We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, cannot wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Rubicon Palace to your Saves list
H10 Rubicon Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant, cannot wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived to a complimentary glass of champagne, check in was not as quick as it could be but not an excessively long wait. We were given a map and the receptionist explained where everything was and we were taken to our room by minibus, even though it was only less than a 5 minute walk from reception I think they do this so that you are not interrupted around the pool by people arriving. First impression was simply, wow, it is exactly as it looks in the brochure, spotless and has a touch of class. This was the best hotel i've ever stayed in as far as sun holidays go, I felt the food was of far superior quality to other hotels i've stayed in, with a huge variety of choices and great cuts of meat etc. and always fresh, I saw them take food away that had not even been touched yet replaced it with a fresh tray which I thought was good as you know they are monitoring the freshness of the food. They had a BBQ a couple of days we were there and that was great too! They also had a Flamenco night with tapas and sangria in the square outside the restaurants with a live flamenco band which was brilliant and romantic.

I've seen a few people moan about the fact that sunbeds are reserved, and yes it does state that sunbeds should not be reserved but lets face facts, every hotel has people that get up and put their towels on sunbeds in the morning, but to be honest the pool is so big there were always spare sunbeds, we turned up at the pool in the heat of the day some days and had no problems getting a sunbed in our usual spot close to the pool bar. The main large saltwater pool is lovely, a little chilly and could maybe do with being heated but once you are in it is fine. The pools are clean and the area around them is clean as well.

As for location, we were aware that the hotel was quite a distance from the beach as we did our research before booking, we did the walk and it took us about 45 minutes at a steady pace that that included a stop at the shop to pick up a drink. If you want to see the beautiful coastline of Playa Blanca then I highly recommend you to walk from the hotel to the Rubicon Marina at least once while you are there. There are shops and restaurants and bars most of the way there so you are never without a drink or toilet or a sit down etc. The rest of the time we just got a taxi and it cost 4 euros from Playa Blanca back to hotel or 5 euros from the Rubicon Marina back to the hotel.

Playa Blanca and the Rubicon Marina are both worth a visit, loads of lovely shops and bars and restaurants and its nice to see the boats etc. We also visited the market at Rubicon Marina and it was nice, lots of lovely things to buy as gifts or souvenirs and found it to be quite enjoyable to just have a look around - no hassle from market traders etc.

Our room was a twin room (but we got two double beds - or extremely large singles!) with our own little patio area and it was clean and comfortable and not far at all from the pools and the reception area. We found the entertainment each night quite good, we do not have children but even the minidisco was enjoyable as the animation team always seem to include everyone and there's always something funny or entertaining happening on or near the stage! The shows were great, the animation team really put a lot of effort into the entertainment and they do not stop morning noon and night and they always seem to have a smile on their faces. The acts from outside the hotel were also good and we did enjoy all of them. They also do other fun stuff such as quizzes and bingo or Mr Rubicon Palace 2013 which was a laugh!

The drinks are a mixture of local and branded and you get a good measure! Found service quite swift in all bars, obviously there can be a bit of a wait in the show bar probably a few minutes but this is only in intervals between minidisco and show etc. when everyone gets up to get a drink.

I cannot fault this hotel at all, the only thing I would say is that maybe the large saltwater pool could be heated a little bit in months when the weather is more overcast in the morning etc. Maybe they could throw in one free pass for the spa, but then again at 10 euros for a day pass it is brilliant value to pass the time on an overcast day, really worth a try if you fancy doing something different.

We really enjoyed our holiday at Rubicon Palace and we already want to return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,190
    1,602
    592
    200
    118
See reviews for
1,829
2,012
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from the 23rd April for a week nice hotel very good for the kids also would like to recommend the fotoeventi group for the fantastic photos they took of my little girl and my niece the pictures were amazeing would highly recommend a lovely keepsake Christina!ha the only downfall weather let us down.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had a fab 2 weeks here and could not find anything to complain about, the hotel was spotless, the food amazing and the staff were great they could not do enough for the guests.

No issues with getting a sun bed and food, beer / soft drinks were available all day and night, could not eat or drink anymore if we tried. We were given loads of freebies which made a nice touch.

Location was fab, 10 mins walk from the centre of Lazarote and the walk was beautiful with Fuerteventura views and lots to see nad do on the way to the town.

Will definitely come back to this hotel as it really was a lovely experience and one of the nicest hotels we have ever been too. The staff made it !!

Room Tip: The rooms down by the sea front look amazing but the "breeze" is fierce and you can here t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel looked lovely on web site but was quite far out of Playa Blanca centre, a good 35 mins walk. Were not informed of differences between half board, all inclusive and privileged bookings.
We went half board and were excluded from some areas of the hotel. Although hotel states no towels on loungers this was totally ignored at the pool nearest to us and never policed by hotel, ie towels on loungers at 8am and no owner arriving before 11am which was very frustrating.
Food was average but plentiful although a bit repetitive. Rooms were clean and had large balconies with good view where we were, a good walk from reception, certainly helped to walk off dinner.
A good hotel with lots to do if you have children but not what we were looking for. Would not recommend for couples with no children.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and are on same level as reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_HRP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments through this website with us and with other customers. We appreciate your nice words about our hotel and its facilities and on the other hand we apologize for not having been able to meet your expectations.

The information about differences between Half Board and All Inclusive are stated on the website, and there are no restrictions of access to guest who did not take the AI option. The restaurants are accessible for everyone, however, taking half board option means that breakfast and dinner are included in the price, and if you wish to have lunch you need the pay extra, as for the drinks, also in restaurants and bars.

We apologize if this policy, which is international practice in all the hotels, has caused you any inconvenience and we would like to ask you to give us a second chance and have to the opportunity to recover your confidence.

