We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Paradise Island to your Saves list
Aparthotel Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacion Montana Roja, P-28, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Playa Blanca
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have just got back from paradise island and we loved it that much we are looking at going back very soon. We went with our two year old son and he loved it there was loads for him to do. They have a brilliant waterpark a daytime club where the kids can draw and paint and they have a child disco at the night we couldn't get our little one of the stage. The entertainment staff were fab Steph, Ricky, Charlotte and Tracey and the HL entertainment team Sanni and Nikki they always got my little one involved and if they were playing a game he didn't fully understand they would sit with him and show him they all had loads of time for him. The reception staff were all very helpful and polite and the cleaners were excellent whenever you asked you got they pulled everything out for me midweek beds sofa and cleaned under everything. Playa blanca beach is not far from the hotel and cost about 3.50 euros in a taxi my partner doesn't like buses ha... The taxis are always there within two minutes aswell. I can honestly say this hotel is the perfect hotel for a family holiday and the food is delicious too. Thankyou paradise island hotel staff for making our holiday just perfect and we will see you again shortly love Danielle xxx

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Director General at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Danielle,

Thank you very much for your wonderful and warm review published on Tripadvisor.

It is a great honour to know that you spent perfect holidays at our HL Paradise Island and that you especially mentioned the effort and friendliness of our team. Hearing that you think so highly of our staff makes us very proud and with pleasure we will forward your praising words to them.

Once again thank you for your positive comments which encourage us in our work and which are a huge motivation to continue in doing our utmost to meet the expectations of our guests or even exceed them.

We are looking forward to your return and remain

With our very best wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    555
    353
    178
    184
See reviews for
913
352
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

we went for a week at the beginning of March (myself and my mum) and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The hotel is rated 4 stars and I believe it is the correct rating.
The staff are wonderful and friendly, and very helpful.
The rooms are clean and tidy. They are cleaned every day to a brilliant standard.
The food has good variety and they have a different theme every night (italian, mexican, british etc). They also has a childs area of food which has the obvious chips, chicken nuggets etc.
The pool area is lovely, there is a pool bar which serves snacks and drinks. The sunloungers are never full up as they dont allow you to reserve sunbeds for more than 45 minutes which is very helpful (you have enough time to go for lunch etc without having to worry about your towels being moved, and you dont have to be at the pool area at silly oclock to get a bed).
The Thomas Cook entertainment team are brilliant, they have a mini disco for the kids followed by bingo then some evening entertainment which is different every night.
We walked down to the water park to have a look but we didnt use it. It looks fun if youve got kids with you.
There is a regular free bus that takes you into town and to the beach (takes about 5 minutes) and back to the hotel that runs all day. The driver is very friendly and always on time. The waterfront has lots of bars and restaurants and shops, and is a lovely day out.

We were there while the Carnival was on in Arrecife and if you get the chance to go you should definitely do it. Such a good experience, they organise a coach there and back and the Thomas Cook reps stay with you throughout.

We also went on a excursion to the north of the island, which was again good value for money and very interesting.

All in all I would say the hotel is great and I would definitely be happy to return here in the future.

Very impressed with the bar staff and cleaners.

Wonderful.

Room Tip: if you have kids a room closer to the water park would be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Director General at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear HL Paradise Island guest,

As we value very much all comments of our guests, we are delighted to read that you had such a pleasant stay in our lovely hotel.

We highly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our outstanding All Inclusive offer, our hard working and friendly staff, excellent cleanliness of the rooms and our great entertainment program.

Thank you so much for acknowledging the efforts of the entire team, in particular our cleaners, the bar staff and the entertainers. Please rest assure that we will share your praising words with them.

It is wonderful to read that you used the opportunity to discover our beautiful island and enjoyed the special Carnival celebration in Arrecife during your stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon, thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your travel experience with the online community on Tripadvisor

Warmest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was our first all inclusive as having two very fussy children to feed we have always stayed self catering for fear of ending up having very hungry children, I needn't have worried, the food was very good and the staff in the restaurant even better, especially during the busy times when they are over worked. The rooms are big and bright, and the cleaners do a fantastic job, our kids couldn't wait till the cleaner came every day to see how she had set their teddies on their beds, every day was different.
The entertainment team which consisted of Thomas cook staff as well as hotel staff were amazing and always full of energy.
The hotel is a little out of the centre of Playa Blanca which does mean either a walk or bus to the beach, although the bus is free. We only used the bus once as we found it just as quick to walk anyway. The location does have a very good plus point as you have a volcano on your doorstep which is definitely worth walking up if you can, it took an hour to walk to the top, around the crater, through the crater and back.
The pools and waterpark areas were clean, but the pools were cold (although not cold enough to stop us using them everyday), we were there in Feb/March and only one pool is heated, and all the pools were lifeguarded.
All things considered it is a fantastic holiday for families and would recommend, we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I would try to avoid the rooms around the waterpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Director General at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear HL Paradise Island guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our HL Paradise Island**** for your first all inclusive experience and we are delighted to read that we were able to fulfil your expectations of great holidays.

