We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Rubicon Palace to your Saves list
H10 Rubicon Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Hotel Rubicon...what can I say? As soon as we got back home, we were trying to book again for later in the year. It was our first time 'all inclusive' so we didn't know what to expect, but it was fabulous. The place is amazing, should be 5* at least; staff are lovely and friendly, and helpful. Food was brilliant....we gained so much weight! We were upgraded to a fabulous sea-view (right on the beach) room because it was our anniversary...! Even the stray cats are nice!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    1,451
    544
    183
    105
See reviews for
1,671
1,776
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay recently at The Rubicon Palace. The food was good quality and the restaurants well organised. I agree to a certain extent about the dining tables being close together but we were blessed with good weather and were able to sit outside most times. We tended to use the restaurant on the left-hand side (as you face the hotel) as this seemed to be the quieter of the two, although this did not open for lunch. My only complaint was that there was only one coffee machine in this restaurant and every morning there was quite a long queue. There were pots of coffee on the tables but we found this much too strong and preferred the milkier variety.

The bedroom was large and comfortable and although we didn't get one of the better rooms as it was some distance from the main hotel building, this caused no real problem and we did have a sea view.

The resort of Playa Blanca is a good hour's walk from the hotel but this helped us to walk off the food and drink! The shops and bars are accessible along the promenade and with the gentle sea breeze it made for a pleasant walk during the day. We tended to stay on the hotel complex in the evenings but the promenade had adequate lighting for those who ventured out at night, plus there were plenty of taxis.

I think the hotel might be a bit too busy for us in the peak season but we would certainly go again early or late season for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

My wife and I are experienced travelers and have been to many Hotels and the Rubicon Palace would rate high on our list. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, yes, the bar did get busy, but I did not wait more than a couple of minutes to be served. The food in the Buffets was plentiful and would suit all tastes, my wife is a fussy eater and had no complaints. The only niggle we had was that there should be a heated pool as all were freezing, too cold to swim. the entertainment in the Piano was was OK we particularly enjoyed the piano playing of Pedro. We found the whole experience was good value for money and would certainly return. I can see no point in paying extra for the Privilege deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Returned from this hotel on 24th March. Large complex but still only took 3-4 mins from our room to the central area where the restaurants are. Two large restaurants open simultaneously to cater for a large number of people. Staff friendly and efficient, clearing tables quickly. Yes the tables are fairly close together but they need to cater for large numbers and if you dont want to wait for a table they need to be plentiful. Our experience of the food was good and varied.

The complex is very well maintained and kept very clean. Although its right on the seafront there is no beach directly outside the hotel but a pleasant walk along a clean and safe promenade to the town. There is a beach near the town.

The First Choice rep was not well informed. We found information ourselves, inlcuding the bus which runs every 30 mins from right outside the hotel to the town for one euro 20 cents.

Its amazing how the same hotel can be judged so differently by people. We enjoyed the holiday and hotel and would recommend it. We were fortunate to have nice weather.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed at the Rubicon Palace for two weeks 13th to 27th march and like any large hotel in the canaries it has good and bad points. We booked the privilege service and were very happy with it, the room was large with a huge comfortable bed, the maid service was very good the latest the room was cleaned was 1.30pm and this was due to it being a changeover day and they were very busy. A maid came in every evening to turn down the bed and left us a weather forecast and some chocolates. The staff in the privilege restaurant were excellent always very polite and friendly and we had our breakfast and evening meal there most days we went to la choza pool bar or the buffet restaurant for our lunch both have separate areas with waiter service for the privilege guests the food was good in all three restaurants.There is a privilege lounge with a self service bar and a large sun terrace this is open 10.00am to 9.00pm and we found it to be very peaceful and relaxing. There are only three things which let this hotel down in my opinion and they are birds getting inside the pool bar and going on any food that is uncovered, not enough seating in the piano bar in the evening and too few staff on the bar in the evening which results in quite long queues at the bar. The staff at this hotel work very hard and with the exception of one i found them to be very polite, friendly and always willing to help. Would we go back yes but only with the privilege service neither of us fancy the bun fight in the buffet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned last night from our 1 week stay in the rubicon palace beginning 20th march.

