We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Rubicon Palace to your Saves list
H10 Rubicon Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have just spent a wonderful seven days at the Rubicon Palace at Playa Blanca. On our arrival we were allocated a room which was not what we had requested but the staff on reception quickly offered us the choice of three other rooms one of which was more than adequate. The entire complex was spotless and the staff always approachable and willing to help.
The hotel was ideally located for strolls into Playa Blanca along the beautiful coastal walk. The food in the main dining area was exceptional and so much choice for all tastes. The all inclusive package was ideal for us especially the daily free champagne.
Will we go again -you bet.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Malcolm S,

Thank you so much for your nice review! we feel very proud after reading it.

We all celebrate that your request could be solved easily, that's our objective: your full satisfaction.

It would be a big pleasure if we can welcome you during your next holiday period.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    1,449
    544
    183
    105
See reviews for
1,671
1,775
38
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from H10 Rubicon palace after 5 days in Lanzarote. I had looked at so many hotels as a surprise holiday for my partner, read the reviews so I didn't really know what to expect as some was excellent and others not so good. When we arrived the staff were welcoming, we got a drinks reception. Staff we're very helpful in answering all my questions before being shown to our room. The room was amazing, very modern and we got a sea view which made it that extra special (considering I didn't book a sea view). The rooms was clean and we was welcomed with chocolate and a note of what the weather was expected on that day. We were given free hotel beach towels, rope and slippers.

The pool areas were amazing, very big and clean. There is only one heated pool and that's where the families with young children were, so there was busy. But there was enough individual pool area to relax and because it was good weather the pools were not too cold.

The food was amazing. I liked the fact there was an adult only restaurant, as the other had kids running around. The catering staff were very friendly, always willing to help and made sure there was enough food. Each night we had different food which was nice and a large selection.

I bought the wrong adapter and asked the reception for one and within minutes nod was sent to my room Fred of charge!!! The cleaners were friendly as we'll and the room was always cleaned.

This hotel is mainly full of older people and families with young children, however all though we are a young couple we didn't mind, as it meant that we didn't have noisy party goers.

If I was to say anything negative about the hotel it would be:
*no wifi in the rooms (just by reception)
*gym was only free between 8-10
*about 40 mins walk to the town (although bus outside hotel)
*kids were at the entertainment till very late

However we had a great time at the hotel and would go back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear dretaLondon,

Many thank's for your review on Tripadvisor about the H10 Rubicón Palace.

We are after reading that you had a great time with us and we take note about your suggestions, they help us to improve day by day.

It will be a big pleasure if we can welcome you during your next holiday period.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

went to this hotel in april for my 60th was impressed by the full package food drink staff and location. i am returning in september for 10 days looking forward to the morning walks along the seafront into resort centre for a morning drink and walk around the shops taxi back a lay around the pool perfect.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear curryandchips,

Thank you very much for choosing the H10 Rubicón Palace for you 60th birthday, for your nice review but over all, for your next stay with us in september!

We feel very proud after reading that we could fullfil your expectations, because this is our main aim.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed just after Easter for two weeks. The hotel could not give us the room we had requested but upgraded us to a privilege room, which was great for us. We usually have a kettle in our room anyway but this time we had a lovely nespresso coffee machine which suited us very well. The all inclusive meals were very very good but we found the smaller restaurant just as good as the large restaurant (just not as much choice) and it was a lot quieter than the larger restaurant. Our second week we decided to do the whole privilege package and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The privilege lounge was brilliant with lovely canapes left out every evening which were delicious and of course the bar had all possible brands of drink and soft drinks. Especially enjoyed the bottled beer at lunch time. We very much enjoyed the meals we had in the Vulcan Restaurant with our waiter service. Highly recommended. The staff as usually are faultless, extremely polite and fun to talk with. We find we cannot fault the hotel, staff, food and rooms as we slept extremely well throughout out stay. From check in with a glass of cava to checkout went like clockwork. We are now looking forward to going back in September. There is much more I could go on about but would only bore you with how much we really like this hotel. We certainly recommend it as had been back on numerous occasions which I think says a lot for a hotel.

Room Tip: Do join the H10 Club as it is eventually well worth it. Truly have never had noise from any room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear harmony30,

Thank you very much for this great review. Obviously it says a lot for us, but it's more important that you already planned to visit us in september! That's our main goal, to welcome you as much as possible.

We celebrate that our Privilege Service and the Volcan Restaurant satisfied you! But during your next stay you will be able to enjoy our 3 new a la carte themed restaurants!

Looking forward to see you soon,

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Over-run with kids which is what it caters so well for. Evening entertainment above average standard. A little out of the main resort but self sufficient as any good resort hotel is. Food slightly above average. Hotel a little tired, needs a bit of tender loving care and a fresh coat of paint.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear DECORY,

Thank you very much for your positive review about the H10 Rubicón Palace on Tripadvisor.

We really celebrate that you spent a good time with us and you enjoyed our facilities and services.

We would like to inform you that we are in process of having 3 new A La Carte Restaurants plus our buffets and the Volcan Restaurant as well. With this, and as you said, we try to improve the facilities of the Hotel and give more options to our clients with a very high quality , being this, the main goal of the H10 Hotels Company.

