We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Paradise Island

Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Paradise Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aparthotel Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacion Montana Roja, P-28, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 35 hotels in Playa Blanca
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“birthday treat !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

my husband bought me here for a treat,we been 3 times before. the hotel is excellent in every way .its good for families and couples.the food selection is incredible,including a chinese and italian restaurant .free bus to beach and town .the volcanoe next to the hotel is well worth a walk up the view is marvellous! will be back next year . fabulous break. the on site waterpark is good for the young at heart lol

Room Tip: all rooms are great !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are happy to see that your husband chose our hotel to celebrate your birthday and that you spent a lovely time with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again next year & wish you all the best!!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    492
    312
    159
    167
See reviews for
782
344
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have just come back from a weeks stay at paradise island and had a great time, as other people have said it was ideal with a heated pool outdoors and the aqua pools were Alaska temps.
The accommodation was ok with the fridge, kettle, toaster and cooker if needed to be used.
The evening entertainment was good with the nutty reps keeping the children entertained plus you can never go abroad from a good game of bingo!
The Spanish old people are miserable but they are old, that's what made us laugh at how they are.
The only downside which made us feel very uncomfortable was there was a man there which would turn up for the kids entertainment and play a game of bingo then go before the evening entertainment, this was somewhat strange!!
Hope this review helps because it's a good holiday hotel complex.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you spent a good time in our hotel.
Hopefully we could receive you back soon. We wish you all the best & remain with

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I came back from 7 days all inclusive on 21/11/13 and I have to say it is no way as bad as what the reviews make out it to be.

The hotel is clean and well maintained and looks as good as the pictures on the website. The waterpark is brilliant and we were in there everyday, has good on sight facilities such as a big outdoor pool, a smaller heated pool and free wifi in the lobby bar.

The Thomas Cook entertainment team are hilarious with excellent daytime and evening entertainment that had me in stitches every night, they really do try their best to make sure you are having an excellent time.

The only 2 downsides and the reason why I gave it 4 stars was the quality of the food and the bed.

While I was happy with the massive choice of food on offer at every meal time, the quality of some of it was not good, some things they cooked well but other things they cooked really bad, but having said that with so much choice of food there was always something that was cooked well and tasted good, I would not let this put you off booking this hotel because everything else makes up for it.

With regards to the bed, it is extreamly hard and I prefer a softer mattress, this is obviously more down to an individual's taste and I am sure some people would be happy with a firm bed, however, if like me you need a soft mattress then you can do what I did and sleep on the sofa bed which was very comfy, again not something that you should allow to spoil your holiday or put you off booking as it can easily be rectified.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
The entire team of the Paradise Island Hotel is very happy that you spent a nice holiday with us.
We appreciate your opinion and want to thank you for your feedback.
We wish you all the best and remain with

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We too, like others, were a bit worried after reading some of the moany reviews. But we were pleasantly surprised.

Good points:
* Plenty of selection and variety of food. They had paella every day which I love! and the deserts were lovely!
*The apartments were nice and clean, spacious and not far to walk to the pool, bar etc.
*The alcohol was strong in my opinion, certainly was not watered down.
* The reception staff and the bar staff (If you gave the grumpy one a tip) as they were very helpful. The maintenance man was excellent. Our door would not lock and he came straight away and replaced the whole lock within 2 minutes with a new key.
* The car hire inside the hotel lobby was really good. Senor Suso gave us a group F car rather than a bog standard slow one for a really good price and charged us for only 2 days instead of 3.

Bad points:
* The location is a bit out of the way but as previously said a taxi is only 3 euro to playa Blanca beach. Or there is the option to hire a car in hotel or hire bikes.
*The cats - If you don't like cats be aware there are a few, not lots but a few. one black one kept trying to enter our apartment but shutting the door solved that.
* Other guests - Mainly Spanish elderly, they were very rude. Pushing out people, never waited in line for food and general made us feel uncomfortable. However, this was only at meal time as they were rarely seen outside of this time.

Some other points:
* We didn't engage with the entertainment team at all, not our thing. They were loud during the day then seemed to disappear for a few days then they returned. They seemed good if you wanted to join in. Never saw the evening entertainment, which was in the disco bar under the pool bar.
*The beds - they are hard but I found them ok to sleep on.
*The maids - they were good and offered to clean our room everyday but it wasn't necessary. so they gave us towels, toilet roll and bin bags and left us to it. Which we preferred.
*The supermarket - we found staff friendly, the prices for some things were a little high compared to other places in PB.
* The 'Spanish' bar is in fact not a Spanish bar. Everyone can use it. It is a half board bar therefore people have to pay. This is why Spanish guest were using it as they are Half Board
*The waterpark - The slides were good but the water at the bottom was Baltic! we went on a few and could not cope any longer. But the kids seemed to love it and not bother so perhaps im just too old for it now.

All in all, I would return to this hotel for a nice all inclusive in Lanzarote. But I do prefer Puerto del Carmen to Playa Blanca.