Moreover we are happy to learn that you could make use of our free Shuttle bus to the town centre of Playa Blanca and the beach, and also used the opportunity to discover the fascinating volcano landscape in the surroundings of our hotel.

Your recommendation of our hotel makes us very proud and we wish to thank you for taking the time to write this friendly review of your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family very soon again.

Until then we remain with

Best wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Me my mum and my 2 yr old stayed at this hotel and for a cheap get away it was lovely we didn't pay much and the food was about average for a cheap ai hol maybe a bit above x the hotel is pretty with the bridge the kids club is good with the play park and the entertainers work really hard at nite for the kids and then they do the shows!!! The shows are really really naff like them pretending to sing songs whilst the song is playing but it was that bad me and mum just laughed at it and to be fair it made the hol! The rooms are massive and the balcony we used to go bak to the room so the little one cud have a kip and we used to sunbath lying on the sofa cushions on the balcony and it was beautiful! The hotel is a quite a trek to the beach or marina so if you struggle walking it's no good really but we love to walk so no problem for us! Playa Blanca is my favourite place in lanzarote the marina is so beautiful I fall in love everytime I go bak x We have stayed at another hotel in playa Blanca since and we went to see how much it wud cost to move to paradise island because this was a million times better than our 2nd hotel! X I wud definitely visit again x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Director General at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear HL Paradise Island guest,

We are delighted to find such a wonderful review about our hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much for the time and effort involved in this lovely description of our hotel.

With great pleasure we read how much you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel and that you spent a cheerful time watching the night entertainment, relaxed in the sun on your balcony and found our all inclusive offer a good value for money.

Indeed it is a lovely walk from our hotel to the town centre or the beach of around 20 minutes, but we also offer every hour a free shuttle bus to the town for our guests.

Once again we wish to thank you for your friendly review and look forward in welcoming you and your family once again to our HL Paradise Island **** in the near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I think some of the bad reviews are a touch over critical. We only got home today and there is very little to fault here. We went for a special occasion and were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and cakes.
So good points:
I use to work as an entertainer in the Sol Melia hotels years ago and I can say firstly that every member of the entertainment team here are fantastic, full of energy and brilliant at their jobs.
The restaurant - staff are excellent and during busy periods when they are under alot of pressure (for example people that stay in bed late and then there is a rush between 9.30-10.30am). The restaurant manager is an absolute gentleman and clearly takes alot of pride in his job and always is digging out where ever help is needed - he is a credit to the hotel and they are lucky to have him. A waiter named Matte was extremely helpful to us when we arrived on day one at 9pm - we just managed to catch dinner and after our two little ones age 8 months and 2 being on the plane for 4 hours they were in need of something. The supermarket had no milk left and Matte looked after us with enough mlik to get us through the night. Can't fault the staff at all. The food itself - sorry but you really would have to be fusy not to find something you like to eat. We had everything during our stay from roast chicken to steak. The themed evenings in the restaurant are great for something different.
The outdoor facilities are the best I've seen. The childrens waterpark and playgrounds are brilliant and the 2 year old never got bored once.
Rooms were spotless and big. Great having the kitchen facilities even though we were all inclusive.
The pool bar was great too and you could help yourself to as much ice cream and drinks as you like. There is food available pretty much all day between the restaurant and the pool bar.

The bad points - the bed wasen't great but that we could live with it. The only real downside for us was the water temperature in the pools. There is one heated pool but it's not one our child could use without one of us in with him. The other pools - water park included were not just cold but freezing! If they were to heat the kiddies waterpool then I would say it's perfect.

Overall amazing value for money and we loved our holiday. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Director General at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear HL Paradise Island guest,

We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning the good work of our entertainers, the great value for money our hotel offers and for highlighting our excellent cuisine and variety of food.

Our maitre Emilio and Matte our waiter, who gave you a top notch service, greeted you with a smile, and made you feel important, will be motivated with you appreciations. Both will be happy to learn that they made your stay extra special.