Staff at the reception were great, let us go down for something to eat before we were officially checked in - we thought this was great as if they had kept us waiting we would of missed our chance for something to eat and had to wait until dinner! We went back up and they were very quick, then just as we started to look for our rooms we were whisked off by a hotel porter with another couple and taken to our rooms! Fantastic as we didnt even know where to begin to start looking for our room!

Room - Our room was fantastic, very pleased!! Very spacious, large wardrobes, plenty of draws, wide screen tv, around 4 or 5 english channels but not many. Maid service everyday, which was great. Was not expecting this atall, she even went the extra mile and tidied up stray clothes on the floor and left them folded. She also replenished toiletries everyday in the bathroom! We had a sea view room and had sun all day on our balcony! And for the record, our room looked exactly like the one in the brochure, and we were not privelidge!!


Resturants - We used only one of the resturants during our stay, no particular reason for doing this. Staff were fantastic in there, always clearing up and dishing out HOT food, so much choice to chose from! Breakfast was the only meal time we didnt enjoy so much, saugages would rift up all day and the bacon was stuck together. Probably our only complaint about the resturant!! One waiter in piticular was such a happy chappy, put a smile on our faces everyday! Great service and very child friendly.

Pools - I must admit the pool we used which was the main, looked gorgeous but was very cold! Fine after 5 minutes but had to really build yourself up to actually go in. If you are planning on taking children with you on holiday, they have the most fantastic kids pool! My 5 year old nephew would have loved this! A huge pirate ship with slides and cannons in the water! Looked very fun indeed!

Entertainment bar - Childrens entertainment - fantastic if you have little ones!! Did not however start as late as what someone has previously written below. Staff very friendly behind the bar, could be standing for ten minutes give or take at their busiest but isnt that in most bars on a busy night??? We found that they were very generous with the alcohol, sometimes a little too strong but not complaining at that!!! However my only real complaint is the entertainment team for the adults. Did not really enjoy these atall. Thought they could have tried alot harder in what they were doing, no effort with costumes, only lip-syncing...(not very impressive when you have two west end stars in the family)

Piano Bar - Great for a quick drink before your meal, again bar staff very friendly!!

The whole week were stayed in Lanzarote the weather was fantastic!! This was a massive plus for me as i was not expecting it to be this hot and i am a sun seeker! Nearly hitting the 30's on some days! :D

With the hotel being at the end of the island, it can be quite a way to the beach. The first one is around 25 minutes from Rubicon palace, lovely beach and even lovelier water!! Again, cool but not as cold as the pool. Initially we thought that this was the closest beach to us but if you carry on pass the harbour there is a beautiful beach! Probably an hours walk from the hotel!

Overall we were very impressed with the Hotel Rubicon, would definately recomend and would definately go back there!!!

I will admit that some of the people who have previously posted reviews did put me off before we went on holiday, but they could'nt have been more wrong! They sound like they have just gone to put a downer on the place and if they wanted a better service, then thats what privalidge is for!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Having just come back from this hotel we spent the the first 6 days freezing cold because the hotel had no heating i know the weather was bad but surely a 4 star should have heating .
My next concern was with the dinning restaurants more like canteens the tables were far to close together you could help yourself to the person sitting next to you food then you had people trying to squeeze between the tables you had a rear end nearly on your plate not nice when eating, also the food was lukewarm the buffet tops were not hot enough & the food was transported from the kitchen area on open trolleys not covered or heated which they should have been .
Then you had waiters cleaning off used plates and putting any food scraps into plastic bag with there hands surely rubber glovey should have been warn because the were then setting out fresh cutterley and plates with these same hands not hygenic .
The grounds & pools were kept very nice it is a pity the same cannot be said for the rest also the bed rooms needed a good clean we had dead flys and other thing stuck to the walll not 4 star standard will we return no .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Rubicon Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.