Room Tip: we stayed in 403, close to pool and bar etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for you comment.
We appreciate very much your opinion and the entire team of the Paradise Island is very happy to read that you spent a good holiday with us.
We would be very happy to welcoming you again!

We wish you all the best & remain with

KInd regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I do not know what some people expect from a holiday . We have just returned from a 14 night stay AI . We checked in and were allocated our apartment . on arrival a cleaner helped us with our cases to our apartment . . It was clean and everything we wanted .. We arrived around about lunch time .. After unpacking our cases we decided to try the restaurant. ... What a surprise we found the food was very varied and plentiful well cooked and presented never rushed into finishing our meal . cakes and desserts were to die for with plenty of fruit on had if you wanted it . Breakfast was also great from the great British fry up to cereals fruits yogurts pancakes Omelets made while you waited . All in all great food . All the staff are very pleasant and approachable....even down to the Maintenance men .We travelled with two grandchildren who soon made friends with other children. and had a really great time . The Dino Park is fantastic the only bad thing about it was trying to get the kids out for something to eat . I would recommend this for any family as we had a very good time . A great big thank you to Paradise Island

Room Tip: Ask for a high level apartment . more private .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
The entire team from the Paradise Island Hotel is very happy to read that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay.
We would love to welcome you again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

So we arrive at this hotel on the 14th October for 14 nights and 4 adults and our 3 girls aged 9, 14 and 14. We didn't really know what to expect as we had read a mixture of reviews, but to our surprise the rubbish reviews turned out to be a load of rubbish. The complex is very clean and well maintained. The water park is fantastic only small with 7 main slides and the kids splash pool with a couple of slides for the kiddies. Just the right size and never too busy. The rooms are very basic but clean. The beds are very hard. The pool is cold but it was 30 + all the time we were there so nice to cool off in. Our girls had no choice but to cool off when Ben was around lol. The town centre is about a 3-4 euro taxi trip, the front and harbour are spotless and beautiful, really nice walk from one harbour to the other. The food was nice we had a different choice every night, plus 2 theme nights every week. We also had a Chinese and Italian restaurant on site that you could use as and when you wanted, no booking. I got quite a few mosquito bites so please try and prevent using repellant. I want to say a massive thank you to our entertainment team the flower pot men and women lol Lorna Ben Stevie and Kim, what an amazing team, paradise island will not be the same with out Lorna and Ben. If you read this guys lime at beer pong Sheffield may give you a clue as to who has wrote it. My 9yr old also went to kids club a few times and really enjoyed it well done kids club Rees, Emma, Laura and Shelly. I would defiantly recommend to any family wanting a unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Aparthotel Paradise Island, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
The entire HL Paradise Island Team is very happy to read that you spent a lovely holiday with us.
We wish you and your family all the best and hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was a little concerned after hearing some negative reviews but i felt i needed to write this review to let people know that there is nothing to be concerned about but to be excited. The Thomas cook team Lorna, Ben, Stevie, Lauren are so amazing there entertainment was fantastic for adults in the day and evening and for the children, i have kids from 9-11 and they went to the Thomas cook kids club and love it Thank you smelly Shelly, Lauren, Retro Rees and Epic Emma, . They were reluctant till they went and wanted to go every day and if they weren't there they were at the water park Dino park. I hardly saw them it was great they were having fun and i was happy as i could do my thing; lay in the sun, play water polo or play darts (not good at darts but had fun trying) The evening entertainment was fab the food was fab and yes some things did repeat if you were there for two weeks but they only repeated what was popular. There was a whole range of choice nobody went hungry unless they were really fussy, so if your fussy buy your own food and cook it as there is a cooker in your room with a fridge. The pool was cold however when it was 28c it was welcomed and needed when it was cooler 22c it was cold but it did not seem to bother the kids. i went from the 20th October-31st and the weather was iffy i was told October is like that as it gets hotter in November, however i was never bored as they had lots to do in day. The staff who run the hotel are very friendly and welcoming and the taxis are cheap £2/3 to go to town. A small town but enough with restaurants and shops duty free may i add. The beach is amazing and clean so it is a must go and visit.I will go back definitely. The rooms are cleaned everyday and are well cleaned. The rooms are well maintained and yes the beds are like rocks, but their is no bed is like your own. However the airport run is only 20 mins and you don't hear aircraft noise. There is other hotels 5 mins away that you can visit and use the pools and eat, however this the best hotel and never needed to go to them but the other hotels did come and use our pools and Dino park.
I know i have flicked through and backed up but wanted to tell you everything, and oh they have life guards around the Dino park and pools who are all first aid trained.
This is jenny who is not really jenny.Lorna hope you read this and know who wrote it.
Thanks for an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: I had a sea view room and was away from the entertainment so if you was tired and wanted to turn in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aparthotel Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Paradise Island

Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, P-28, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Paradise Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HL Hotel Paradise Island resort is situaded in a small town of Yaiza in Lanzarote, near the fishing town of Playa Blanca and the Papagayo Beaches. The HL Hotel Paradise Island is an ideal place to enjoy your holiday with your family with great facilities and service in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aparthotel Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Aparthotel Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Paradise Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.