With regards to your comments relating to the pool, we find in the winter months that although one pool and the water in the Dino Park are heated to at least 25º, because the evenings are cool and the sunlight hours are not so long and the heat in the day is not so intense there is always the sensation that the water is perhaps not so warm at this time of year. But we can assure you that the pool and the water in our Dino Park are always heated to the required temperature with solar cell energy.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and on behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for recommending our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon and remain with

Best wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Most of my experience of this hotel has been said in previous posts.

However I must highlight issues with the evening entertainment animal shows. You expect to avoid bullfights but not the evening entertainment in your hotel.

The first was a reptile show and initially appeared OK but I was concerned about the photo opportunity after the show. I was going to get a picture of my daughter with the snake but changed my mind when I saw the rough handling of the creature.

A few days later, the same people were running a second show and like the first show they arrived with boxes on 2 barrows and had to “push” their way through the tables and chairs of the audience. This show involved birds and I believe the first bird on show was a Harris Hawk. It appeared to me to be frightened as it struggled on its leashes and messed on the floor. Its tail feathers were tatty and generally didn’t look like a happy animal.

The next bird was a Kookaburra, it too struggled on its leashes and I could see its beak was damaged, another unhappy animal.

The star of the show was a large Eagle Owl. This bird looked well-kept but I am concerned about the box it was transported in as none of the ones I saw looked adequate to transport it.

My previous visits to Bird of Prey shows have been quite different, outside, audience encouraged to stay seated and the touching of the birds was strictly controlled where here this was not.

I suspect Paradise Island was just one of many shows that night so it raises a question about whether it got worse as the evening progressed.

I have highlighted this with Dr. Peter Fankhauser Head of Thomas Cook UK & Europe and he replied that there is little they can do as it is organised by the hotel. This response is not what I expected, I will think carefully before I book with Thomas Cook again.

In summary
• It did not look like the right environment for a bird show, noisy with bright lights.
• The transportation of the animals did not look appropriate.
• The handling of the reptiles and birds raised concerns regarding animal welfare.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Director General at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Simon,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel, which have been taken in the highest consideration to assess and evaluate our performance.

We are really sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our evening entertainment.

Rest assure that all of the external Shows who are collaborating with HL Paradise Island are certified by the Spanish authorities regarding the animal welfare and keeping them in ways appropriate to their species. We also shared your comments with the operators of the shows and with Thomas Cook and will considerate them for our future planing.

Thank you once more for taking the time to let us know your opinion regarding the evening shows.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel is lovely and clean, and fantastic for kids with a very good kids entertainment team throughout the day and evening. Nice big swimming pools, although they we're very cold. The water park is also very good, although the kids need to be over 1.2 metres in height to go on all the slides and the life guard is strict on it and will measure your child.
The hotel is situated inland (not walking distance to the beach) however the hotel does have a free shuttle bus down to the beach/marina that runs all day, and is well worth using. A taxi is only 3 Euros so not too bad either.
Now for the down side - the food is boring and doesn't change much from one day to another. The food during the day at the pool bar is limited and once it has gone that's it. The buffet at breakfast, lunch and evening in the main restaurant is the same everyday, to the point of us paying to have a meal out just to get a break. If you like seafood you will be disappointed.
As for the accommodation, nice big rooms, the kids beds are made up on the sofa. Adults beds are hard, its like sleeping on a snooker table.
Overall we had a great holiday, just the food let it down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Director General at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Liz,

We are glad to hear that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed the children entertainment, our pool area and the water park. Thank you very much for giving us a five star rating for cleanliness. Our housekeeping team will be delighted to read that.

As the safety of our clients and in particular of the children is the most important thing for us we ask for your understanding that we are strict in obeying these safety regulations at our Dino Park. For the welfare of our clients some of the slides can be used just from a minimum height of 1,20 m on. On the other side we do have slides, a water playground and a river just for children (maximum height 1,40 m).

We are disappointed to learn that for dinner you rarely found something to your taste because with our different themed nights (Canarian, German, Spanish, English, Intercontinental, Mexican) and the live cooking stations where fish and meat is prepared a la minute we try to offer our guests a variety of options. Moreover our guests can use our speciality restaurants (Asian and Italian) for dinner.

We regret to read that you found our beds not very comfortable and we are glad to inform you that we recently bought new mattresses and blankets. We are very sorry that during your stay you could not benefit from it.

Once again we wish to thank you for your valuable comments that help us to improve.

We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again and remain

With best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Paradise Island

Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, P-28, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HL Hotel Paradise Island resort is situaded in a small town of Yaiza in Lanzarote, near the fishing town of Playa Blanca and the Papagayo Beaches. The HL Hotel Paradise Island is an ideal place to enjoy your holiday with your family with great facilities and service in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Aparthotel Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Aparthotel Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Paradise Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.