost for this but I felt that we had made a good decision changing our booking to the Rubicon Palace. As the reviews for this hotel are on the whole relatively consistent with people returning year after year I had high hopes that we would have a nice holiday. When we arrived there was a few people checking in but we did not wait too long although once the Receptionist had finished telling us about the hotel and given us our room key we were at a loss over what we were expected to do. I had heard that the hotel is vast and that you get taken to your room by a mini train so I guess we were waiting for this. After a few minutes a porter told us to board a minibus parked outside the hotel along with several others and off we went. The location of our room was reasonably central (I had e-mailed the hotel beforehand asking for this) and so we were pleased that our request had been granted. The room was spacious and a bit dated but clean or so I thought but when inspecting the bathroom I noticed a lot of what I thought was silverfish crawling all over the sink and surrounding area. Being late we didn't want to trouble Reception but thought we would wait and see if they were still there in the morning. The hotel itself is a bit dated but we stayed somewhere quite modern last year and maybe this was fresh in our minds. I got the impression that the H10 chain are more concerned with ploughing money into the Privilege areas and there was some building works going on around the hotel although this didn't really bother us. You just get the impression that the general areas of the hotel could do with a bit of TLC but the management are more concerned with making the Privilege areas shiny and nice. I have never encountered such segregation of guests in a hotel before and don't understand why money is being wasted on these exclusive areas which were almost always empty. The area next to Reception in particular was roped off for Privilege guests but in a week I never saw anyone in there. The food was average and the dining room was not a particularly pleasant experience. Horrible lighting, noisy and with no ambience we struggled to get a table the first few nights until the management realised that it was better to seat guests at a table as they walked in. Before this it was a joke trying to find a table for four people and one night we had to leave and come back later because we couldn't find a table. Not a good experience. The hotel is in a good location and we enjoyed the walk into Playa Blanca on the costal path. The nearby Flamingo Beach was also a nice surprise and the restaurant there has the most gorgeous ice cream. As for the pools we mainly sat by the kids pirate ship pool so I can't comment on the other pools but this one was ok. We found the activities a bit of a letdown. The mini golf was in dire need of some upgrading. My grandad had a better set up in his garden and we normally enjoy playing pool while on holiday but on the second day the pool tables were moved to make way for the Privilege works being carried out. We decided to try Tennis and asked at Reception about it and was told you had to book the Tennis court. Not a problem so booked it for 1pm and was told to come to Reception at this time to get racquets, balls and the key and we could have the court to ourselves for an hour. Sounded good but when we went back at 1pm there was a massive crowd of people checking in and we had to wait in line. Some 20 mins later we got to the front of the queue and were told by the Receptionist that the animation team had not brought the key back so to go down to the Tennis court (a considerable walk) with the racquets and see if it was still open and if not to come back. Against my better judgement I did this and surprise surprise it was all locked up which meant a long walk back to Reception with the kids which by this time we had lost half an hour of our slot. We wished we wouldn't have bothered. Overall this feeling summed up our holiday. Disappointment over what might have been a good holiday if a bit of extra customer service was thrown in there. The creepy crawlies in our room kept on making an appearance throughout the holiday and when we checked out and told the guy on Reception this in case it caused problems for the next people staying in the room he just said 'Ants' said we should have been grateful for sharing a room with them the entire time. They were crawling up the walls and invaded our cases which was not very nice so an apology might have sufficed. Oh and another game we enjoyed playing along with spot the ant was guess how many towels you have got today in your room as the cleaner had a habit of taking the dirty ones and leaving two, sometimes three or maybe none at all which meant calling to Reception after a day of sunbathing and desperate for a shower and having to wait anything from half an hour to two hours after being told by Reception' 'two minutes'. Needless to say we won't be returning which is a shame as the hotel itself is in an ideal location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Leanne O,

Thanks from the H10 Rubicon Palace for your review in Tripadvisor.

We always take note of every comment we get to keep on improving everyday. We will do it as well with yours.

It would be a big pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Rubicon Palace. Our last holiday here was nearly 7 yrs ago and the hotel has remained in excellent condition. Staff are constantly working to maintain the hotel, gardens, pools and public areas. We booked direct with the hotel this time and our flights separate rather than as a package through a travel agent and it all went very smoothly and worked out a lot cheaper! The food as always was fantastic - so much choice. We were half board this time but the majority of the guests looked like they were all inclusive - both boards good value for money. The glass of sparkling we received on arrival was a nice touch. The mini disco every night was the highlight for our 4yr old daughter and our other daughters 9 and 12 enjoyed the entertainment that followed - especially the Bejing Acrobats! My only gripe, if any, was more with the guests than the hotel - some people think its acceptable to reserve sunbeds with towels before breakfast each morning and then not actually occupy them until mid afternoon - this was apparent more so around the childrens pirate ship pool. It might be a case of "if you can't beat them, join them!". Sunbeds were available around the salt water pool though. Playa Blanca itself is lovely. You can walk from Rubicon Palace, along a pathway that runs right along the coast, into the town and then on further to the Marina. Taxis from the town centre to Rubicon Palace cost about 4euros if you dont fancy the walk back. On the way, near H10 Timanfya Palace there is Playa Flamingo which is a lovely beach. Really safe for the kids and not as busy as the Playa Dorada beach which is further on. We love it here and it dont think you would be disappointed. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Katie B,

Many thanks for your review about the H10 Rubicón Palace!

We are very proud after reading that your stay with us has been satisfactory.

Will be a big pleasure for alla the staff to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay here.

Rooms - comfortable, enough space for 2 adults and 1 child. Changed rooms to be closer to the children's area, reception staff couldn't have been more helpful. (Javier). You don't get bottled water but do have a fridge you can use and if you take a child's drinking bottle easily refilled in the eating area's.

Pools - many of them, although most people used the heated pool or children's pirate ship pool (although cold initially not too bad after you were in). Always managed to get a sunbed.

Food - good standard, always found something we liked. Have to balance opinion with the size of the hotel but nothing ever ran out constantly replenished.

Staff - never had any issues always polite in every area and willing to help.

Entertainment - ok, mini disco would just be better with music rather than the stop/start talking. Left before 10 every night so cannot comment further than this.

Location - a good walk into playa Blanca but a welcome bit of exercise!

Negatives - flies in indoor eating area's maybe they could do more to cut down on this.

If you go with the opinion it's a large family orientated all inclusive you will not be disappointed. Personally I would not recommend going in school hols if you have no children or upgrade to privilege.



Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear bluemoon40,

Thank you for your review and for sharing with all the other travellers your experience at the H10 Rubicón Palace.

We feel very proud of knowing that your were satisfied with our facilities & services.

Will be a pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Was reluctant about visiting lanzarote on holiday as the weathers usually poor, my word was it windy but the hotel was beyond perfection!!

I have a stuck up tounge for food so usually detest all inclusive buffets but the food really was fantastic!

Great adult only areas and activites. Lots of lovely pool areas to choose from, beautiful views and walks around, and someone handing cava to you at every turn!!

Will definitely return.

Fantastic holiday!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Katieeeg9,

Many thaks for your review.

It's always a big satisfaction to know that our clients go back home happy and satisfied with our facilities.

We wait for you for another great stay!

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great hotel and facilities. This was our first visit and could not have asked for more.

Excellent food choices and kids entertainment.

Many pools to choose from and a stones throw away from beach.

Would recommend at least one trip to the spa and dawn dive centre both of which are on site.

We will be booking to go back this year

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear shane o,

Thank you so much for your review!

We are very happy after reading and knowing that you had a great time with us!

Will be a big pleasure to welcome you.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Rubicon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.