Kind regards,

Anna Muzsik
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel. When you walk into the reception area you immediately think wow! The staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them. The main restaurant is clean and well kept. Food is always hot and everything I tried was top quality and totally delicious. Loads of choice, even if you are a fussy eater, there should be something that you will like. Rooms are huge and very clean, and there are loads of toiletries in the large bathroom. We booked the a la carte restaurant once during our weeks stay, and again it was great. There are three main pools, one freshwater, one heated, and one salt water. there is a kids pool with a pirate ship in it and another smaller pool. The hotel is huge, we emailed the hotel just after we booked and asked if we could be close to reception, which they did for us. The only think that I found frustrating is that the free wireless is throttled so much that it is barely usable. Hotel location isn't great but you are about a 15 minute walk to the nearest beach, 35 minute walk to the centre of Playa Blanca, 45 minute walk to the largest beach, and 55 minutes from the marina where there is a very good market on Wednesdays and Sundays. We walked from the hotel to the marina and found it to be a good walk with great view along the coast. There is a bus the stops right outside the hotel and only costs 1.40 euros, or you can get a taxi. The transfer from the airport was just under and hour

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

On arrival at this hotel for 10days it looked fabulous but you soon realise that its great to escape the Port Merrion (the prisoner tv programme) feeling. Okay for older couples as but if you want a fun night avoid this hotel. Piano bar soooo depressing,irish pub no atmosphere and only one guy serving..quicker to get taxi to playa Blanca. Pool bar closed early most days as this was dining for select. Hotel creates class distinction by two tier service. We went A/I but to our dismay when asking for water you have to pay 2 euros for a small bottle which you then can refill from taps in the bar areas. Nice little earner for Rubicon. Tip...pack your own plastic bottles. Paid 29euros on departure for hiring pool towels (50cents to change them...another nice little earner for Rubicon) safe and a kettle.
Food reasonable but had better in Riu or Iberostar. Dining experience a nightmare with severe numbers of people present. Food very well presented but grumpy chefs if you requested something simple like a well done piece of meat.

Staff look unhappy some managing a smile but could you smile with so much to do. Come on Rubicon you have become complacent because your bookings are high..anywhere is only as good as the man at the top so employ more staff and revamp your entertainment programme.
Check in was quick enough but had to wait for our room. Not what we had asked for so ended up moving thanks to First choice rep.
Reviews so black and white on this hotel but feel justified in my thoughts as have had better vacations A/I for less with better atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for room near to main facilities or you will be walking and walking and walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_HRP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and for sending us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We will improve all the aspects we consider necessary after looking into your comments.

Regarding to extra charges, we inform you that hiring pool towels is free of charge, you only need to leave a deposit, which is returned on your departure day and we also provide kettle free of charge in the room under request.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future and prove you that we have all the resources to satisfy your expectations and to spend an enjoyable holiday with us.

Best regards,
Anna Muzsik
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I usually do big reviews but with this one I don't have the energy

Good points:

-Always get a sun bed (might not be best position but there's still loads)
-Self service beer, wine, soft drinks & water at lunchtime
-Great entertainment in the day and the shows at night
-Lots of food to choose from (sometimes too much)
-Clean rooms- lovely maids staff
-The submarine excursion
-THE SPA!

Bad points-

-No close beach- DO NOT go to papagayo beach, it's not worth the 2 mile hike over the hills to get to it! Some people said the playa blanca beach was nice but a 40 minute walk, so better to get a taxi- about 4euros to get there.

-HUGE grounds!- The hotel and grounds are massive, which means a lot of rooms....a lot of people! We dropped someone off in room 9118 when we first arrived!

The problem with a lot of people means a lot of food, busyness (especially at meal times) and check in and out! WHICH WAS A NIGHTMARE!!! But for some reason the hotel forgot that the more guests you need the more staff you need!

Getting served at the bar is unreal, no one can ever get drunk because they never get served! They are too slow with check in & out and on the bar!

-Our safe didn't work
-We were on our honeymoon as were 2 other couples in the hotel at that time and though they got a free pass to the spa and a bottle a cava on arrival we did not!
-Nightlife after the show is rubbish, no real disco for adults or anything and the irish pub is a JOKE! no karaoke while we were there, no pub quizzes, good music, NOTHING!

The meal in the Italian restaurant which everyone gets one night included tasted like plane food! and we got a bottle of wine which when I tried to pour myself the waitress ran over saying no no no no no! And snatched it off me to pour it for us herself! Which made everyone in the room stare at us! So for the rest of the night we didn't dare pour our own drinks!

All in all this hotel is ok but I WOULDN'T go back, too big, too busy, doesn't feel relaxing at all! I think a lot of it is personal preference and the fact it was our honeymoon, we spent £1500 and it didn't feel special at all. It felt hustle and bustle all the time.

The most relaxing part was the spa which we went too everyday! And the submarine excursion was FAB! Apart from that I wouldn't go back.....

RIU Oliva beach hotel- Fuerteventura- Reccomended!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view! All the ones which aren't look over the other hotel blocks, pools & not ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_HRP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your feedback and for having chosen our hotel to spend your honeymoon. We appreciate your nice mentions about our fantastic animation team, they work day and night to entertain all public, we will transmit them your gratitud.

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, however, we always try to make our guests’ stay the most enjoyable possible. We respect your personal preferences and your opinion; however, we would like to add that we have quiet pool areas, where there is no animation, no noise, less people, where you can enjoy relaxing and quiet holidays. We take note of your comments about the staff at reception and Piano bar and we will take immediate actions in order to prevent the described situation of happening again.

Kind regards,

Anna Muzsik
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Rubicon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.