Thank you so much for your suggestions and we hope to see you soon in order to discover and enjoy the new big changes of the H10 Rubicon Palace!

Best Regards
The H10 Rubicón Palace Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We (2 adults, 4 year old, 1 year old) had 10 nights from 21st April here with the in-laws joining us for 7 nights from 24th.
Rooms:
We booked a standard room and were given a 6th floor (same level as reception and the road outside) room which faced the main road and mountain behind and the east side of the coast. We found the noise from the road and particularly the staff car park really noisy on the first night and then our 1 year old pulled off an unsecured socket which exposed live electrical wires. We reported this to reception and were immediately moved to the same type of standard room but this time at the same level as the main swimming pool. I agree with some reviewers that the hotel could may well do with a refresh as some of the room decor was quite dated but the main reception and facilities were fairly impressive and up to date. The new room's location was perfect for us having two kids who loved being at the pool, plus it meant that we didn't need to use the lift or stairs when we went to eat at the many restaurants. The privilege room that the in-laws had booked was certainly more up to date and worth the extra cost, particularly because you get to eat in the a-la-carte restaurant everynight plus you are entitled to more premium brand drinks and access to a privilege lounge area included. You can upgrade to this when you are onsite but it is certainly more expensive than if you do this as part of your holiday package with someone like Thomson or Thomas Cook.

Food:
The food was great at the buffet and the one a-la-carte meal we were entitled to was lovely and certainly nice to stay sat down for an entire meal. It would have been nice to have the option for other a-la- carte restaurants as we have experienced at other similar standard all inclusive hotels but it wasn't really a problem.

Swimming pools:
I've read a few reviews regarding the swimming pools which say that there is only one non-saltwater pool, this is not true, there is actually only one out of the 5 which ARE saltwater.The heated pool was busier than other pools understandably but there were other pools namely the kids pool and one near the "Canary Square" which were equally warm enough for both myself and my 1 and 4 year old to be in. The kids pool was great as long as you don't mind getting splashed ALOT although very busy.

Entertainment:
The animation team were great, worked very hard and knew all the kids names and our 4 year old loved the mini club in the day and mini disco in the evening and of course Daisy, the hotel/kids club mascot. The evening entertainment was your usual standard fare with nothing to shout home about but enjoyable all the same.

Location:
About a 45min walk from playa blanca (which is a great place with loads of bars and restaurants) and with a beach less than half way between. The coastal path/promenade was beautiful and definitely worth exploring.

Other:
Beach towels are included but you have to pay a 10euro deposit (on the room tab so you don't actually pay out the cash) but it will cost you 50cents for each towel you want to swap for a clean one. Wifi is free in most areas of the main hotel (reception, piano bar, buffet restaurants, disco) plus by the main pool BUT is not the best, certainly not fast or reliable enough for streaming or facetime for example. The all inclusive aspect was good although a couple of points may be of interest to others. 1. you will need to wear a wrist band - not a problem for me but my father in law didn't particularly enjoy this as he tends to go to hotels where everyone is all inclusive. 2. You can only get beer in small glasses - petty i know but it can be quite annoying to have to go to the bar so many times. 3. When you ask for a drink, spirits in particular, ask if they have the brand you'd prefer, you 'll be surprised which ones are actually included in the all inc package.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would be more than happy to go back although we tend to try different locations each time for our hols.

Room Tip: Upgrade to privilege if you can afford, otherwise ask for a standard room around the pool (see pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Steve C,

The Management of the H10 Rubicón Palace is very happy after reading your review and we thank you so much for it!

We really appreciate and celebrate that most of our services were satisfactory for you and your family.

We always take note about the suggestions and we will focus on them to improve every day a little bit.

We would love to see you soon in order to enjoy the changes that we obtain from your comments.

Best Regards,

The H10 Rubicon Palace's Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finchampstead, Berks
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went for our week holiday to the Rubicon Palace - 1st time to Lanzarote and an H10 hotel. The Rubicon is their oldest hotel in Lanzarote - they have a sister hotel 30 minutes walk in Playa Blanca town center - we would recommend going there instead.
Our rooms were okay although one had a faulty air con unit - so after three days waiting the hotel moved us to some decent rooms. Our six month old baby had struggled each night which was not nice for us as parents and little Evan, but at least for the 2nd half of the holiday he could sleep.
The layout is very good but like so many hotels there is only one small pool that was heated so the entire hotel population were camped out around it. All other pools are sea water - so very very cold.
So the hotel was not this best but not the worst. We booked far ahead so we got a good deal.

Room Tip: Check the air con is working straight away - if you don't feel cold air ask to be moved immediat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Nicholas G,

We appreciate your review on Tripadvisor about the H10 Rubicón Palace. We celebrate that in general you had that "good deal" that you expected" before coming.

But we want to apologize for those inconvenients that you had during your stay.

We always focus on client's comments and we will analyze yours in order to improve day by day.

Once again thak you.

Best Regards,

The H10 Rubicón's Palace Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Rubicon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.